Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten Free! – Pistachio cookies

Naomi from Straight into Bed Cakefree and Dried is hosting a food blogging event that is all about baking gluten-free. This month’s theme is Teatime Treats. I happened to have a gluten-free cookie in stock for a while now so this event was the perfect moment to post about it. And if I didn’t have any in stock I would have made something 🙂

I love to play around with ingredients to fit a recipe into a certain diet. I had a little experience with that a few years ago when our friend Y visited us when we were living in Tel Aviv. Y was sensitive to quite a lot of products you’d normally use in baking. Things like sugar, wheat, oat, yeast, almonds, cashew nuts, peanuts, poppy seeds, dairy from cows (with the exception of butter), chocolate. So you can imagine that it was quite challenging to come up with stuff that fitted her diet AND tasted good! It was rather difficult finding recipes that met all the requirements. There are recipes without sugar but they usually contain wheat. And recipes without wheat usually contain sugar. After some failures I succeeded in making enough treats for her to eat for the duration of her stay. We ended up with very tasty maple goat cheese cake with maple pecan nut crust (also gluten-free), pistachio-maple syrup cookies (also gluten-free), maple syrup cakes, dried fruit muffins, walnut honey cookies (also gluten-free) and honey pecan cookies.

The cookies you see in the picture are made without flour and contain just pistachio nuts, eggs, sugar and some lemon zest. It was supposed to be more or less the same as the Weesper moppen I made a while back but turned out a bit different. I used the recipe from Jonah Freud’s book ‘Koekje’. This recipe uses more egg and sugar than the other one. Making them more crunchy than chewy when compared to Weesper moppen.

I tried to follow the instuctions in the recipe but the dough was much softer and was therefor harder to make into a log. Also it spread out, something that Weesper moppen aren’t supposed to do (much). Even though they turned out different than they were supposed to, they were really delicious. Next time I’d definitely try the other cookies again because I like the look of the other cookies more than these ones.

Pistache moppen (Pistachio cookies) (from Koekje by Jonah Freud)

makes about 40

250 g (8 ¾ oz) pistachios

300 (10 ½ oz) granulated sugar

2 eggs

grated peel of ½ lemon

granulated sugar

Process all the pistachios and sugar in a food processor. Make sure not to over-process but the nuts should be finely ground. Add the eggs and process briefly to mix. Make a log of 4 cm diameter and wrap it in plastic wrap. Allow the dough to rest overnight in the fridge.

Preheat the oven to 200°C (390°F). Sprinkle a layer of granulated sugar on your working surface and roll the dough into 2 logs of 3.5 cm (1 ¼ in) in diameter. Cut the logs in 1 cm (0.4 in) slices.

Bake the cookies on a baking sheet lined with baking parchment for 10 minutes until they are lightly coloured and still soft on the inside.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Go Ahead Honey It’s Gluten Free! – Pistachio cookies

  1. dhanggit says:

    this is how i like my cookies: simple and lots of pistachio 🙂 my hubby will surely love this he adores pistachio nuts

  2. Rosa says:

    Gorgeous cookies! I wouldn’t mind eating a few of them with my coffee ;-P…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. vineela says:

    Hi Linda,

    Love your recipes.Pistachio cookies look

    delicious.thanks for sharing.

    vineela

  4. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Pistachios are my favorite nut along with almonds. I can feel the flavor bursting out in these cookies.

  5. Jennifer says:

    pistachios are amazing. i remember when i first figured out that they were actually delicious (i was a picky kid). my mother in law is eating a gluten free diet. maybe i’ll try making these for her.

  6. sushma says:

    Hi Linda,

    My first time in your blog. very nice blog you have got. This is a new recipe for me sure i will give it a try. thnaks for sharing..

  7. linda says:

    Dhanggit – I agree on simple, I love recipes with only a few ingredients

    Rosa – once you start it’s hard to stop 😉

    Vineela – thanks!

    Courtney – besides their taste I love their pretty colour

    Jennifer – hope your mother in law will love them if you make them

    Sushma – thanks! Hope you try them…

  8. Linda, I’m on a pistachio fever right now (I made those brownies with them and now I have a salad with pistachio dressing printed and ready to go) – these cookies would be the icing on the cake! 🙂

    What a lame pun, I know. 🙂

  9. these look wonderful! thank you for posting them, and for the link to the challenge.

    -steph

  10. Anna Pemberton says:

    Linda

    I am on strict diets too and am so glad to see your pie crust recipe. You still don’t have any cake recipes for me and my friend told me there is one with dates and maple syrup and spelt flour that really works.

    I make fabulous muffins very easily

    1 cup spelt flour

    1 cup brown rice flour

    1 cup ground almonds

    1 egg

    1/3 cup rice milk

    1/3 cup maple syrup

    cinnamon

    blueberries

    For people on blood type 0 diet and no sugar diet and gluten free, this is the best!

    love

    anna

  11. Gabi says:

    Those cookies are so beautiful when I saw them on the roundup at Naomi’s I wanted to reach through the screen and sample one right away. I’m glad to see your other GF recipes too. I don’t bake GF often but am leaning more that way as friends and relatives turn up needing it.

    I’m bookmarking you so I can come back and read more.

    Thanks!

    x x x

  12. Esther says:

    They sound lovely and I love pistachio so will definetly try them at some point.

  13. You may have seen the pistachio cookies I posted about a a few weeks ago. They were my entry to the brand new food blogging event Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten free! Yes, another food blogging event that concerns baking but you can never bake too much,

  14. linda says:

    Thanks so much for the recipe Anna! The recipe would be great for a no-sugar diet but because of the spelt flour it does have gluten inside which makes it unsuitable for people on a gluten-free diet.

Leave a Reply

