Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free – Announcing the new theme!

You may have seen the pistachio cookies I posted about a a few weeks ago. They were my entry to the brand new food blogging event Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten free! Yes, another food blogging event that concerns baking but you can never bake too much, right? Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten Free is an event from Naomi of Straight into bed Cakefree and Dried and as the name suggest it’s all about the gluten-free side of life. And this second edition it’s my turn to host the party ๐Ÿ™‚

It can be challenging to cope with gluten free life, especially when children are concerned. No one likes being the odd one out. So with that in mind I decided on this month theme: Birthday Baking for Kids.

So I’m inviting you to step outside of your comfort zone, start thinking gluten-free and make a delicious birthday treat, post it on your blog and send me an email. You have from now until March 24th to do so. For some gluten-free inspiration check out the links below:

Bea at La tartine gourmande blogs quite a lot about gluten-free baking these days,

Carol at Simply…Gluten Free is a gluten-free blog that focusses on naturally gluten-free foods,

Emilia at A Gluten-Free Day makes very beautiful gluten-free desserts (and more),

Shauna at Gluten Free Girl, who went from gluten-free blogger to gluten-free cookbook writer,

Naomi at Straight into Bed Cakefree and Dried, besides doing a lot of creative freestyle gluten-free baking also doesn’t use refined sugar in her baking,

And here you can find my gluten-free recipes (including non-baked btw). In the picture below are mini pistachio maple syrup cakes.

To participate, make and post a gluten-free birthday treat between now and March 24th with a link to this post.

There are only two rules:

1. the recipe must be gluten-free (so no wheat, spelt, Kamut, barley, rye, oats and triticale)

2. (part of) your entry must be baked

Send me your entry at linda AT kovacevic DOT nl with ‘Gluten Free‘ in the subject line with the following information:

– your name

– your blog’s name

– your blog’s URL

– name of the dish

– URL of the post

– a picture of your dish (max. dimension 150 pixels)

I will do a round-up on the 27th of March, looking forward to your entries!

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free – Announcing the new theme!

  1. naomi devlin says:

    Great stuff! Looking forward to it.

    x x x

  2. bookbabie says:

    Wow, I think I just gained five pounds looking at your blog, lots of yummy recipes!

  3. Oh boy I am going to have to put on my thinking cap. I’d like to come up with something for a kids birthday party. Hmmm…anyway thanks for hosting this event.

  4. linda says:

    Naomi – me too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Bookbabie – thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    Simply…Gluten-free – can’t wait to see what you come up with…

  5. Sheltie Girl says:

    Linda – This sounds wonderful! I’m happy to participate in the challenge this month. My daughter’s birthday is in March and I’ve been planning for a few weeks.

    Thanks for hosting this month’s challenge!

    Sheltie Girl @ Gluten A Go Go

  6. Johanna says:

    I am interested in coming to the party but I wanted to check if you are ok with savoury baking! I have enjoyed some experimenting with sweet baking but my main audience is my little GF niece who never eats the sweet stuff I bake and so if I was to make her party food then savoury would be what I would do!

  7. linda says:

    Johanna – savoury baking is just as welcome as sweet…looking forward to your entry…

  8. Aran says:

    Fantastic! I have also been baking gluten free lately. I posted some almond and grapefruit cakes last week, chocolate chip cookies last month… it gives me anotehr reason to do it!

  9. Here is my own entry to Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free! You still have one week to enter with your gluten free birthday treat for kids. So be creative and step out of your comfort zone and bake something gluten free….it isn’t difficult at all. If

  10. A quick reminder that the deadline for Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten Free! is coming Monday 24rd of March. So there is still some time to enter your gluten-free baked children’s birthday treat!

    The truffles above are not eligible for the event but they

  11. naomi devlin says:

    Linda,

    I’m going to have to sneak my post in late as I haven’t had time over Easter, what with the giving up carbohydrates etc and the being unwell and trying to work out how you can bake something that children would even look towards, let alone eat without any kind of flour at all and no sugar.

    Hmmm. Well It’s my birthday tomorrow and I’m going to make myself an all natural pink ice-cream cake. I know it’s not baked, but I hope you’ll allow it to come to the party?

    Otherwise I guess I could bake some carrots in fancy shapes and try to entice children to eat them?…..

    x x x

  12. I’m proud to present to you the round-up of the entries for this edition of Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten Free! An event created by the lovely Naomi of Straight into Bed Cakefree and Dried. This month’s theme was birthday baking for kids…gluten-free b

Leave a Reply

