Mini banana bread loafs


What do you bake when you have overripe bananas? You make banana bread! This is a recipe I found a few years ago when I just started out baking on a regular basis. I remember that I was looking for a recipe that had a lot of bananas and not too much fat inside. Here is the recipe that fitted my demands. For this batch I used a little more banana than the recipe called for and didn’t add the walnuts. This banana bread is very moist, not too sweet, not too fat with a great banana taste.

200 g (8 oz) self-raising flour, sifted
125 g (5 oz) brown sugar
75g (3 oz) butter
2 eggs, beaten
1 tbs golden syrup or ‘schenkstroop’
500 g (1lb + 1 â…” oz) ripe bananas, mashed
1 tbs milk

Preheat oven at 180°C (350°F).
Mix the flour with the sugar. Rub in the butter. Stir in the eggs and syrup.
Mix together the bananas and milk. Add to the mixture and stir until combined.
Fill 8 mini loaf pans up to and bake for about 30 minutes.
Turn out to cool on a wire rack.

Note – I made 8 mini loafs (bottoms measure 4.5 x 7.5 cm / 1 ¾ x 3 inch) but you could make 1 loaf instead and bake for 1 ¼ hour.

1 mini loaf – 300 kcal
100 g – 230 kcal

carbohydrate 37 g – protein 4 g – fat 7 g (saturated fat 4 g) – fibre 2 g

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mini banana bread loafs

  1. Dianka says:

    So simple and delicious looking. Writing this one down…

    ~Dianka

  2. linda says:

    Simple things are often best…

  3. Ivonne says:

    Those are adorable!

  4. linda says:

    Grazie Ivonne!

  5. kristina says:

    These are very cute! I love those mini-loaf pans… if there is one thing I love, it’s buying a new shape or size of pan with the right finish for the type of baked product (ie: light coloured for cookies, darker for bread) I know, I know, it’s baking-nerd stuff!
    I love the light colour of the loaves–they look like a great accompaniment to tea, or to coffee, or to breakfast, or to dessert, or to jam…………

  6. linda says:

    Thanks Kristina! I have to restrain myself when I go to a cooking shop not to buy a lot of new pans!

Leave a Reply

