Pita peaches

I found these peaches in my supermarket. In Hebrew they’re called ‘pita peaches’. I presume that’s because of their shape. They are about a third of a regular peach but seem to have all of its taste…yum! As you can see on the picture their shape makes it a very convenient peach to pack as you can pile them. I’ve looked for this peach on the Internet but couldn’t find any info…maybe an Israeli variety?

This entry was posted in Fruit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Pita peaches

  1. Elisabeth says:

    Found something just like that on the BBC News site:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/4721913.stm

  2. Tanna says:

    I’ve seen them at Sam’s (Wal-mart). I haven’t tried them. Now, I think I might.

  3. linda says:

    Elisabeth – Good to know more details! Couldn’t find them because they’re probably only called pita peaches in Israel. Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Tanna – I hope they are as good as the ones I tried here if you do try them.

  4. Evan says:

    hi just bloghopping, awesome blog u hv here. i too, use alot of donna hay and catherine atkinson’s recipes :p they’re great!

  5. Dianka says:

    Oh I love summer because of lovely fruits such as these. Yum!

  6. keiko says:

    Hi Linda, what lovely looking peaches – I’ve never come across before and especially love the name 🙂

  7. Rosa says:

    It’s been a long time since your last post. I hope everything’s ok by your side…

  8. Tanna says:

    They are wonderful!!!

  9. julie says:

    Hi Linda,

    I hope you’re OK, I know you’ve moved countries but still it’s a long time since you last posted. I hope everything’s fine with you!

  10. affinity says:

    Yummy…I have seen them sold as “Donut Peaches” and as “Asian Peaches” as well. You may find them under those names.

  11. patrick says:

    Sorry, but I can’t find your email

    Dear Madam, dear Sir,

    Your blog and its feed has been registered in the WIKIO’s FOOD category.
    (http://www.wikio.com/leisure/food_and_wine/food)

    Wikio is a personalized page of news, including a news search engine that searches media sites and blogs. Read by more than a million unique users, Wikio allowed vote and comment on articles.
    http://www.wikio.com/faq
    http://blog.fastcompany.com/archives/2007/03/02/can_wikio_make_digg_s_its_pants.html?partner=rss
    http://www.wikio.com/more/technology/internet/search_engines/wikio?start=20&count=20

    Wikio create community under specific thematique and increase the traffic of registered sites because no one article are on Wikio, only the title and the two first sentences appear on it. The full article had to be read on the site of the author.

    With Wikio, you can publish directly on the site, comment article and vote.

    You can also add under your blog the content of a Wikio page to propose to your user more information about food or wine or anything else

    Best regards,

    Patrick
    Responsable US & UK

    For more information, you can contact us or visit our blog
    http://blog.wikio.com/us/

  12. Natalia says:

    I ate those peaches. They call them donut peaches here in Amerika. Taste is heavenly, very sweet and juicy.

  13. R khooks says:

    They have these in the french markets too, although they’re called squashed peaches. Squashed or pita I still find them absolutely delicious.

Leave a Reply

