Another XL cookie with marzipan

Today is my parents 36th anniversary. I surprised them by calling this morning to tell them me and the boys were coming (it was a surprise because we’re not much into celebrating anniversaries and the like). Initially I wanted to make a pretty mini cake but I ran out of time so I made another XL cookie with marzipan. My oldest had a hard time not touching the cookie while I was making the picture as you can see 😉 (if you want to see the picture my dad made of the cookie, click here)
The cookie itself is very quick and easy to make, the marzipan covering and decoration is easy too but pretty time consuming, especially when your (almost) 6 month old keeps on waking up and crying 😉

I used the same recipe for shortbread as the other XL cookie (click here). The instructions are mostly the same except for the flowers.

For the larger flowers:
– roll out pink marzipan to 2 mm (1/12 inch) thickness
– cut out a medium circle of about 2 ½ cm or 1 in
– cut out a large circle of about 5 cm or 2 in (I used a sherry glass)
– cut out a small circle of about 1 cm or ½ in from the middle of the large circle (I used a suitable unscrued ballpoint pen 😉
– make cuts in the large circle up to about ½ cm or ¼ in of the small circle in the middle
– put the large circle over the medium circle and bend the ends underneath the medium circle (you still with me? It’s all logical but I find I hard to describe)

For the smaller flowers:
– roll out pink marzipan to 2 mm (1/12 inch) thickness
– cut out 2 medium circles of about 2 ½ cm or 1 in
– cut out a small circle of about 1 cm or ½ in from the middle of 1 medium circle
– put the circles on top of each other
– using the wrong side of the knife, make incisions all round

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Another XL cookie with marzipan

  1. Rosa says:

    Mindblowing! A real beauty!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Tea says:

    Is that your dad on ”dalmacijo moja inspiracijo”??
    p.s – Can I write in croatian?! :))

  3. linda says:

    Thanks Rosa 🙂

    Yes Tea, that’s my dad over there 🙂
    My Croatian is not that good (‘only’ half Croatian and always lived in the Netherlands) so I prefer English 😉

  4. Tea says:

    Hehe, that was so funny! And your dad has an amazing blog! He always leaves me wonderful comments! :))
    And by the way, I was oft in Holland, because my family lives there. My uncle with family, and I can understand a lot of Dutch 😉 They live in Barendrecht!
    xoxo

  5. Sylvia says:

    Your work in marzipan is always amazing.This is so beautiful.Congrats to your parents anniversary.And congrats to you too for this magnificent presentation.

  6. chris says:

    he lin, wanneer ging je dat etentje bij jou thuis ook al weer voor ons doen?? Ik zie dat je goed aan het ‘inbakken’ bent 😉

  7. That is just precious, and so is the fact that your parents have been married 36 years. It warms my heart to hear it. I can’t believe your dad has a blog! That’s amazing! 🙂

  8. Kristen says:

    What a beautiful creation. I bet your parents loved it!

  9. Wouldn’t I love one of this as a gift?
    It looks dazzling, Linda!

  10. Had to make doughnuts twice before they were presentable enough for Tartelette’s and Peabody’s Time to make the Doughnuts Event 😉
    The first batch I tried to squeeze in on a busy day. This is usually not a good thing when you work with yeast. My frie

  11. I never knew there was a thing called yellow cake until I read about it on Mansi’s Fun and Food. The yellow in the cake comes from using egg yolks instead of whole eggs, how interesting….
    So when I needed to make some cupcakes for Arfi’s Spectacula

Leave a Reply

