WTSIM #12- Coconut and coffee terrine

Sometimes you have a great idea for a recipe but when you make it, it doesn’t turn out completely how you wanted…completely being an understatement here.

When I saw that this month’s WTSIM was all about terrines I made a little (mental) joy jump because I couldn’t participate in the HHDD terrine edition despite the fact I had a great idea. So now I had a new chance to try out the great idea (something which btw never would have happened if the deadline wasn’t postponed till the end of the month instead of the 22nd, thanks Johanna!). The great idea wat that I was going to make terrine not with straight layers but with diagonal layers…I at least think that it was a great idea 😉

I didn’t really have of lot of time to make it so I made pretty simple puddings. Not too simple by only adding corn flour as a thickener because I accidentaly read that corn flour on its own doesn’t retain water for more than x hours and since I usually make my desserts in the evening so they’re ready to be photographed the next afternoon, corn flour would be a bad choice. To bypass the corn flour problem you should reduce the amount of corn flour and add eggs (or egg yolks) to the pudding. Another way of making the puddings would be to use gelatine as a thickener but it always kind of scares me to use gelatine (did use it once when I made Muscat jelly and it went ok though).

What I did was adapt a recipe from my Haagse kookboek, the standard for very, very basic Dutch cooking. For the coffee pudding I used added dark brown sugar and added instant espresso powder and ground vanilla beans (those are the brown dots, not coffee). I forgot to increase the amount of sugar to compensate for the bitterness of the espresso powder (it is added in the recipe below btw). The coconut pudding has all the coconut taste but not the ‘shreds’. I didn’t want the little pieces of coconut to disturb my pudding experience so instead of just adding the coconut I only let is steep in the simmering milk for about 20 minutes and strained the milk. I wasn’t sure how much I needed to add turned out I guessed pretty well. The coconut taste was not too in your face and not too subtle either.

I’m not sure if coffee and coconut is a common combination but I can tell you it’s a very good one!

You probably already saw in the picture that the amount of eggs and corn flour was not sufficient to make a good stiff sliceable terrine. I checked my cookbook just now and at the beginning of the chapter it says that the eggs should be large eggs…stupid book, should have put that in the recipe. Next time I will use gelatine because using corn flour (and eggs) makes the pudding go thick before you pour it in the tin and that was the reason the crooked line between the colours. I only realised this when I was pouring the first pudding into the loaf tin….

If you like coffee pudding or coconut pudding try one of the recipes but I’d advise against layering them because the result will not look pretty. But on the other hand, they do taste wonderful together!

Will give your the recipes for one bigger pudding. I halved them both to make one terrine.

Coffee pudding (adapted from Het Nieuwe Haagse Kookboek by F.M. Stoll & W.H. de Groot)

750 ml (3 cups) milk

250 ml (1 cup) whipping cream

¼ ts ground vanilla beans

100 g (3 ½ oz) dark brown sugar

2 large eggs

60 g (2 ¼ oz) corn flour

2 ts instant espresso powder

sugar

Fill a pudding mould with cold water.

Mix the milk with the cream. Bring 750 ml (3 cups) of the milk and cream mixture with the vanilla to a boil and let the vanilla steep for 5 minutes. Mix the sugar with the eggs. Add the corn flour and mix until smooth. Add the espresso powder and the remaining 250 ml (1 cup) milk and cream mixture powder.

Whilst stirring add this mixture to the hot milk and continue cooking and stirring until the mixture is thick enough so you can see the bottom of the pan when you scrape it with a wooden spoon.

Pour the water out of the pudding mould and pour the pudding in the mould. Sprinkle with sugar to avoid the forming of a skin.

Coconut pudding (adapted from Het Nieuwe Haagse Kookboek by F.M. Stoll & W.H. de Groot)

750 ml (3 cups) milk

250 ml (1 cup) whipping cream

1 cup shredded coconut

75 g (2 ¾ oz) sugar

2 large eggs

60 g (2 ¼ oz) corn flour

sugar

Fill a pudding mould with cold water.

Mix the milk with the cream. Bring 750 ml (3 cups) of the milk and cream mixture with the coconut to a boil and let the coconut steep for 20 minutes. Mix the sugar with the eggs. Add the corn flour and mix until smooth. Add the remaining 250 ml (1 cup) milk and cream mixture.

Strain the milk into a heat-proof measuring cup. Add milk until you have 750 ml (3 cups) again. Pour the milk and cream mixture in a clean pan and put it back on the heat.

Whilst stirring add the egg mixture to the hot milk and continue cooking and stirring until the mixture is thick enough so you can see the bottom of the pan when you scrape it with a wooden spoon.

Pour the water out of the pudding mould and pour the pudding in the mould. Sprinkle with sugar to avoid the forming of a skin.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WTSIM #12- Coconut and coffee terrine

  1. znači fibra je proÅ¡la i opet si u kužini…ovo mi pari lipo…jeli li stariji u temu guÅ¡ta…?…

  2. johanna says:

    diagonal layers… that’s what i call inspired! what a treat your terrine seems to be, thanks for contributing this to WTSIM!

  3. Farhan says:

    I didn’t know sprinkling sugar would prevent the formation of a skin, how interesting!

  4. Dorit says:

    It looks absolutely devine! This is a keeper, thanks for the tip regarding the sugar!

  5. linda says:

    tata – kako ne!

    Johanna – thanks!

    Farhan – that’s what I’ve been taught, seems to be working…

    Dorit – todah!

  6. jasmine says:

    That looks like a divine pudding–I think it looks lovely. I’ve been craving coconut sweets (specifically coconut cakes). I should see if I have the ingredients on hand to make this.

    j

  7. JEP says:

    The ingredients sound delicous!

  8. Irene says:

    I love the flavor of the coffee and the coconut. I never thought that cornflour could thicken the mixture like that. It looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

