Baking challenge #3 – Dried fruit muffins

Still trying my best to come up with tasty (sugar-free & wheat-free) recipes for my friend that is coming over in a week and a half. I found this recipe of dried fruit muffins but wasn’t really sure if I would make them or not…I couldn’t really believe they would be sweet enough with only dried fruits instead of sugar, honey or what have you. I’m very happy that I decided to give them a try because they turned out very good! They were very tasty and sweet. You wouldn’t have guessed that they didn’t contain sugar. They were very moist, airy and not heavy at all…just plain delicious! As for the dried fruits…I didn’t really taste the dates and prunes, they sort of blended in with the texture. It’s a very good treat even if you eat sugar…and high in fibre and low in fat! Gonna be making these ones more often…

The only thing I substituted in the recipe was the flour, I used spelt flour. I must say that I’m very happy with spelt flour, it is a very good substitute for wheat flour. I discovered that one cup of flour weighs about 20-30 grams more than spelt flour. So I used a bit more (in cups) than the original recipe.

Makes about 12 (I used big big paper cups so I only had 6)

160 g (1 cup) chopped dates
80 g (½ cup) raisins
100 g (½ cup) chopped prunes
235 ml (1 cup) water
115 g (4 oz) butter, chopped
140 g (1 generous cup) whole meal spelt flour
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
2 eggs, lightly beaten
rind of ½ orange

Combine the dried fruits and water in a saucepan. Bring to the boil and allow to boil on medium for 5 minutes (the fruits soak op the water). Remove from heat and add butter. Stir until melted. Leave to cool.
Preheat oven to 175ºC (350ºF). Butter and flour a muffin pan or line it with paper muffin cups Mix spelt flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt together.
Add eggs and orange rind to the fruit mixture. Stir until combined. Add flour mixture and stir until combined. Spoon into muffin pan, fill up to ¾. Bake for 15-20 minutes (my muffins were bigger so I baked them for 30 minutes).

1 muffin – 380 kcal
100 g – 250 kcal

carbohydrate 32 g – protein 4 g – fat 11 g (saturated fat 7 g) – fibre 5 g

This entry was posted in Muffins and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baking challenge #3 – Dried fruit muffins

  1. Kristina says:

    These look really good–especially as a breakfast muffin! I have spelt flour too so I must give these a try. I like that they have no added sugar. I’m going to try to think of some good recipes for your friend, I’ll let you know if I come up with any!

  2. linda says:

    They are great for breakfast…or lunch…like I had today 😉
    Recipes are welcome…maybe something with maple syrup since you’re from Canada?

Leave a Reply

