Wittamer chocolates & macarons (And Happy New Year!)

I’m afraid I don’t have a lot of inspiration, that’s why I haven’t posted an entry for a while…sorry about that. Promise to give you a ‘real’ post soon.

In the meanwhile, here are a few pictures of Wittamer macarons and chocolates I had a while back. A. brought them back from Brussels on my request. According to Chantal Coady of Rococo Chocolates Wittamer chocolates are the best chocolates in Belgium (she was stating this in 1995 so maybe things have changed since…). I made a list of all the chocolates I needed (wanted) and fortunately A was able to get most of them. They were very good, my favorite was one with a filling of dark ganache flavoured with rose petals. But still I thought that somewhere in the world there must be chocolates that I will like better πŸ˜‰ don’t know where though.

It was only the second time I ate macarons and I liked the ones I had before better when texture is concerned. The Wittamer ones were not chewy on the inside. The ones I ate in Tel Aviv were. But since I only ate macarons twice I’m no connaisseur so I don’t know if it is supposed to be chewy or not.

The fillings for the Wittamer macarons were very delicious. The box had passionfruit, speculoos (or in Dutch speculaas, or in English apple spice), raspberry, chocolate, pistachio and blueberry macarons.

Decided I have to taste more macarons πŸ™‚ will be a little problematic in the Netherlands, I’ve never seen them here…so I also decided that one of my New Year’s resolutions should be to make my own…already trembling at the idea…because when I make them I want them to look good and have feet…of course I will be sharing them with you, even without feet πŸ˜‰

To conclude my first 2008 post I wish you a very Happy New Year (I know I’m very late)!

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=makelifesweet-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=0684803747&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=000000&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr&npa=1 http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=makelifesweet-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=0847825159&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=000000&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr&npa=1

This entry was posted in Chocolates and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wittamer chocolates & macarons (And Happy New Year!)

  1. Rosa says:

    I still have to make me own macarons… Those chocolates look great!

    cheers,

    Rosa

  2. No apologies, necessary. Everyone needs a break once in a while. Take care of yourself, and eat lots of chocolate. That always makes me feel better. πŸ˜‰

  3. ovenhaven says:

    There’s a macaron craze here in Singapore (albeit the cupcake craze still rules pretty much), yet I’ve never tried my hands on one; neither eating nor making them. I have to say that the macarons look so pretty all wrapped up like that πŸ™‚

    Do come back when you’re inspired again, and in turn will inspire us all with your beautiful works πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

