SHF #36 – Muscat and apple juice jelly

No, I didn’t pee in this glass :o)

I have to admit that I wasn’t overly enthousiastic when I read this month’s SHF theme: apples and alcohol – sorry for that Andrew! – because I don’t like using alcohol in sweet stuff. Probably that’s because I’m not a big drinker and for the last 3 years practically a non-drinker (pregnancies and breastfeeding). And even before my kids I only drank a few drinks a month.
But hey, it’s SHF so if I have the time to join in, I will join in! After a brainstorm session with some friends I decided on making a jelly of Muscat. My initial idea was to add pieces of apple in the jelly as well but as time became an issue I settled with this easy yet elegant jelly based on just Muscat and apple juice.
I have become somewhat of a Muscat fan since I tasted Yarden Muscat whilst living in Israel. I don’t know if it is the best but so far it is my absolute favorite. The Muscat I used for the jelly was from Noa, another Israeli brand, not as good as the Yarden but still very good.
You would expect to taste apple juice in the jelly but somehow you don’t really taste it. Not that I considered that a problem because the Muscat taste was wonderful but still, I expected more apple taste. For my personal taste I would use a little more apple juice and a little less Muscat because I found it a bit on the heavy side. Spooning wine is faster than sipping 😉 especially when you’re practically a non-drinker.

Muscat and apple juice jelly

makes 6 small glasses

1 ts powdered gelatine
150 ml clear apple juice
200 ml Muscat

Sprinkle the gelatin in the apple juice and mix. Allow to stand for 5 minutes. Heat the apple juice au bain marie until it becomes clear (or when it reaches about 70°C). Slowly pour the apple juice mixture in the Muscat whilst whisking.
Pour into 6 small glasses and allow to cool down to room temperature. Chill in the fridge for a few more hours before serving.

Note – the jelly will be soft so if you want it to be sliceable, use more gelatine

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SHF #36 – Muscat and apple juice jelly

  1. Andrew says:

    Glad you took the trouble to participate – a great entry and one I would never have thought of!

  2. Ann says:

    What an original idea! And it’s such a lovely color!

  3. Sometimes you have a great idea for a recipe but when you make it, it doesn’t turn out completely how you wanted…completely being an understatement here.
    When I saw that this month’s WTSIM was all about terrines I made a little (mental) joy jump be

Leave a Reply

