Goat butter boterkoek

If you know a little bit about Dutch cookies you should be familiar with boterkoek. Boterkoek a type of cookie that is baked in a pan and cut into wedges after baking. In that it’s similar to shortbread. The big difference is that boterkoek is not crunchy or crumbly at all but chewy and dense.

I think the reason why it’s so dense and chewy is because it is underbaked and doesn’t contain baking soda or baking powder. The amount of butter is high but there are other cookie recipes that have that amount of butter but that are not chewy the way this cookie is. As you might have guessed it tastes very buttery. And since I’m addicted to butter I love me a wedge of boterkoek 😉

I made this one with goat butter instead of regular butter, an idea I picked up in Jonah Freud’s book ‘Koekje’. I didn’t use his recipe though but used one from the Dutch standard cookbook Het Nieuwe Haagse Kookboek.

It wasn’t the first time I used goat’s diary in (sweet) baking but it was the first time I used goat butter. The texture of goat butter is different than that of cow butter. The only comparison that came to mind was the fat you’d find on gravy made with butter after it cools down and the fat becomes solid again but than not as soft….hope this makes sense to you. Maybe the difference in texture had to do with the fact that I used organic goat butter and it was produced the old fashioned way? Or maybe goat milk fat just looks and feels different from cow’s.

Also goat butter is much whiter than cow butter but maybe that’s a Dutch thing because here cow butter contains a natural food colouring to give the illusion that cows have been grazing fresh green grass all year round. I remember that the butter I bought in Tel Aviv was much whiter (but not as white as the goat’s butter though).

The goat butter gives the cookie a slight goat-y taste, a taste I liked a lot. But even though I liked this cookie a lot, I still prefer the traditional with cow butter. I think that’s just because it is such a well known and familiar taste. The chewiness of the cookie was less than the ones I had with cow butter. Maybe due to the different texture of the goat butter.

Oh, and in case you are a Dutch cookie connaisseur and you’re wondering were the diamand shaped pattern is…. I did make it before baking but it disappeared during baking, I’m blaming this on the goat butter too 😉

Goat butter boterkoek (adapted from Het Nieuwe Haagse Kookboek by F.M. Stoll and W.H. de Groot)

serves 10

200 g (7 oz) flour

175 g (6 ¼ oz) goat butter

150 g (5 ¼ oz) caster sugar

½ small egg

¼ ts salt

other ½ egg for brushing

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F). Butter a 20 cm (8 in) springform or tart pan. Put everything except the ½ egg for brushing in a bowl. Cut the butter into the the rest of the ingredients. Knead briefly to get a smooth dough. Press the dough into the pan. Make a shallow diamand shaped pattern into the dough.

Bake for 25-30 minutes. Half way through the baking time brush the egg on top leaving the rims unbrushed. Allow to cool in the pan.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Goat butter boterkoek

  1. courtney says:

    I have been curious about goat milks< and butter. Interesting. I know how to buy some and experiment.

  2. Deborah says:

    I don’t know anything about Dutch cookies, so this is new to me! Sounds tasty!

  3. Anzj says:

    I also tried my hands at baking a goat’s butter cake in the past (http://mangerie.blogspot.com/2007/07/geitenboterkoek.html)

    and the diamond shaped pattern also disappeared on my ‘cookie’, but that’s because I dropped it hot out of the oven…

  4. linda says:

    Courtney – always fun to try out new ingredients

    Zor – you noticed 😉

    Deborah – it really is tasty

    Anzj – ha, ha! Your post was very funny. Don’t think you found it funny though at the time 😉

    Tata – tatina cer 😉

  5. mari says:

    hiya, just wanted to let you know that i’ve tagged you for meme…

    http://www.mevrouwcupcake.com/blog/2008/3/12/mevrouw-cupcake-goes-meme.html

  6. Emilia says:

    I had no idea there was something like goat butter out there. It looks very good and very buttery,the photo is great once again.

  7. Hannah says:

    Wow, sounds incredible and rich! I’ve never had anything like this, but now I’m tempted to try veganizing it…

  8. jessy says:

    Wow that looks great!

  9. Annina says:

    hey!

    I really love your blog! Just that you know.. I added your link to my food-blog! Hope that’s ok!!

    greetings – ann

    (www.anninasfood.blogspot.com)

  10. Stella says:

    Hi!

    that looks really delicious. I wish I could have tasted goat butter!

  11. i’ve never tasted goat butter, i wonder where i could find it around here. this cookie looks wonderfully chewy and delicious.

  12. Your boterkoek looks absolutely delicious! I saw some goat butter at the market not too long ago, and I couldn’t resist buying some. I love the slight tang and beautiful whiteness of it. I will definitely have to get more and make this recipe!

  13. Aran says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog today and the nice comment. I have to say this cake looks amazing with the goat’s milk. I will definitely add it to my favorites!

  14. Tartelette says:

    My favorite butter for spreading on morning toast is goat butter, love it! Now if you combine it with a cookie…that makes for one awesome breakfast!!

  15. Well pretty much the moment I posted my last entry the weather turned 😦 The temperatures have dropped about 10°C and it’s cold and windy. Luckily there is still some sun here and there so I’m not complaining. Both sons have been under the weather for

Leave a Reply

