SHF #38 – Amandel griesmeelpudding met bessensapsaus (Almond semolina pudding with red currant sauce)

Busy times over here, finished my second exam of three this week….big sigh….did ok (enough) on both. Friday last exam. Also Friday A’s father and brother are coming for a pre-Christmas dinner. We’re leaving for Croatia on Sunday so we’ll be spending Christmas and also New Year’s day with my parents (who arrived there last Sunday). We’re taking A’s grandmother too, that’ll be the first time she’ll be visiting Croatia and also meeting the Croatian part of my family. I’m sort of tired because I went to bed too late last night because I was studying….I don’t think my writing is very coherent, sorry about that…

Anyway, as I was saying: a busy week. Still don’t know what too cook for Friday night. Also I’m trying to fit in the Daring Bakers December challenge.

The pudding you see in the picture above is a Dutch classic: Almond semolina pudding with red currant sauce. I made it for the 38th edition of SHF that is hosted by Kochtopf’s Zorra. For this pudding you just cook the semolina in milk, add some ground almonds, sugar and vanilla. To serve with the pudding I made the classic sauce to accompany it: red currant sauce. You can find small bottles of red currant juice in every supermarket in the Netherlands but I’m not sure how the situation is in other countries. Of course you could use fresh red currant juice (probably even better!). And a good substitute would be cranberry juice which is very red and very tart too.

The semolina that’s available in the Netherlands is a pretty fine one btw.

I used a pudding mould that isn’t really a pudding mould but a brioche pan. I bought it a while back but haven’t made brioche yet. It works very well for this pudding and I was very happy with the shiny appearence of the pudding. That’s probably because the mould is non-stick. The pudding didn’t come out by itself, I had to give it a hand by pulling the sides away from the mould. As soon as some air went up to the top it came out beautifully.

Almond semolina pudding

serves 6

½ vanilla bean

1 l (4 ¼ cup) milk

100 g (3 ½ oz) semolina

50 g (¾ oz) ground almonds

75 g (2 â…” oz) sugar + extra

Cut the vanilla bean lengthwise and scrape out the vanilla seeds. Add the seeds to the milk.Let the vanilla steep in the milk on low heat for 15 minutes.

Mix the semolina, almonds and sugar. Add the mixture to the hot milk. Bring to a boil and allow to cook. Cook and stir for 5 minutes. Rinse a pudding mould with cold water and add the pudding. Sprinkle with sugar to prevent the forming of a crust. Allow to cool to room temperature. Chill in the fridge for a few hours.

Place a big plate ovet the pudding mould and invert it to get out the pudding. Serve with the red currant sauce.

Red currant sauce

rind of ¼ lemon (only the yellow part)

100 ml (scant ½ cup) water

300 ml (1 ¼ cup) red currant juice

1 tbs potato starch

60 g (2 oz) sugar

Allow the lemon rind to steep in the water for 5 minutes.

Mix the potato starch with a little bit of water until lump free.

Add the red currant juice and bring to a boil. Add the potato starch water mix whilst stirring. Add the sugar and allow to cook for 1 minute. Allow the sauce to cool down completely.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=makelifesweet-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=B0006BDDFW&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=000000&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr&npa=1

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to SHF #38 – Amandel griesmeelpudding met bessensapsaus (Almond semolina pudding with red currant sauce)

  1. Evelin says:

    Sounds good! This sauce of yours – how thick is it? In Estonia I’d call this ‘punase sõstra kissell’ – red currant kissel. We sometimes serve it as a dessert on its own too – in my family we usually eat it with pieces of cookies in it:)

  2. Ivonne says:

    Wow, Linda! That is just gorgeous! I can’t believe you found time to make this with how busy you’ve been … just beautiful! I wish you and your family a very happy Christmas and New Year!

  3. zorra says:

    I love almonds and semolina. Looks great!

    Thank you for participating in SHF.

    Have a save trip to Croatia.

  4. linda says:

    Evelin, it’s a thin type of sauce. Maybe you could serve it as a cold sweet soup? Never tried it but I think it could be good. Even better with some cookies 😉

    Thanks Ivonne, I made it 2 weeks ago when I did have a little more time 😉 Happy holidays to you and your family too!

    Thanks Zorra!

  5. Your creations are always stunning and this is no exception, Linda!

  6. dhanggit says:

    im not really a great fan of pudding, but this recipe looks so tempting..pudding with almonds and red currant sauce..hmmm its looks really yummy

  7. Rosa says:

    A gorgeous looking pudding! I love that sauce which accompanies it!

    Cheers and Happy Holidays!

    Rosa

  8. Tea says:

    Hands down, that looks just puuurfect! Wow.

    xoxo

  9. auntie jo says:

    your pudding is just gorgeous, and the red currant sauce too, I’m eager to make it and taste it ;-))

    happy new year to you and family!

  10. Ann says:

    Looks delicious and I love the traditional shape, too!

  11. manju says:

    As soon as I saw almonds and semolina, I knew this was something we are going to have to try — and it looks as great as it sounds, too. Clever use of a brioche pan! : )

  12. Kim says:

    A beautiful pudding! Very striking.

  13. Anna says:

    This looks great! Really beautiful.

  14. Thought I’d try out another recipe with my new favorite combination of ginger and orange. Last time I combined blood orange with ginger syrup. This time I used fresh ginger as well as ginger syrup and orange zest as well as orange juice. I let some gr

Leave a Reply

