Gluten Free Blog Event: In Honor Of Bette Hagman

While I was baking these cookies (Weesper moppen) I realized that they were gluten-free. This in turn made me think about the Gluten Free blog event Seamaiden of Book of Yum is organizing in memory of Bette Hagman. Even though I don’t have Celiac Disease and none of my friends or family has, I do have a formal training as a dietician so I know about the condition and what impact it has on a persons diet and therefor life.
This cookie recipe is not from one of Bette Hagman cookbooks but I would still like to dedicate it to Bette Hagman for all the work she has done for people with a gluten intolerance.

Weesper moppen (from Koekje by Jonah Freud)

makes about 50

250 g (8 ¾ oz) blanched almonds
275 (9 ¾ oz) granulated sugar
1 egg
grated peel of ½ lemon
granulated sugar

Process all the ingredients in a food processor. Make sure not to over-process but the nuts should be finely ground. Allow the dough to rest overnight in the fridge.
Preheat the oven to 200°C (390°F). Sprinkle a layer of granulated sugar on your working surface and roll the dough into 2 logs of 3.5 cm (1 ¼ in) in diameter. Cut the logs in 1 cm (0.4 in) slices.
Bake the cookies on a baking sheet lined with baking parchment for 10 minutes until they are lightly coloured and still soft on the inside.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gluten Free Blog Event: In Honor Of Bette Hagman

  1. Sea says:

    What a beautiful photo and post. Thank you for participating- I think it would be lovely to include your entry in the roundup as an example of how Bette’s work has inspired increasing awareness of the gluten free diet. 🙂

    -Sea

  2. The cookies look good and anything with almonds has a special place in my heart!

  3. linda says:

    Thanks Sea!
    Thanks Patricia, the more almonds the better 😉

  4. Rosa says:

    Those cookies look very good! I’m sure they are delicious…

  5. Tartelette says:

    Great recipe! I am always looking for GF treats for friends and family and I am sure I’ll be making this one very soon. Thanks!

  6. arfi says:

    Those cookies look good! And they are easy to make as well!

  7. Naomi from Straight into Bed Cakefree and Dried is hosting a food blogging event that is all about baking gluten-free. This month’s theme is Teatime Treats. I happened to have a gluten-free cookie in stock for a while now so this event was the perfect

Leave a Reply

