SHF #39 – Candy crown cookie

I thought it would be a good idea to let my oldest son show the cookie crown with candy that I made for this month’s SHF which is hosted by CandyRecapper this month. While the idea seemed a good one at the time, in practice it was difficult to take a flash-less picture of a tired and slightly hungry 2 ½ year old holding a cookie on top of his head. He kept on moving all the time. He wanted to look at the cookie but I kept on saying, no honey, hold it on your head, no not like that, like this. Meanwhile he was touching the little pearls on the cookie, which in turn fell to the ground one after the other which in turn made him want to jump up and go after them. So after trying to get a good and focused picture I just gave up on the idea and let him eat the little pearls and a piece of the cookie (I didn’t allow him to eat the entire cookie because we were just about to have lunch…in case you were wondering why he could eat the entire cookie 😉

Before I continue with the making of the cookie I’d like to have your attention for the following…

Maybe some of you have already seen the logo of Adopt a blogger in my sidebar, maybe some of you have even clicked on the link. For people who don’t know what I’m talking about, Adopt a blogger is an event launched by Kristen at Dine and Dish. Read all about it here.

After mixing and matching veteran and newbie bloggers I was matched with newbie food blogger Nikki of Crazy Delicious. I was very happy to see I was matched with a fellow baker, a fellow Daring Baker even! But we have more in common, we are both Croatian…both only in part but still 🙂 Check out what Nikki blogs about here.

And now for the cookies…I made the cookies from the dough I had left-over from the cashew nuts, honey & vanilla pie. It’s a great dough to use for cut-out cookies. I cut a crown out of paper and used it to cut out the cookies. I cut out some small rounds that I filled with crushed hard candy halfway through the baking time. If like me, you don’t own such a small cutter you can use an unskrewed ballpoint pen instead, that’s what I did 🙂

For the cookies

cookie dough

some hard candy

a little bit of white chocolate

edible balls, pearls or other sprinkles

Roll out the chilled (but not too hard) dough between 2 sheets of baking paper. Pull off the baking paper from both sides but let the dough lie on on of them.

Cut out crowns. Transfer to a baking sheet lined with baking paper. Cut out several small rounds were you see fit. Bake the cookies for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile crush a few hard candies.

Take the baking sheet out of the oven and fill the small rounds with crushed candy. Continue baking for 5-10 minutes or until the cookies start to brown on the edges.

Allow to cool completely on the baking sheets.

Melt a tiny bit of white chocolate and use this to glue whatever balls, pearls or sprinkles you like.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SHF #39 – Candy crown cookie

  1. Kristen says:

    Those are adorable!

    Thanks for participating in the adopt a blogger event!

  2. He’s one precious prince! 🙂

  3. Evelin says:

    These could be perfect at a little girl’s birthday party! I’ve used crushed candy to fill gingerbread rounds. It’s such a decorative idea that we discussed if we should hang them on the Christmas tree:)

  4. ma kako nan je naÅ¡ mačak zgodan…evo je dida pustija suzu…

  5. linda says:

    Kristen – Love them too 😉 and your welcome!

    Susan – He sure is 🙂

    Evelin – I actually wanted to make them for a little girls b-day but I didn’t make them in time. Gingerbread rounds with candy make for lovely Christmas tree decoration.

    Tata – ma!

  6. Nikki says:

    Oh my goodness you have the cutest son ever. He’s adorable!

  7. Zz. says:

    i know that guy

  8. Stef says:

    How adorable! What a cute idea!

  9. Allen says:

    The cookies are so cute, almost to good to eat!

  10. Ann says:

    Your crown is beautiful– just like your son. Wonderful entry!

Leave a Reply

