Ivonne's best ever muffins

Ivonne of Cream Puffs in Venice practically forced me (and her many other readers) to bake her all time favourite muffin recipe this morning when I read her most recent entry. And the good girl that I am, I listened and did what she asked me to 😉

As you can see, my muffins were not as good-looking as Ivonne’s.

They were indeed very good, the best-tasting muffins I have baked….but….and I must be honest here…not the best I have ever tasted…that was the one I ate for breakfast in Hotel San José in Austin, Texas (wonderful hotel and city BTW). But Ivonne’s came pretty close… (before I forget to mention, the recipe is actually an adaptation by Ivonne of a Marcy Goldman recipe)
What I loved most about this muffin is the delicious streusel that was on top. I never ever made something with streusel before…I’ve read plenty recipes that use streusel but was never really tempted to make any of them. Mainly I think because it takes extra time to make. Ok, it looks nice but besides that it’s more or less extra dough you’re putting on top, right? But now that I actually made something with streusel I understand that it’s not only looks, it adds a lot of taste too or at least this one did.

I did my own adaptation of Ivonne’s adaptation:
– I used melted butter instead of oil (I can’t help it, I’m a butter addict)
– I didn’t have buttermilk (and didn’t feel like going to the grocery store) so I used yoghurt instead
– I omitted the vanilla
– I didn’t have enough walnuts so I used about half walnuts and half pecans
– I think Ivonne used light brown sugar, I used dark
– I used cherries

This entry was posted in Muffins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ivonne's best ever muffins

  1. Ivonne says:

    Yayyyy!!!

    Linda I’m so happy to see that you tried the muffins. Thank you for the sweet post and I totally understand what you mean about having tasted better muffins. The best muffins I ever tasted actually come from one of my favourite bakeries, but you’re right, these are the best that I’ve baked at home.

    And I so love your adaptation! Nothing makes me happier than when people make a recipe their own. That’s what food and cooking is all about!

    And by the way … I think your muffins look amazing!!!

  2. Dianka says:

    Looks yummy to me! I could use one now!

  3. Tanna says:

    I think your muffins look terrific. It isn’t about looking or being the same. I think it’s about being your self and tasting great. You win on both counts.

  4. linda says:

    Hi Ivonne, thanks! Being creative in the kitchen is what it’s all about…

    Hi Dianka, I ‘used’ 4 yesterday 😉

    Hi Tanna, your totally right, I was just disappointed that they didn’t rise as hight as Ivonne’s did.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  5. pinknest says:

    what?! how can you say your muffins don’t look good? ohmygoodness i want them.

  6. linda says:

    Hi pinknest, technically I said that they didn’t look as good as Ivonne’s 😉 I liked the way they looked except for the fact that they didn’t rise so high.

    Thanks for stopping by btw!

  7. pinknest says:

    oh! hahaha. well, highly risen or not, they look delish. 🙂

  8. Christine says:

    I don’t know about you, but I think those are some of the BEST looking muffins I’ve ever seen!

    Ivonne, I hope you don’t mind, I’d like to try making these too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

