Chocolate dipped candied garlic

Could you pair garlic with chocolate? Kees Raat (a Dutch chocolatier) thinks so. And ever since I bought his book ‘Bonbon‘ I wanted to try his chocolate dipped candied garlic. Good thing Danielle of Habeas Brûlée wanted us to pair garlic with something it isn’t usually paired with.

I was very curious about the taste. It did not taste bad but the garlic was not sweet enough for my taste, sweeter would have been better I think. It’s not something one would continue nibbling on but it was definitely fun to finally try it. Expect a major garlic after taste when you eat one 😉

Chocolate dipped candied garlic from Bonbon by Kees Raat

200 ml (6 ¾ fl oz) water
50 g (1 ¾) sugar
25 cloves of garlic
400 g (14 oz) tempered milk chocolate

Bring the water and sugar to a boil. Add the garlic and turn off the heat. Allow the garlic to cool down for 30 minutes. Take the garlic out of the syrup. Bring the syrup to a boil again and add the garlic. Turn off the heat. Allow the garlic to cool down for 30 minutes in the syrup. Bring the syrup with the garlic to a boil. Put the pan on a (I don’t know the English word) ‘metal thingy that reduces the heat’ and allow to broil for 5 minutes. Turn off the heat. Allow the garlic to cool down for 30 minutes in the syrup. Bring the syrup and the garlic for the 4th time to a boil. Put the pan on a ‘metal thingy that reduces heat’ and allow to broil for 5 minutes. Turn off the heat. Allow the garlic to cool down in the syrup.
Preheat the oven to 50°C. Cover a rack with aluminum foil. Place the cloves of garlic on the foil. Allow them to dry in the oven for half an hour. Dip the cloves in tempered milk chocolate.

I just discovered that the actual recipe uses bittersweet chocolate instead of milk chocolate…too late now 😉

This entry was posted in Chocolates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate dipped candied garlic

  1. Danielle says:

    Wow, now that’s courageous!

  2. ilingc says:

    Chocolate and Garlic! Wow! I’m not sure I’m game to try it! I love chocolate and garlic separately though. 😀
    I don’t think my delicate stomach will be able to handle it – the garlic I mean 😉

  3. Saar says:

    I love it! Can this also be made with white chocolate? Hehehe. Maak me gek!

Leave a Reply

