Cashew nut, honey & vanilla pie

I came across a recipe of a walnut and honey filled pie in an old issue of Elle Eten (the Dutch food version of Elle magazine) the other day. It looked so good that I had to try it. I changed the walnuts to cashew nuts because I had plenty of unsalted cashewnuts lying around begging for me to use them. Besides the honey I added some vanilla to the filling too. Instead of the dough in the original recipe I used the apple pie dough my mum uses. Turned out that the flower I used to decorate not only looked cute, it was helpful too because I could cut between the petals and create 6 really equal slices 🙂

Even though it was a delicious pie, I was disappointed about the lack of cashew nut taste. The taste of the honey and crust overwhelmed it. I guess I never realised that cashew nuts have such a delicate taste. Next time I’ll make it with either walnuts or hazelnuts.

I used a springform pan to make the pie because I don’t have a pie pan/dish. I thought it was very useful because that way I could cut out the bottom by placing the greased bottom of the spring onto the rolled out dough and just cut around it with a sharp knife. If you carefully turn it around (and if you’re lucky) it will stick to the bottom so you just attach the top part of the springform with the bottom part of the dough already in place. (it does take a little practice to place to close the thing in an orderly fashion I should add!) To make the disk that went on top I opened the upper part of the springform and used that to cut a round out of the other part of the rolled out dough. This made it a little bigger than the first round so that it would easily cover the filling and still have enough dough to reach the sides of the springform.

Cashew nut, honey & vanilla pie (adapted from Elle Eten)

serves 6

crust:

250 g (8 ¾ oz) flour

150 g (5 ¼ oz) butter, cold and cut into cubes

125 g (4 ½ oz) caster sugar

grated rind of 1 lemon

1 egg

filling:

25 g (1 oz) butter

3 TBS honey

½ ts vanilla

100 g (3 ½ oz) cashew nuts, chopped

egg wash:

1 egg

1 TBS water

pinch of salt

Rub the flour and butter between your fingertips until it resembles breadcrumbs. Add the sugar and lemon rind and stir it in. Stir in the egg. Knead briefly to combine and to let it come together. Form into two disks and chill for 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F). Grease a 15-18 cm (6-7 in) springform or pie pan.

Roll out each disk between 2 sheets of baking paper to a thickness of about 4 mm (1/6 in). Cut out a round that will fit the bottom of the pan (for a tip, see the text above). Cut out a slightly larger round to cover the filling. Cut out a flower and a small round with a cookie cutter.

Place round no. 1 into the springform. Spread the filling on top of it, leaving a 1½ cm (½ in) border at the sides. Place round no. 2 on top. Press the borders onto each other. Put the flower in the middle and the small round in the middle of the flower. Brush with egg wash. Bake about 40 minutes or until golden brown.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=makelifesweet-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=B00007AWXX&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=000000&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr&nou=1 http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=makelifesweet-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=B00004RC46&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=000000&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr&npa=1 http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=makelifesweet-20&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=B0007XB7O8&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=000000&bc1=FFFFFF&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr&nou=1

This entry was posted in Tarts & Pies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cashew nut, honey & vanilla pie

  1. Evelin says:

    The pie looks great! When I read the title, what I actually thought was ‘please be a cashew pie with overwhelming cashew flavour!’ Unfortunately, that’s what these nuts tend to do, lose their taste when you try to bake something with them. But we’ll keep on hoping, right?;)

  2. brilynn says:

    It looks gorgeous! I’m sure it would also be tasty with a mixture of nuts, maybe some pistachios and cashews?

  3. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    It lloks spectacular.

  4. Graeme says:

    Very interesting. Like a cross between a Pie and Baklava. Awesome.

  5. Cakespy says:

    OH MY! This looks extremely good! I think it looks very tasty!

  6. I was excited when I saw the name of your recipe. Then I saw the photos, and WOW!, it’s spectacular. I have got to try this since I’m addicted to nuts.

  7. linda says:

    Evelin, I hoped so too, maybe it works better with cashew paste and without honey.

    Brilynn, it would look very pretty with pistachios.

    Thanks Courtney!

    Graeme, I loved the way it kind of looks like baklava too.

    Thanks Cakespy!

    Thanks Susan, if your nuts about nuts (sorry about the corny joke 😉 you should try it but I would suggest using nuts with more taste.

  8. Rosa says:

    Wow, that pie looks scrumptious!

    Cashew nuts have a delicate and somewhat bland flavor… Maybe if you substitute them with almonds, brazil nuts, pecans or walnuts, the filling would have more taste.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  9. LyB says:

    It’s so beautiful! I am also of those who love cashews and hoped you’d say their taste would stand out. Still, it looks delicious!

  10. linda says:

    Rosa, exactly what I thought after tasting it 🙂

    Thanks Lyb! It was a pity about the lack of cashew taste but what can you do? 😉

  11. Nikki says:

    It looks delicious and I am in awe of your pie stacking skills. I would have toppled them over in no time.

  12. That is a wicked looking pie! Truly spectacular. Like you, I think hazelnuts would be worth trying – and pecans, maybe?

  13. Sorina says:

    Sounds divine for me. I love all recipes and photos on your blog

  14. I thought it would be a good idea to let my oldest son show the cookie crown with candy that I made for this month’s SHF which is hosted by CandyRecapper this month. While the idea seemed a good one at the time, in practice it was difficult to take a

  15. Julie says:

    Wow, that looks great! I’ve never seen anything quite like that 🙂

Leave a Reply

