Master Baker – Fryske sûkerbôle (Frisian sugar bread)

My Adopt-a-Blogger adoptee Nikki of Crazy Delicious has launched her very own food blogging event called Master Baker. Each month she decides on an ingredient and you can join the event by baking something with this ingredient. The ingredient in the very first edition of Master Baker is cinnamon. To enter Nikki’s event I tried recreating a traditional Frisian sugar bread called Fryske sûkerbôle in Frisian or Fries suikerbrood in Dutch. It’s a delicious bread with cinnamon and sugar cubes. The idea is to allow the cubes to liquidify in the bread, it’s best to wait a few days to allow this to happen. That way you have specks of wet, very sweet bread….my favourite parts in the bread 🙂

Maybe you noticed that I wrote that I tried to recreate this bread. Taste wise it turned out very well but the crumb was less moist and smaller than the ‘real’ thing. So I have to experiment a little more to really recreate it. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to do this before Nikki’s deadline.

Also the upper part of the crust turned sort of dark brown/blackish 10 minutes before the end of the baking time. My guess is that the fact the recipe told me to sprinkle the crust with sugar before baking was the problem. Next time I’d skip that step.

The sugar cubes mentioned in the recipe are not crushed but I crushed half of them. Would crush all of them next time because the bread had very big holes because of the cubes. Adjusted the recipe below with these two things btw.

Even though it wasn’t an exact copy it does taste delicious! It’s best eaten with a generous spread of butter…real butter that is 🙂

Frisian sugar bread (adapted from this site)

7 g (¼ oz) dry yeast

325 ml milk, tepid

500 g (17 ½ oz) flour

1 ts salt

2 ts cinnamon

30 g (1 oz) butter, melted

150 g (5 ¼ oz) sugar cubes, coarsely crushed

Dissolve the yeast in the milk. Meanwhile mix together flour, salt and cinnamon. Add the melted butter and milk to the flour mixture and mix until combined. Knead the dough for 10-15 minutes until smooth and elastic.

Put the dough in a mixing bowl and cover with plastic wrap or a wet kitchen towel. Let the dough double in volume in about 1-2 hours.

Knead the dough briefly on a lightly floured surface and roll into a square of about 25 cm x 40 cm (10 in x 16 in). Scatter the crushed sugar cubes onto the dough. Press the sugar in the dough. Fold in the dough in three. Press the dough. Roll it up tightly and put it seam down in a buttered bread pan. Cover loosely with plastic wrap. Allow the dough to rise ½ hour or until doubled. Preheat the oven to 220°C (430°F). Bake the bread for 30-40 minutes. Brush with water just after taking it out of the oven. Take the bread out of the pan and allow to cool on a wire rack.

This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Master Baker – Fryske sûkerbôle (Frisian sugar bread)

  1. Evelin says:

    Sounds very delicious! Imagine it having nuts in it too. Yum!

  2. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Oh how yummy and interesting!I have never heard of this bread.

  3. cakebrain says:

    everything tastes better slathered with butter! the bread looks carby-delicious!

  4. Nikki says:

    Oh yum. Like cakebrain said, it looks carby-delicious. There’s really no better way to put it!

  5. Sarah says:

    This sounds (& looks!) like a really delicious bread, and it’s unlike any that I’ve tried to make before. I find myself really wanting to know exactly what it tastes like…though I’m sure it tastes yummy!

  6. Even though you are saying your bread was not like the one you tried to recreate, it looks beautiful and I’m in for anything cinnamon, Linda!

  7. Dead Cat says:

    The holes you mention are supposed to be there, as is the dark brown crust on top. Looking at your pictures the area’s around the holes look most like the authentic bread.

    The side crusts are often soft and sticky with sugar, so I guess they are not coated until the last part of baking it. Never made one myself though, so I don’t know exactly how it’s made.

  8. linda says:

    Evelin – hazelnuts or walnuts would be very tasty I think

    Courtney – I don’t think it’s very well known outside the Netherlands

    Cakebrain – butter rules!

    Nikki – Carbs equal good in my book 😉

    Sarah – it’s yummy and the cinnamon tastes different than in cookies…

    Patricia – I was happy that it tasted good, will try a different recipe in the future

    Dead cat – You’re right that there are supposed to be holes but these ones were too big. Also the dark brown crust was too dark brown. It doesn’t show in the picture because I tried avoid getting that in the picture 😉

  9. Bev says:

    this looks yummy!! Bet it smells soo good when baking!

  10. Deborah says:

    This sounds tasty! I’m a cinnamon fan, and would love to have a slice covered in butter!

  11. mari says:

    Just wanted to let you know, that it’s nice to find another blogger here in the NL. I’ve added you to my blog roll. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

