Blood orange with ginger syrup and black pepper

(Blood)orange and ginger is my new favorite combination! Never knew how good they tasted together until I ‘accidentally’ tried this combination. I had two blood oranges lying around waiting to finally be used. My idea was to cut out the orange segments and drizzle them with a tasty syrup, a syrup I planned on making myself. But being the lazy person I am from time to time I didn’t feel like making any syrup. My first idea was to drizzle with some honey instead but felt that would be a little too boring. The only other syrup I had that was up for the job was the ginger syrup in my jar of stem ginger. So ginger syrup it was. To spice it up a little more I added some freshly ground black pepper.

I wasn’t really sure which way it was going to go when it was time to taste….

The first thing I tasted was the gingery sweetness of the ginger syrup. That taste faded quickly to make place for the fresh, tart and fragrant taste of the blood orange. It was absolutely delicious! A real winner combination.

I took another bite, and another and another and then I realised that I didn’t taste the pepper. So I tried eating a bit slower and trying to taste pepper. Turned out I had to wait a tiny bit between two bites to let the pepper bite kick in. So…sweet ginger, tart orange, pauze for a moment…hot pepper!

Besides being a winner combination there are other great things about this dish: it’s very easy to make, very good for you and it looks good too. It would work well as a refreshing dessert after a heavy meal or you could serve it between courses as a palate cleanser.

If you can’t get a hold of blood oranges, regular ones work too but you won’t have as much ‘kachow’.

Blood orange with ginger syrup and black pepper

serves one

1 blood orange

½ tbs ginger syrup (the syrup from a jar of stem ginger)

black pepper

Cut the skin off the blood orange so you don’t have any white left. Cut out the orange segments with a sharp knife.

Arrange the segments on a plate. Drizzle with the ginger syrup and give a few twists with the pepper mill.

This entry was posted in Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Blood orange with ginger syrup and black pepper

  1. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Very inventive!

  2. Graeme says:

    So simple, but it has everything – Tart, sweet, spicy; sounds great.

  3. What gorgeous shots. I can’t get enough blood oranges lately.

  4. Rosa says:

    Wonderful! Really delicious and refreshing!

    cheers,

    Rosa

  5. linda says:

    Courtney – more like lazy 😉

    Graeme – you know what they say about simple things…

    Susan – blood oranges are very photogenic!

    Rosa – it really is good.

  6. ovenhaven says:

    Absolutely lovely! It’s great to hear an ‘accidental’ combination turning out this wonderful 🙂

  7. Nikki says:

    I absolutely love blood oranges and I happen to have some in the fridge as we speak. I may have to give these a try tonight!

  8. I love blood oranges too–this is a great idea!

  9. linda says:

    Ovenhaven – thanks!

    Nikki – hope you like it if you try

    Bleeding espresso – and so pretty too

  10. Thought I’d try out another recipe with my new favorite combination of ginger and orange. Last time I combined blood orange with ginger syrup. This time I used fresh ginger as well as ginger syrup and orange zest as well as orange juice. I let some gr

Leave a Reply

