Ginger and orange semolina pudding with blood orange sauce

Thought I’d try out another recipe with my new favorite combination of ginger and orange. Last time I combined blood orange with ginger syrup. This time I used fresh ginger as well as ginger syrup and orange zest as well as orange juice. I let some grated ginger and orange zest steep in a mixture of milk and cream for about 15 minutes. The idea was to let it steep, in practice it was boiling for 15 minutes because I had to attend to my youngest son who woke up crying. When I returned the mixture was nearly boiling over the pot and it had separated 😦 No way was I going to make it again so it was either using it or not making the pudding. So with the coffee buttercream from the Daring Bakers December Challenge in mind I thought that I would fix the problem. While thinking this I had to laugh because how do you save a milk and cream mixture that has separated? The best idea that came to mind was to vigourously whisk it. And to my surprise it actually worked! Ok, I must admit it didn’t return to its original state but it looked good enough. Had to strain the mixture anyway because of the orange zest and ginger so the remaining coagulated milk solids were strained as well. I filled it up till the amount I started with and continued making the pudding. I think that the combination of acidity of (I think) mainly the ginger and the heat during a long time made the proteins coagulate. But I’m not a chemist so I don’t know for sure. Well the important thing was that I saved it and didn’t have to make it again πŸ˜‰

The dish is actually a twist on a Dutch classic that I made for Sugar High Friday. In Dutch it’s called Griesmeelpudding met bessensapsaus…try saying that without twisting your tongue he he! What it is is semolina pudding with red currant sauce.

Ok, about the taste…I already blogged about the combination of ginger and orange and how the two tastes are so good together. Now that I made this dish I’ve come to the conclusion that besides being very good together somehow the two tastes seem to merge. It is very difficult to tell where one taste starts and the other ends.

I made my blood orange sauce a little tangier by adding some lemon juice. And to sweeten it a little I added stem ginger syrup. In retrospect I’m not sure if I would make it the same way again. Maybe it would have been slightly better if I wouldn’t have used both ginger and orange in both pudding and sauce. If I would make it another time I’d try making a ginger semolina pudding (with fresh ginger and ginger syrup) and a blood orange sauce (with some added orange zest for extra taste). Maybe that way the two tastes don’t merge as much.

The servings are quiet small but that’s just my personal preference. Because I don’t own small pudding moulds I used a non-stick muffin pan to make the puddings. This worked very well except for one small detail…getting them out. It took me forever to figure out a way to get them out without destroying them. I knew that the trick is to get some air to the bottom of the cup in order for the pudding to go out. So in the beginning I tried pulling the pudding away from the sides but this wasn’t enough to get air to the bottom. After trying this for a while I thought I’d stick a knife up till the bottom and wiggle it a little bit to get air to the bottom. This method worked, unfortunately it worked only once.

In the end I massaged the puddings out. What you do is you turn the muffin pan upside down and massage each pudding in a circular motion until you feel it coming out. Just let it slide onto your hand and place it on a soup plate (the pudding is stiff enough to do this without damaging it). Make sure the plate is a tiny bit wet, that way you can slide the pudding to the middle of the plate without it sticking.

As you can see on the little black logo my blog received an award! The very sweet and talented Ovenhaven from Epicurean Escapism gave me the E for Excellent award. Thanks so much for that, you made me very happy πŸ™‚

These are the blogs I think need an E for Excellent award:

Jen of use real butter

Helen of Tartelette

Susan of Food Blogga (not the first she receives it but still I want her to have it again)

Ginger and orange semolina pudding

serves 6

400 ml (1 Ò…” cup) milk

100 ml (3 Γ’β€¦β€œ fl oz) whipping cream

1 tbs grated fresh ginger

1 tbs (blood) orange zest

50 g (1 ¾ oz) semolina

40 g (1 Γ’β€¦β€œ oz) sugar + extra

6 cut out blood orange segments

Heat the milk, cream, ginger and orange zest until nearly boiling. Turn off the heat and let it steep for 15 minutes. Strain the milk and cream mixture and fill it up with milk until you have 500 ml in total.

Mix the semolina and sugar. Add the mixture to the hot milk whilst stirring. Bring to a boil and allow to cook. Cook and stir for 3-5 minutes. Rinse a non-stick muffin pan with cold water and pour the mixture in 6 of the cups. Sprinkle with sugar to prevent the forming of a crust. Allow to cool to room temperature. Chill in the fridge for a few hours.

Unmold each pudding by turning the pan upside down and massaging it in a circular motion. Let the pudding slide onto your hand and place it on a slighty wet soup plate. Correct the position if necessary. Place an orange segment on top. Pour blood orange sauce around it.

Blood orange sauce

225 ml (1 cup) blood orange juice

25 ml (1 tbs + 2 ts) lemon juice

1 tbs ginger syrup

5-10 g (¼ oz) potato starch

Bring the blood orange juice, lemon juice and ginger syrup to a boil. Mix the potato starch with a little bit of water until lump free.

Add the potato starch water mix to the juice whilst stirring. Allow to cook for 1 minute. Allow the sauce to cool down completely, stirring occasionally.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ginger and orange semolina pudding with blood orange sauce

  1. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Thats a beautiful dessrt. I can taste summer .

  2. Madeline says:

    Wow, that looks absolutely incredible! What an amazing job you did. It looks too good to eat! (But I would πŸ˜‰

  3. brilynn says:

    I love the combo of citrus and ginger, be it sweet or savoury. This looks gorgeous!

  4. Cindy says:

    I never tried blood orange before,

    Wondering if it’s really sweet, or has a certain tanginess.

  5. Mansi says:

    wow, this looks heavenly!

  6. dhanggit says:

    congratulations for this excellence award!! this semolina pudding looks sublime…love the contrast of white in the bloody red orange sauce πŸ™‚ looks really delicious

  7. I bought a bag of semolina a while ago and haven’t used it yet, Linda… πŸ™‚

    This looks delicious!

  8. linda says:

    Courtney – Thanks πŸ™‚

    Madeline – I did eat it πŸ˜‰

    Brilynn – It’s my new favourite

    Cindy – they are supposed to be sweeter than regular oranges but it also depends on the variety. Wikipedia has some info about them

    Mansi – Thanks πŸ™‚

    Dhanggit – you make it sound a bit scary with the ‘bloody red orange sauce’ πŸ˜‰

    Patricia – well what are you waiting for, go make some semolina pudding!

  9. Tartelette says:

    Congratulations for the award! You deserve it! Thank you for blessing me with it πŸ™‚ We were on the same wave length as I made something with blood oranges too! The puddig looks wonderfully light and fresh!

  10. Thanks for stopping by my blog and the lovely comments. I’m so happy to have found your blog. You use such great flavor combinations.

  11. Elle says:

    That is stunning! Just gorgeous.

  12. mari says:

    I’d never had semonlina pudding until I came to the NL, and I’ve never actually made it myself, only picked it up at my favorite neighborhood traiteur. It took me forever to figure out what it was, because for the longest I thought it was some small-grained sort of tapioca…hee-hee. Your pudding looks absolutely beautiful, what a wonderful image.

Leave a Reply

