Chocolate tartlet with poached pear


I’ve decided that I need to practice making desserts. I can make pies, cakes and cookies but dressing a dessert plate is something different…so when I say I need to practice I’m not talking about a piece of pie with a dollop of whipped cream (can be beautiful as well though). What I mean is like Sam of Sweet pleasure : Plaisir sucré can do so beautifully. When I do try making a beautiful dessert I sort of know in my head what I want but somehow the positioning of the different components usually doesn’t turn out well or they are too big for the plate. It just doesn’t look elegant. That’s why I prefer to do easy desserts like something served in a glass or a piece of pie or cake without (a lot of) garnish. Of course I could buy a good dessert book with beautifully dressed plates and just copy that…I might do that in the future but for now I’ll try to be creative myself. Last week I tried to make a beautiful dessert and I think I managed more of less…it’s not gorgeous but I was satisfied with the results (the picture could have been better but I made it just before serving so unfortunately I didn’t have any daylight). And as the saying goes: Practice makes perfect!

The centre of this dessert was the egg yolks that were a leftover from the cookies I baked last week (that didn’t make it to my blog unfortunately). I found a tart pastry that called for egg yolk in Williams-Sonoma’s Essentials of Baking. I wanted to keep the filling simple so I opted for the chocolate glaze recipe I always use for glazing cakes from Patricia Lousada’s Ultimate Chocolate book. At first I wanted to make a big tart but since I only needed four pieces of tart for dessert (and I didn’t think it was a good idea to eat the rest of the tart in the following days….well to be honest, I did feel like eating it but it didn’t seem like a good idea 😉 Anyway…I made tartlets instead of one big tart. I didn’t feel like rolling out the dough so I just pressed it into 5 tartlet tins (1 extra just in case). I was inspired by Sam’s ‘To make something out of nothing’ entry for the other part of the dessert, the poached pears and the drops of poached liquid turned into syrup. I mixed and matched a few recipes for poached pear, added some ideas of my own and came up with the recipe that you can find below.
The combination turned out pretty good. Adriaan thought the tartlet was a bit on the sweet side. So if you like your chocolate to be bitter you can always opt to just use molten chocolate instead of the recipe below (for chocolate tempering guidelines search in this recipe, for bitter chocolate you should allow the chocolate to cool down to 32ºC (90ºF) instead of the 29ºC (84ºF) stated in the recipe for white chocolate).

Serves 4

Poached pears
325 ml (1 â…“ cup) red wine
150 ml (â…” cup) port
475 ml (2 cups) water
130 g (4 ½ oz) sugar
2 cinnamon sticks
6 cardamom pods
3 cloves
4 firm pears
½ lemon

Mix the wine, port, water, sugar and spices. Bring to a boil and allow the sugar to dissolve. Turn the heat down so the liquid is barely simmering. Peel the pears with a vegetable peeler and rub them with lemon juice. Core them by sticking a small knife in the bottom and turning it round. Scrape the remaining core out with the knife. Put the pears in the poaching liquid and allow to simmer for 15-30 minutes (depends on the pears you’re using). Test if the pears have softened by sticking a knife in the bottom. Allow the pears to cool in the poaching liquid.
Remove the pears from the poaching liquid and put them in a colander 15 minutes before you need them.

Reduce about 2/3 cup of the poaching liquid till it looks syrupy. Allow to cool. Use this to make the drops as seen on the picture.

Chocolate tartlets
100 g (3 ¼ oz / ½ cup + 2 tbs) flour
30 g (1 oz / ¼ cup) icing sugar
â…› ts salt
63 g (2 oz / ¼ cup) cold butter, cut into 2 cm (¾ inch) pieces
1 large egg yolk
½ tbs heavy cream
5 tarlet tins, bottom measuring 7 ½ cm (3 inch)

Sift the flour, icing sugar and salt into a mixing bowl. Add the pieces of butter and toss them around so they are covered by the flour mixture. Use a pastry blender or two knives to cut the butter into the flour. Stop when the mixture looks like breadcrumbs the size of peas. Combine the egg yolk and cream in a small bowl and stir until blended. Add the egg yolk mixture to the dough and stir with a fork until it is mixed in and the dough comes together in a smooth mass.
Divide the dough in 5 pieces and push each piece in a tartlet tin. Allow the tartlets to freeze at least 30 minutes.
Preheat the oven to 200ºC (400ºF). Line the tartlet crusts with aluminum foil and fill with dried beans, uncooked rice or pie weights. Bake for 10-15 minutes or until the crust is dried out and the aluminum foil doesn’t stick to the dough anymore. Remove the foil and beans. Reduce the heat to 180ºC (350ºF). Bake about a further 5-10 minutes or until the crusts are golden brown. Transfer the tartlets to a wire rack and allow to cool.

Filling
75 g (2 ½ oz) butter
½ tbs golden syrup or ‘schenkstroop’
100 g (3 ½ oz) 70% chocolate

Put the butter and golden syrup in a saucepan and heat until the butter has melted. Remove from heat and add the chocolate. Stir until it is a smooth mixture. Pour into the tartlets and allow to set at least 1 hour.

Note – there isn’t enough filling to fill all 5 tartlets (the extra was just in case a piece of rim broke off)

To dress the plate
Position the pear and tartlet on a big plate. (Try to) Make a quenelle of sour cream, crème fraîche or Greek yoghurt. Use the syrup to make drops in different sizes (see picture).

1 plate – 660 kcal
100 g – 260 kcal

carbohydrate 44 g – protein 2 g – fat 18 g (saturated fat 11 g) – fibre 1 g

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate tartlet with poached pear

  1. sam says:

    Hi Linda,

    First of all Bravo! I am glad that you stepped out of your comfort level and tried something new. I am inspired by you to do the same. Second, your poaching liquid sounds wonderful. You may want to omit the golden syrup in your tart filling as I believe this is what is causing the added sweetness. Third, I am honoured that you even read my blog, let alone mention it. I look forward to your next creation.

  2. linda says:

    Thanks Sam! And of course I read your blog…how can I not read about all these lovely desserts!

  3. sara says:

    that’s a beautiful plate! love your site, btw i’m new to it but i will be back often!

Leave a Reply

