Truffle sandwich cookies with white chocolate ganache filling

How failing one recipe means creating a great new one. It all started when I did something wrong while making dark chocolate ganache for truffles. I’m not completely sure why part of the fat (of the cream?) separated from the rest…things like that can happen when you try doing recipes that you think you have memorized 😉 I think I should have added the rum to the ganache instead of to the hot cream. My mom suggested I make cookies with the separated ganache. I was a bit reluctant ’cause I had never made cookies that contained cream (or any other liquid besides eggs for that matter). I tried adding flour, butter and sugar. Not too much butter because of the fat already in the chocolate and cream. The measurements I thought up where pretty good, only had to add a little more flour to prevent the dough from being sticky. The cookies turned out to be very good, that is if you like dark chocolate. They were pretty bitter but not too much so. The insides where still soft and the outsides crunchy. I liked them so much that I wrote down the recipe to try making them again.
I thought the cookies would pair well with white chocolate ganache because of their heavy dark chocolate taste…my thoughts turned out to be right 😉 very good combination! The white chocolate ganache gives a bit of sweetness to the bitter taste of the dark chocolate.

White chocolate ganache

100 g (3 ½ oz) white chocolate, finely chopped
50 ml (1.7 fluid oz) whipping cream

Bring the whipping cream to a boil and pour over the chocolate. Stir well until completely molten. Allow to cool.

Truffle sandwich cookies

Makes about 60 single cookies

100 g (3 ½ oz) dark chocolate (72%), finely chopped
50 ml (1.7 fluid oz) whipping cream
1 ts Stroh 80
60 g (2 oz) butter
125 g (4 ½ oz) soft brown sugar
150 g (5 ¼ oz) flour, sifted

Bring the whipping cream to a boil and pour over the chocolate. Stir well until completely molten. Mix in the Stroh 80. Allow to cool.
Cream the butter together with the sugar until light and fluffy. Add the chocolate mixture and mix until combined. Add the flour in 3 parts and knead it through until you have a smooth dough. Roll into two logs of 3.5 cm diameter. Refrigerate for 1.5 hours.
Preheat the oven to 180ºC. Cut into 5 mm disks. Put the disks on a baking sheet lined with baking paper. (They don’t spread out a lot so they can be placed pretty close to each other). Bake for 10-15 min. Allow to cool on the baking sheet for 5 minutes. Transfer to cookies to wire rack and allow to cool completely.
Spread half of the cookies with the white chocolate ganache and press the other half of the cookies on the ganache.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Truffle sandwich cookies with white chocolate ganache filling

  1. I’m thinking a dark chocolate and fig ganache, mostly because when I just went outside I saw the street fruit hawkers had figs, and now I’m looking for places to get good ones.

  2. Rosa says:

    Those cookies look gorgeous! Wonderful…

  3. kate says:

    They say everything happens for a reason.How do u think they discovered the wheel.The cream separated as there was a fantastic recipe waiting to be discovered by you.Such accidents are actually revolutionary.These cookies look absolutely fantastic.And all too perfect to !

  4. linda says:

    Thanks Rosa, and thanks Kate!

  5. Karen says:

    thanks for visiting my blog earlier and you kind comments! These cookies look absolutely divine and I’ll definitely mark them under “must-trys” 🙂

    cheers! ~~~~

  6. Emmi says:

    Thank you for this recipe! I’ll definitely try this one…

  7. Astrid says:

    How clever of you to turn a failure around so creatively. The cookies look lovely.
    I just wanted to share a tip I read in one of Alice Medrich’s books (Bittersweet), which has saved me several times. If a ganache separates (mixing too much may be the cause), you can use the “mayonnaise” method. No you don’t add mayonnaise, you simply heat up a couple tablespoons of cream, then drizzle the seperated ganache into the hot cream while whisking, to recreate the emulsion.
    Three times already I’ve tried making a Pierre Hermé ganache in which you have to add soft butter to a chocolate and milk mixture, or to chocolate and cream. Once I tried warming the whole thing and the butter just liquified and floated on top of the chocolate, really disgusting. But the trick above turned my failures bac into something smooth and luscious.

Leave a Reply

