Orange ice cream

It’s been a while since my last posting…. Today’s recipe I made last Wednesday. It was part of the dessert I made: individual chocolate cakes with liquid centres. I found the recipe for the cakes on http://allrecipes.com. Decided to try it because nearly all the reviewers were raving about it: the best chocolate dessert etc. etc. I was a bit disappointed. It wasn’t bad but I’ve tasted (not made) much better ones. I think I’m spoiled in Tel Aviv…desserts here are soooo much better than the ones you find in the Netherlands. Back home I rarely ordered dessert when eating out. But since living in Tel Aviv I ‘must’ order dessert almost every time I eat out. In my favourite restaurants I have favourite desserts that I (nearly) always order. At Stuzzi it’s ‘Chocolatissimo’ (chocolate soufflé with liquid centre minus the vanilla ice cream), at Manta Ray it’s ‘Crunchy Decadent Chocolate’ (a base of caramel crunch with two kinds of ganache-like stuff, one dark chocolate and the other milk chocolate with dates, served with whiskey ice cream), at Gilly’s my favourite dessert has a base of caramel crunch with dark chocolate ganache-like stuff and with caramelised hazelnuts on the side. I’ve only eaten at Messa once but I’ve already choosen my favourite dessert: a log made of one part white chocolate ganache, one part milk chocolate ganache and one part bitter sweet ganache…and all made with Valrhona chocolate! This is definitely a dessert you have to share…I don’t think it’s possible to eat one by yourself. (I think that by now you’ve figured out that chocolate is my favourite…). There is one restaurant – Pastis – where I never order dessert just because they are not sophisticated enough for me ha ha! But the crab bisque they I always order there, makes up for it!
Anyway…I thought of making ice cream to go with the chocolate cakes. Since I made dulce de leche the week before, I decided on something new. Orange goes well with chocolate so why not orange ice cream. I’ve made orange sorbet in the past but thought that chocolate cake needed something creamier than sorbet.
Besides the fact that the chocolate cakes didn’t taste as good as I would have liked, they also didn’t look as good…. at least not good enough to take a photograph of. So I only made a photograph of the orange ice cream. On the picture it looks pretty boring but don’t let that put you off! It tastes delicious!

The easiest may to make ice cream is to use sweetened condensed milk as a base. That way you don’t have to use egg yolks…this always stops me from making an ice cream recipe.

250 ml (1 cup) whipping cream
zest of one orange (only use the orange part, not the white)
1 can (400 g / 14 oz) sweetened condensed milk
250 ml (1 cup) orange juice

Allow the whipping cream to boil. Remove from heat and add the zest. Let it steep for 30 minutes.
Mix the condensed milk and orange juice. Put a sieve above the milk-orange mixture and add the cream. Allow to cool to room temperature and put in fridge until cold.

Freezer method: Pour the mixture in a metal pan (eg cake pan) and put it in the freezer. After an hour stir the mixture. Repeat this every half hour until the mixture is nearly frozen. Freeze at least for 1 more hour before serving.

Ice cream maker method: Pour the mixture into a running ice cream maker. Follow manual for freezing time. Usually this is 20-30 minutes. Transfer to freezer for at least 2 more hours before serving.

100 g – 250 kcal

carbohydrates 28 g – protein 5 g – fat 14 g (saturated fat 8 g) – fibre 0 g

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

