And now for something completely different…chicken liver pâté with confit d'oignon

I’m definitively not a fan of liver. We never ate liver at home because my mom doesn’t like it. I can remember that I was served liver in Croatia one time when I was about 8 years old. With every bite I took I felt like throwing up…yuk! I think I stopped after a few bites. A big part of the nearly throwing up had to do with the ‘strange’ texture of liver.
Pâté however has never been a problem. Not that I eat a lot of it but I can enjoy a good pâté now and again. In some of the restaurants in Tel Aviv you can get really good chicken liver pâté…yummie! Somehow I had never eaten that in the Netherlands… maybe because most pâtés are made from pork?
Looking for new recipes I stumbled across a chicken liver pâté recipe on www.epicurious.com. Turned out it is very easy and quick to make! Thought I’d make it as a starter for Christmas. To accompany it I used a confit d’oignon recipe by Jackie that I found on The daily bread website (later I read on Chocolate & Zucchini that Jackie had made this confit for Clotilde).
My family went completely wild when they tasted the pâté and the confit d’oignon…my mom told me I would have a hard time topping that with the main course and dessert (I didn’t for the main course but it was still ok; dessert however was a winner again thanks to Cristina’s chocolate volcano cakes recipe, served it with plain dulce de leche ice cream).

I must add that during cleaning and baking the livers I kept thinking to myself how I was going to enjoy the end result with livers smelling the way they do…

Serves 8

Pâté
1 small onion, diced
small knob of butter
1 clove of garlic, minced
small knob of butter
450 g (1 pound) chicken liver, trimmed
225 g (8 oz or 2 sticks) butter, room temperature
1 tbs cognac or brandy
1 ¼ ts salt

Grease a loaf tin with oil and line it with plastic wrap. (I used a 8 x 22 cm (3 x 8.5 inch) loaf tin but it was quite big for the amount of pâté, you can use a smaller one if you have).
Sautee the onion in the butter until soft. Add the garlic and sautee for 1 minute. Set aside.
Heat the butter in a frying pan and bake the livers on medium high for 7 minutes, they should be a little bit pink on the inside still. Put them in a food processor and add the onion/garlic mixture, butter, cognac and salt.
Blend until very smooth. Transfer to prepared tin. Allow firm in the fridge for at least 4 hours. Cut the pâté into 16 slices (or 18 if you want to be sure that you have extra ones in case one or two are not good enough).

Confit d’oignon
4 red onions
1 tbs olive oil
3 tbs brown sugar
3 tbs balsamic vinegar
80 ml (â…“ cup) red wine
bay leaf

Cut the onions into half-moon slivers. Cook over a medium heat in the olive oil until they go very soft and start to caramelize (about 15 minutes). Add the remaining ingredients, stirring occasionally over the same medium flame for another 10 minutes or so, or until most of the liquid has cooked away. Remove the bay leaf and allow to cool.

I served 2 slices of pâté on a bed of arugola, some confit d’oignon and roasted pine nuts on top and slices of baguette on the side.

100 g – 260 kcal
1 serving – 390 kcal

carbohydrate 7 g – protein 11 g – fat 21 (saturated fat 12 g) – fiber 1 g

This entry was posted in Starters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And now for something completely different…chicken liver pâté with confit d'oignon

  1. Zoran Kovacevic says:

    This recipe has convinced Saron to cook more instead of take-away 🙂

  2. Saron Kovacvic says:

    Yes!

  3. 2008 hasn’t been very inspiring for me up till now (in the baking department that is) as I already mentioned in my last post…actually the end of 2007 wasn’t either. I planned on making a special dessert for Christmas but I couldn’t decide what to ma

Leave a Reply

