Recipe meme

Sam of Sweet pleasure tagged me for this recipe meme and it’s my first one. It feels a bit like I’m getting a chain letter. However if it had been a chain letter you wouldn’t be reading this because I’m an obsessive-compulsive chain letter breaker 😉

From where do you obtain the recipes you prepare?
Most come from my cookbooks. The others from the Internet or from old foodie magazines, mostly Good Food magazine.

How often do you cook a new recipe?
Usually 1 or 2 a week. Not all make it to my blog though…

Where do you store your favourite recipes?
Some Internet recipes are just bookmarked on my computer. But I don’t store all the recipes I make from the Internet.
I rarely have recipes written down on paper, well I do write them down from the internet in ‘short hand’ but after I make them I just throw the paper away.
The rest of my favourite recipes are in my cookbooks in the bookcase.

How large is your recipe pile? Is it organized? If so, how?
Most of my recipes are in my cookbooks. In total I have about 150 books on food, either cookbooks or books about food. Of these about forty are on sweet stuff (and I have another 14 coming from Amazon 🙂
To get my foodie magazines more organized I went through them all to see wich recipes were worth making. I made a – not so neat – written list of the ones I liked. I actually went through them twice. Once about two and half years ago and once six months ago. Two and a half years ago I didn’t bake as much so I wanted to check if I didn’t skip any nice sweet recipes. Turned out there were a lot more nice recipes! So now I have a list of about 150 recipes (most sweet) and tips on cooking or baking.
My cookbooks are organised in the sense that they are in a book case. I separated the sweet/baking books from the rest of my cookbook collection. But besides that no organization.

What is the oldest recipe in your “to try” pile?
I’m not sure but at least 2 and a half years.

Are you ever going to make those recipes in your to try pile?
No, but that doesn’t bother me.

Do you follow a recipe exactly or modify as you go?
The first time I make something I usually stick to the basis of the recipe (so I wouldn’t change the ratio of the most important ingredients: flour, sugar, butter, eggs). But filling and flavourings I would change the first time.

What is one new recipe that you’re scared to try?
I wouldn’t say scared but more apprehensive. It’s not a certain recipe but more certain techniques like making and working with caramel.

Tag at least one new food blogger for this meme (“new” as in only blogging a few months).
Jenjen from Milk and Cookies.

Tag at least one food blogger you visit regularly but never interacted with?
The Canadian Baker (have only started visiting The Canadian baker since a few weeks but haven’t made a comment yet…)

Tag at least one food blogger you constantly visit and leave comments.
Riet from Stirway to Heaven.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe meme

  1. pinknest says:

    fun! you mentioned gourmet mag…are there other food mags you subscribe to or like in general??

  2. linda says:

    I like Good Food and Vegetarian Good Food a lot (both British). And Elle Eten (Dutch ) it’s probably called Elle Food in English.
    I’m not so much into magazines anymore I must say because most recipes are savoury recipes and I like my sweets 😉
    I’m not into the American magazines. The few I have I like (Gourmet and Food & Wine)

  3. sam says:

    Hi Linda,

    14 books coming to you from Amazon! Lucky you! I hope they provide you with many hours of entertainment and information.

Leave a Reply

