Self frosting Nutella cakes

My best friend San that was staying with us for a few days, likes to have something sweet for breakfast. At home she usually has Choco Prince Vanille with cappuccino for breakfast. She likes sweet a lot but is a bit fussy about some stuff (dark chocolate, fruit, dried fruit, marzipan, nuts, spices). She doesn’t eat bread, cereal or yoghurt for breakfast so being the good friend that I am I baked her self-frosting Nutella cake for breakfast. The recipe I found a couple of months ago on Nic’s Baking Sheet and I wanted to use it ever since.
I must say that the cakes looked wonderful when they came out of the oven. Especially the one in the star-shaped disposable baking pan. Besides looking great they were really very easy to make. And most important: San loved them! I thought they tasted good but not very special. The Nutella-taste wasn’t very distinct but that’s probably because I’m used to eating Nutella by the spoon 😉 Maybe it would have been better with an extra filling of Nutella. But…who am I to complain anyway….San loved them and that’s what counts!

makes 12

140 g (10 tbs) butter, room temperature
150 g (¾ cup) sugar
3 eggs, at room temperature
½ ts vanilla
200 g (1 ¾ cup) flour, sifted
2 tsp baking powder
5 tbs Nutella

Preheat the oven at 165º C (325ºF). Line a muffin tin with paper cups. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add one egg at a time and beat until fully incorporated after each egg. Add the vanilla. Add the flour and baking powder and stir until just blended. Fill each muffin cup up to ¾ with the batter. Top each muffin with 1 ½ tsp of Nutella and swirl it in with a toothpick. Bake for 20 minutes.

Note – I used different baking pans: two heart-shaped and one star-shaped. I baked them about 15 minutes longer.

1 muffin – 240 kcal
100 g – 410 kcal

carbohydrate 46 g – protein 7g – fat 22 g (saturated fat 12 g) – fibre 1 g

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Self frosting Nutella cakes

  1. Ivonne says:

    Everytime I see that someone has made these I cheer! Aren’t they fantastic … and I love that made a self-frosting cake.

    Well done!

  2. linda says:

    Nutella rules 😉

  3. Popeline says:

    A great recipe !
    I’m not fond of nutella but I’ll probably try these cakes very soon for my family.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

