Apricot frangipan tartlets

Another recipe from the wonderful Coffee & Bites by Susie Theodorou. These individual tartlets are filled with frangipan and apricot. I didn’t use her recipe for sweet pastry but used my favourite Donna Hay recipe. I was a bit disappointed by the – in my opinion – too subtle almond taste. Maybe it was because I cheated and used slithered almonds instead of whole ones. It could be that slithered almonds have less taste. If you like a stronger almond taste I suggest adding a little bit of almond flavouring or maybe adding one or two bitter almonds to the mixture. The apricot however was really delicious; the baking enhanced its natural sweet- and tartness. They look like they might be a little dry but that’s just appearances.

(Again) I didn’t roll out the sweet pastry, it’s not that I have a rolling-out-dough-phobia but I don’t like doing it. The rolling out part is okay but the whole transferring to the tin is nerve-wracking to me. Donna Hay recommends rolling out the dough between baking paper. Very good tip only in Israel I cannot find baking paper on a roll. They sell it ready cut into rectangles and folded twice. The folds cause problems when rolling out the dough. Rolling it out without the baking paper is not really an option because I only use all-butter dough and my kitchen is pretty hot. I promise that after we move back to the Netherlands I shall practice rolling out dough 😉

Sweet shortcrust pastry (from Modern Classics Book 2 by Donna Hay)

270 g (2 cups) flower
3 tbs caster sugar
150 g (5 oz) cold butter, chopped
2-3 tbs iced water

Process the flour, sugar and butter in a food processor until the mixture resembles fine breadcrumbs. While the motor is running, add enough iced water to form a smooth dough and process until just combined. Knead the dough lightly, wrap in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Frangipan tartlets (from Coffee & Bites by Susie Theodorou

150 g (5 oz / 1 ¼ cup) whole blanched almonds
115 g (4 oz / ½ cup) butter, softened
75 g (3 oz / 1/3 cup) caster sugar
2 medium eggs
6 large fresh apricots, halved, stoned, then cut into 10 wedges
4 tbs apricot jam
2 tbs water

Preheat the oven to 180ºC (350ºF). Place twelve 6 cm (2 ½ in) diameter rings onto 2 baking sheets. Divide the dough into 12 pieces. Thinly roll out each piece (between no-stick baking paper) to line the metal rings. Trim the top, prick the bases and chill for 10 minutes. Line each pastry with non-stick baking paper or aluminium foil and fill with baking beans or dried beans. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove the paper with the beans. Bake the pastries for a further 5 minutes or until the bases are pale brown and dry.

Lightly toast the almonds in a heavy-based pan for 1-2 minutes until they begin to release their aroma. Cool the nuts slightly, then process them in a food processor until finely ground. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the almonds. Gradually beat in the eggs.

Reduce the oven to 170ºC (325ºF). Spread 3-4 tbs frangipan into the base of each tartlet. Press apricot wedges into the mixture. Bake the tartlets for 25-30 minutes until the frangipan is just set and the fruit is starting to caramelise at the tips.

Heat the jam with the water and pass it through a sieve. Allow the tarlets to cool for 1-2 minutes before brushing the glaze on the fruit, frangipan and pastry edge. Allow to cool before serving.

1 tartlet – 380 kcal
100 g – 400 kcal

carbohydrate 32 g – protein 6 g – fat 27 g (saturated fat 13 g) – fibre 3 g

This entry was posted in Tarts & Pies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Apricot frangipan tartlets

  1. Ivonne says:

    Linda,

    I’m so glad to see you back posting! Gorgeous tart!

  2. jenjen says:

    Linda, these look absolutely gorgeous, I have just discovered the joys of making my own pastry. It actually wasn’t as hard as I thought.
    I will definitely be trying this recipe. can you exchange the apricots with peaches or nectarines, what do you think?

  3. linda says:

    Thanks Ivonne!

    Thanks jenjen, I don’t think it will be a problem using peaches or nectarines. I’ve tried one with cherries and it was really good too.

  4. kristina says:

    Mmmmmmmm! I must admit that overall, apricots are my favourite fruit (I’ve even written a poem dedicated to them…) And the combination with freshly made frangipan looks divine. I hope that your apricots there are tastier than the ones I’ve found in Toronto, which have likely been picked unriped and transported for days/weeks…boo! I wish you and everyone better luck with their fruit! Can’t wait till the local ones appear (if they appear at all). It makes such a difference.

  5. sam says:

    Hi Linda,

    Glad to see you blogging again as well. The tarts look lovely. I have a suggestion on making your tarts taste more of almonds. Add more almonds. A standard frangipane is equal parts: butter, sugar, eggs and ground almonds, however, you can always add more ground almonds. If you do add extract, just add a little as it can often have a bitter or overwhelming almond taste. Clearly I’ve made that mistake before. Looking forward to more beautiful pictures and wonderful posts. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

