Hay hay it’s Donna Day #15 – Chocolate ganache and coffee caramel tart

I never really bother to roll out tart dough: why roll when you can press is my motto 😉 I know it is the easy way out but it works fine for me.

It’s not the rolling itself I dislike but what you have to do after that: transferring the dough in one piece into a baking tin and making sure it fits nicely.

I don’t even remember the first time I did try but I remember I didn’t like it….and still don’t (like the other roll out thing). However, being a person who bakes on a regular basis I thought I should be able to roll out dough too. So behold: a tart with dough I actually rolled out! It worked out pretty good, even though I need to pratice getting it neatly into the baking pan. I rolled the rolling pin over it before pressing it a little bit against the sides so there was a little bit too much dough in some places…practice makes perfect, right?

Anyway….this is my entry for this month’s Hay Hay it’s Donna Day. Created by Barbara of Winosandfoodies and hosted by last month’s winner: Trinigourmet. This month’s theme is tarts!

The crust recipe I used is Donna’s sweet shortcrust dough from Classics Book 2. It is the one I use for pretty much all my crusts. I settled for a chocolate ganache filling but wasn’t sure about an extra flavour. Should I infuse the cream with something or just keep it as is and add something else to fill the crust? So many important choices a baker must make 😉

In the end I went with something I made for last SHF: Haagse Hopjes or coffee caramels. I still had most of them tucked away in my cupboard. Not because were not tasty but – I did not mention this in the original post – I couldn’t cut more than a few caramels because the mixture had cooled down too much. When I first cut them, it was too soon so the cut marks were gone after some time. The second time I was just in time to cut only a few caramels in the middle, the rest of the mixture was already too hard to cut. In other words, I had a few big pieces of caramel that were not very convenient to nibble on. Luckily I discovered that you can recook caramel. You just dissolve the caramels in water and cook till the required temperature. To make the original caramels I cooked them to hard crack stage, this time I cooked them till soft ball. That way the caramel would stay soft. I used the caramel as the bottom layer, the chocolate ganache was poured over the caramel. The dot decoration is white chocolate. I like making dot decoration as you can see here, here and here.

The tart tin I used was about 10 x 34 cm (4 x 14 in).

Notes to myself when making something similar:

– cooking caramels to soft ball is too soft to use as filling at roomtemperature, that is if you don’t want the caramel to sip out when you cut the tart (the recipe below is the corrected version of medium ball stage)

– don’t rush to finish the tart before you go to bed and pour ganache over caramel that has not properly cooled down. If you do, expect the caramel to creep up at the sides instead of staying on the bottom of the crust 😉

– when piping chocolate dots, lift the piping bag in an upward motion instead of a sideward motion in order to create neat dots that don’t have to be corrected by piping bigger dots on top of them

– make sure the tart is level when put in the fridge that way the tart filling will be level too

– don’t use your silicon roll out mat because 2 sheets of baking paper works much better

As for the taste: the ganache was delicious in its simplicity. The coffee caramel taste was not very present, I think because mine was to fluid and therefore it blended with ganache too quickly when taking a bite. I suspect that a more set caramel would solve this ‘problem’.

Sweet shortcrust pastry (from Modern Classics Book 2 by Donna Hay)

270 g (2 cups) flour

3 tbs caster sugar

150 g (5 oz) cold butter, diced

2-3 tbs ice water

Process the flour, sugar and butter in a foodprocessor until it resembles fine breadcrumbs. With the motor running add enough water for the dough to cling together. Knead lightly and wrap in plastic wrap. Allow to sit in the fridge for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F).

Roll out the dough between 2 sheets of baking paper until 2-3 mm (â…› in) thick. Line the greased tart tin. Blind bake for 10 minutes. Remove the baking weights and bake for another 10 minutes or until the crust is golden.

Coffee caramel

about 300 g (10 ½ oz) Haagse Hopjes (or other coffee caramels)

1- 1 ½ cups water

Dissolve the Haagse Hopjes in the water on low heat. Turn the heat up to medium and allow to cook till 118-121°C (245-250°F or medium ball stage). Pour the caramel into the baked pie crust. Allow to cool completely.

Chocolate ganache

200 g (7 oz) bittersweet chocolate (70%)

200 ml (6 ¾ fl. oz) whipping cream

Chop the chocolate in ½ cm (¼ in) pieces. Transfer to a bowl. Bring the cream to a boil. Pour the boiling cream over the chocolate and allow to stand for 1 minute. Stir until well combined. Pour the ganache over the caramel filled crust. Allow to cool completely.

White chocolate decoration

30 g (1 oz) white chocolate, chopped

Melt the chocolate and transfer to a piping bag made out of baking paper. Snip off the tip and pipe dots onto the ganache.

This entry was posted in Tarts & Pies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Hay hay it’s Donna Day #15 – Chocolate ganache and coffee caramel tart

  1. Rosa says:

    Magnificent! I can hear your decadent tart calling me ;-P…

  2. kate says:

    Even i did press and paste my pastry as rolling was an absolute disaster for me , and the result was good anyways.

    Well done ,Your tart looks fantastic.

  3. Anonymous says:

    This is aboslutely decadent and the decoration very mod! Love it! Beautiful entry!

  4. Tartelette says:

    I don’t mean to post anonymously but the page is not diaplying right and prevents me from posting my url (www.tartelette.blogspot.com)

  5. linda says:

    Rosa – Thanks! Want me to send you some 😉

    Kate – What’s wrong with a little ‘cheating’ 😉

    Tartelette – Thanks 🙂

  6. ovenhaven says:

    I absolutely adore the dot decorations! Now why didn’t I ever think of that? Cute 🙂

  7. Annemarie says:

    I love it – it’s the prettiest little polka-dot of a tart I’ve seen around in a long time. 🙂

  8. I want to join in on more food blogging events; the few I’ve done I’ve really enjoyed, and found got me motivated to do things I had long intended to do by just kept forgetting about.

  9. brilynn says:

    That’s so pretty!

  10. Thanks so much for taking part in this month’s round of Hay Hay it’s Donna Day 🙂 The roundup should be posted later today or tomorrow 😀 Stay Tuned!

  11. barbara says:

    That is the prettiest tart I’ve ever seen. Thanks for joining HHDD.

  12. Anita says:

    Gorgeous -and- delicious-sounding.

  13. Mansi says:

    wow, look at that whimsical shape! and it looks so creamy:) love the white chocolate dots!:) goes well with the dark chocolate:)

  14. kellypea says:

    I agree on the pressing instead of rolling, so I’ll have to take a closer look at this dough. The dots are sweet. And don’t you just love that tart pan? Square is good.

  15. Wow, three of my favorite things all in one dessert. How can you go wrong? 🙂

  16. This month’s Daring Baker’s challenge was lemon meringue pie, a challenge from The Canadian Baker.

    I’m a bit feverish so I’ll keep this post a little short.

    When I read the recipe I did have a few reservations about the crust and filling, both invol

  17. sunshinemom says:

    Yes! I love this too! The kids will go crazy over this one.

Leave a Reply

