Hay hay it's Donna Day#14 – White chocolate gnocchi with strawberry sauce

Donna Hay is one of my favorite food writer so I couldn’t resist making a gnocchi dish for HHDD#14, this time round being hosted by Cafe Lynnylu.
As my blog is about all things sweet I wanted to create a sweet gnocchi dish. I started out by using a regular potato gnocchi recipe by Claudia Roden, adding powdered sugar and cacao powder. However, the dough became very sticky and I couldn’t work with it. But after adding more flour it become ok enough to make gnocchi out of. They looked pretty decent but tasted pretty horrible ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I decided to move away from traditional recipes and make something that looked like gnocchi but were far from it ingredient-wise.
My first thoughts were to make white chocolate truffle gnocchi but I was afraid the mixture would be a bit too soft to make good looking gnocchi from. After paging through my baking books I come across a recipe for white modeling chocolate in Colette Peters Cakes to dream on, the perfect recipe for making gnocchi. Made some strawberry sauce to serve with the gnocchi and finished the dish by adding some grated white chocolate. The combo white chocolate and strawberries is a great one but I don’t recommend eating a complete portion of the gnocchi and sauce ๐Ÿ˜‰

White chocolate gnocchi (from Cakes to dream on by Colette Peters)

makes 1 plate

140 g (5 oz) white chocolate
3 tbs light corn syrup

Melt the chocolate. Add the corn syrup and stir until everything is combined well. The mixture will thicken. Wrap in plastic wrap and leave at room temperature overnight.
Knead the dough before using it. Roll into 2 sausages of about 2 cm (ร‚ยพ in) diameter. Cut into 2 cm (ร‚ยพ in) pieces. Roll into balls and flatten them with your thumb. Press onto a fork and roll the dough back to form the gnocchi.

Strawberry sauce

makes 1 portion

100 g (3 ร‚ยฝ oz) strawberries, hulled
powdered sugar, to taste

Puree the strawberries and pass puree through a sieve. Add sugar to taste.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Hay hay it's Donna Day#14 – White chocolate gnocchi with strawberry sauce

  1. brilynn says:

    What an innovative take on the theme!

  2. Linda says:

    I only blog about sweet stuff so I had to come up with something sweet ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Dennis says:

    The dessert looks great. Strawberry & chocolate is always a great combo! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also experimented with plain potatoe gnocchi & chocolate. But instead of putting cacao in the dough I dipped the gnocchi in chocolate after they were boiled. I found it easier to work with this way.

  4. Rosa says:

    Wow that’s incredibly original! I love that recipe!

  5. linda says:

    Dennis – Your recipe worked out much better than my first attempt.

    Rosa – Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. jenjen says:

    Wow, I never knew you could make gnocchi using just chocolate. This is a triumph in desserts. Well done!

  7. Oh, I love sweet gnocchi dishes, and your strawberry sauce is just lovely. I’ve had them with cinnamon and sugar, but I’ll have to try this for sure!

  8. Pille says:

    Most interesting! I’m bookmarking the recipe for the time I’m feeling adventurous:)

  9. Linda,

    This is my first time here and I have to say I like it very much! ๐Ÿ™‚

    This recipe is a winner, I have to say – I love how creatively you used Colette’s recipe. Fantastic!

  10. barbara says:

    LInda this sounds wonderful and looks delicious. Thanks for joining HHDD.

  11. Wow, now that’s my kind of pasta. When I first saw it on tastespotting.com, I did a doubletake. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Hillary says:

    What a unique twist to the ordinarily savory potato pasta dish! Looks delicious.

  13. The birdnest is made out of ganache that I squeezed through a garlic press. It’s not the easiest of jobs to do, but someone has to do it ๐Ÿ˜‰ I could have opted for either tempering chocolate and using that to make a nest or by making modeling chocolate

Leave a Reply

