Oat-choc-nut cookies

Oat choc nut cookie

My friend Jitske visited me recently. She was working on a museum project in Salt, Jordan so she was practically around the corner. We were supposed to meet at the border at 13:00 but at 14:00 still no Jitske. (Jitske is one of the few people in the western world that doesn’t have a mobile phone) When I arrived at our meeting point my bladder was already giving me certain signals but since Rein was with me I didn’t want to go to a gas station restroom and leave him outside. I figured that it would be better to wait for Jitske and let her baby-sit Rein while I peed. Finally at 14:15 she got out off the taxi mini-bus. It took her 4 hours (!) to cross the border. They just couldn’t understand that she was going to Tel Aviv for only 2 days and not planning to see anything else in the Holy Land. Visiting a friend just wasn’t enough…
Before she came she specifically told me that she expected cookies when she would come. So before I left in the morning to pick her up I made oat-choc-nut cookies. It’s a recipe I have been making for years now and still they don’t bore me….I tell myself they are healthy because they contain oats ha ha!

Even though we don’t have a tradition of drinking milk with our cookies in the Netherlands – or Croatia for that matter – these cookies screamed milk to me when I wanted to make a picture….and I don’t even like milk (except in my tea and in desserts).

Adapted from a recipe from Good Food magazine March 1998

200 g (7 oz) butter at room temperature
40 g (1 ½ oz) caster sugar (very fine sugar)
90 g (3 oz) light muscovado sugar or ‘lichtbruine basterdsuiker’
160 g (5 ½ oz) self-raising flour
140 g (5 oz) porridge oats
100 g (3 ½ oz) white chocolate, chopped
100 g (3 ½ oz) bitter sweet chocolate, chopped
100 g (3 ½ oz) pecan nuts

Preheat the oven at 180ºC (350ºF).
Beat the butter with the sugar until light and fluffy. Stir in the flour and oats. Stir in the chocolate and nuts. Shape into 20 balls and put them on baking sheets lined with baking paper. Flatten them slightly. Bake for 20 minutes.

1 cookie 45 g – 234 kcal
100 g – 520 kcal

carbohydrate 48 g – protein 7 g – fat 33 g – fibre 2 g

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

