Nectarine upside-down cake

Trying to do something else than taking care of the boys, I’ve decided to make more sweet stuff and blog about it (still not doing as much as I used to do in Tel Aviv….by far). We’ll see how long I will keep it up when university starts in September 😉
Started out by making balsamic vinegar tomato paste chocolates which didn’t work out because son no. 2 started crying during an essential part of making them. As a consequence I had to reheat the mixture I made and found out the hard way that it was too hot when I mixed in the chocolate….fat separated from the mixture (yes…again) and it looked kind of crumbly. Couldn’t be rescued. Did taste it and it didn’t really work for me anyway so I won’t bother making these chocolates again.
Next recipe has less exciting ingredients but turned out wonderful despite it 😉 My first upside-down cake. Have seen quite a few in foodblogs but as it isn’t in the Dutch baking repertoire, I never made it before. I found the recipe in Donna Hay’s Modern Classics Book 2. Had to change the recipe a bit cause it called for a round 24 cm (9 ½ in) cake tin. I do have round cake tins but they are all springform tins and that doesn’t work well with a liquid. Instead I used a square tin of 21 x 21 cm (8 x 8 in). I kept the measurements for the topping the same, used nectarines instead of apricots and halved the ingredients for the cake layer as my tin isn’t very high.
The fun thing I thought about this cake was that you don’t know if it will look good until you turn it over….doing so made me very happy cause it turned out very well….even better than I expected. Good thing it tasted very good as well 😉 The topping together with the nectarine juice made the cake caramely and moist.

Nectarine upside-down cake

serves 9

95 g (¾ cup) flour
1 tsp baking powder
2 eggs
115 g (½ cup) caster sugar
½ tsp ground vanilla beans
65 g (2 oz) butter, melted and cooled down somewhat
topping
225 g (1 cup) sugar
125 ml (½ cup / 4 fl oz) water
75 g (2 ½ oz) butter
3 nectarines, cut into 16 wedges each

Preheat the oven to 160°C (325°F). For the topping, combine sugar and water in a saucepan. Let the sugar dissolve over low heat while stirring. Increase the heat and allow to boil until the syrup is golden brown. Remove from heat and stir tthrough the butter. Pour the caramel into a well greased square 21 x 21 cm (8 x 8 in) cake tin. Place the nectarine wedges snugly in the caramel. (I already did so the evening before I made the rest of the cake)
Sift the flour with the baking powder twice.
Beat the eggs, sugar and vanilla for 10 minutes until thick and pale. Fold through the flour and baking powder mixture. Fold through the melted butter.
Spoon the cake mixture over the apricots and bake for 50 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. Allow the cake to stand for 5 minutes before inverting it onto a plate. Serve warm.

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nectarine upside-down cake

  1. Rosa says:

    That cake looks wonderful and tasty!
    I’m sorry to hear that your chocolates didn’t work. Maybe next time… Very interesting indeed!

  2. linda says:

    Thanks Rosa! Hopefully my next chocolates will turn out much better 🙂

  3. So much stone fruit, so little time. I might wait until I have yellow nectarines. The white ones I bought this week are a little too sweet without enough tang to sustain a good cake.

  4. Kristina says:

    This cake looks delicious–I think I might try it with our near-to-end of season peaches! Thanks for the recipe!

  5. linda says:

    I hope you try it, it really is delicious!

  6. bea says:

    Very nice inspiring dessert!

Leave a Reply

