Cookie flower pot

My friend H and her boy friend M celebrated their birthday last weekend. I wanted to bake them something nice but couldn’t decide what to make. Either it had to be something not so girlish so I could give it to them both or make seperate things, one girly and one less girly. I thought about buying some flowers to accompany whatever I was baking. In the end I wasn’t sure it would be a good idea because with all the people that were coming there were bound to be lots of flowers (which turned out to be the case). So the idea of the cookie flower pot came to life. Even though I thought it was a fun idea I thought it was corny too. But I thought my friend would love it so I went ahead making it despite its corniness. To my surprise A thought it was very nice! When he said this I looked at him to see if he was making fun of me (he usually glances up from his book says oh nice and continues reading when I proudly present my newest creation). He said he liked it because finally I made cookies that didn’t look like another batch of…well…cookies.

The flower pot was a bit too girly for my friend’s boy friend so I made him a star cookie crown.

I used the same dough as I did for the candy crown cookies aka my mum’s apple pie crust dough. This time I flavoured it with cardamom instead of lemon.

Cookie flower pot

1 flower pot

oasis (the green stuff you stick flowers in)

piece of (not too thick) cardboard

12-15 wooden sticks

cookie dough

1 egg

1 tbs water

Fill the flower pot with oasis. Cut out a circle of cardboard that will snugly fit in the flower pot at about 3 ½ cm (1 ½ in) from the top of the pot. Make 12-15 holes in the cardboard for the sticks. Put the cardboard in the flower pot. Brush the cardboard with softened butter.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F). Line 2 baking sheets with baking paper.

Roll out the chilled cookie dough and cut out 12-15 flowers. Put each over one end of a wooden stick, covering about 1 ½ cm (½ in) of the stick. Cut out 12-15 leafs. Put each somewhere along the wooden stick, covering about 1 ½ cm (½ in) of the stick. Make about 5 extra cookies. Chill the cut out dough for 15 minutes.

Mix the egg and water. Brush the cookies with the egg wash. Bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes or until starting to brown.

Allow to cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Crumble the 5 extra cookies.

Stick the flowers through the holes in the flower pot. Sprinkle the cookie crumbles over the cardboard.

Star cookie crown

Draw a circle on baking paper. Turn it around. Roll out some cookie dough. Cut out star shaped cookies until you have enough to close the circle (I needed about 18). Bake for 15 minutes or until the crown starts to brown. Allow to cool for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Cookie flower pot

  1. Bron says:

    This is so neat Linda! I love it, I think it’s a wonderful gift and not really so corny. My girls would love it!

  2. ma divota…samo pazi dati klinci to ne pojedu…pusu…

  3. These cookies are adorable. Very sweet! Great gift!

  4. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    I love making cookie bouquest fro freinds birthdays. Your is very unique and delicate and I’m loving it. Outstanding.

  5. MrsPresley says:

    i’m so impressed, this is so cute!

    i just joined the DB this month, just checking out everyone else’s blogs, wanted to say hello 🙂

  6. Jerri says:

    What a cute idea. Great Post!

  7. Evelin says:

    very cute!:)

    I wish there was a little girl’s birthday party I had to go to!

  8. There’s nothing corny here, my friend – everything looks absolutely lovely! You are such a dear.

  9. linda says:

    Bron – thanks, maybe your girls can make a pot themselves

    Tata – nearly happened

    Joy the Baker – thanks

    Courtney – they are a great gift indeed

    Mrs Presley – thanks and welcome to the world of DB 🙂

    Jerri – thanks

    Evelin – next time you have one…

    Patricia – corny in a good way 😉

  10. Hillary says:

    Adorable!!! I should make these next holiday season.

  11. ovenhaven says:

    I absolutely adore this to bits! The cookie crown is such a great idea!

  12. Tea says:

    Oh wow!! Those flower cookies are fantastic! How creative!

    And p.s – I missed the Nutella day in a day, dang it. But that espresso of yours just blew me away, since I looove Nutella. And your text was funny, hehe 🙂

    xoxo

  13. Lien says:

    Hi Linda, I just love your blog a lot! I love sweet things. These flowerpotcookies are amazing. What a great idea for p.e. a treat at a birthday or to bring with you when you visit someone with a flowerallergy 😉

    I’ll be visiting more often!!

  14. Sylvia says:

    What a creative idea ,and lovely Your friends are lucky to have a friend like you,that spent time thinking in something

    new and tender to offer to them. Linda , you are a truly artist

  15. Nikki says:

    Wow Linda. Those are the cutest things ever!

  16. LyB says:

    Those are both such wonderful ideas! My kids would love the flowers, I think I might make something similar for Easter! Thanks so much for posting these!

Leave a Reply

