Octopus cookies

Here is my own entry to Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free! You still have one week to enter with your gluten free birthday treat for kids. So be creative and step out of your comfort zone and bake something gluten free….it isn’t difficult at all. If you need some inspiration, check out this post.

Instead of baking something that is naturally gluten free like macaroons or meringue I thought I’d step out of my comfort zone and try one of the gluten free flour mix that are out there. I bought an organic gluten-free flour mix that consisted of wholemeal rice flour, corn flour, millet flour, buckwheat flour and carob gum. The recipe I used was one that used wheat flour, I just used the gluten free flour mix instead. Didn’t make the recipe before so I don’t know if the workability was affected by the flour or not. The chilled dough was ok to work with but warmed up very quickly when I made the required log form. But despite this I was able to shape the octopusses without too much trouble.

I was very curious how the cookies would bake because I still remembered the way my experiment with rice flour went a couple of years ago, but I should add that those cookies didn’t contain any sugar either.

I was sure the taste would be alright with the ingredients used. But my expectations for texture were not too high because I just didn’t know what to expect from a gluten free flour mix. But I must say that they had a good texture, the arms were crunchy and the body was softer. Not bad at all! The only downside was they were a little bit gritty. Something that could probably be avoided by using a different flour mix.

If it wasn’t for this month’s theme I would have made something that was naturally gluten-free. As a gluten eater this seems like the easier option. But I wanted to make something that was fun for kids and thought this cookie would be perfect. A great birthday treat for school.

I used nonpareils for eyes but I’m not sure if they are gluten free, if not you can always opt to bake the cookies without them and use some melted white chocolate to make eyes after the cookies have cooled down.

Chocolate octopus cookies (recipe adapted from this one)

makes 10 big cookies

125 g (4 ½ oz) butter, diced and at room temperature

125 g (4 ½ oz) soft brown sugar

1 medium egg

3 tbs cocoa powder

175 g (6 ¼ oz) gluten-free flour mix

(20 nonpareils (sugar balls / sprinkles))

Cream the butter and sugar. Add the egg and mix until combined. Add the flour a spoonful at a time and mix until combined. Divide the dough in 10 balls and cover with plastic wrap. Allow to chill for 30 minutes. Line 2 baking sheets with baking paper. Preheat the oven to 160°C (320°F)

Take one ball at a time from the fridge. Shape it into a log of about 10 cm (4 in) long. Flatten the log with a spatula until about 1 cm (â…“ in) thick. Make 4 or 5 slits into the bottom half of the log to make the arms. Shape the arms. Press two sugar balls to create eyes. Transfer the octopus to the baking sheet. Repeat with the remaining dough balls.

Bake the cookies for 20 minutes. Allow to cool for 10 minutes on the baking sheet. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Octopus cookies

  1. Astrid says:

    These cookies look original, adorable and tasty. What a great combination of attributes, all that and gluten-free!

  2. Rosa says:

    They look extremely cute!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Linda, you made the most beautiful cookies! These are lovely!

  4. diva says:

    these are the cutest cookies ever!!!

  5. Those are so adorable 🙂 Simply cute.

  6. nikki says:

    So cute! I need to get my gluten free supplies this week so I can make something up for the event. Definitely not in my comfort zone

  7. Mansi says:

    These look so cute, even for an octopus:) hehee…but can i get GF flour in any grocery store?

  8. Those are absolutely the cutest cookies I’ve seen in a long time! And I love that you used an alternative flour! They look really great!

  9. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Really Precious!

  10. Chuck says:

    What a great idea for a kids party. Perfect just perfect. Well done!

  11. linda says:

    Thanks you all 🙂

    Mansi – you’ll probably find it in the special diet or health isle in your supermarket. I bought mine at a health store with organic products but that was very expensive!

  12. mari says:

    So cute, and creative!

  13. MariannaF says:

    These are so cool! I love the legs/arms (whatever they are called) swirly shapes!!

  14. Christine says:

    These are so cute! You just gave me a perfect recipe for my daughter’s school. Every week is a new letter and this will be perfect for “O” week! Thanks!!

  15. Aran says:

    Linda, these are so adorable!!!

  16. jessy says:

    Omg those are so cute!

  17. Stef says:

    I love these! I don’t know how kids or anyone could resist them!

  18. Kate says:

    So cute! Can I substitute normal flour for the gluten-free flour, or should I use another recipe?

  19. linda says:

    Kate – you can just use regular flour. The original recipe is with regular flour, I just used GF.

  20. Lien says:

    How lovely! Very nice!

  21. ovenhaven says:

    They are so cute, sweetie 🙂 I actually thought they were cutouts, which would mean that you have a totally adorable cookie cutter! But then I found out that you shaped them yourself, and I must say you did a great job! They remind me of Pirates of the Caribbean. Haha 😛

  22. Sheltie Girl says:

    This are too cute. My children will love this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

    Sheltie Girl @ Gluten A Go Go

  23. Miri says:

    Linda, these are the most adorable cookies I’ve seen in a long time! They look great!

  24. Deborah says:

    These are too cute! I thought for sure that you used a cookie cutter, so I’m even more impressed that you didn’t!

  25. Stella says:

    So cute! I bet if I make them for the kids in my class, they’d love me even more haha:)

  26. Rhiannon says:

    These are amazingly cute!

  27. I’m proud to present to you the round-up of the entries for this edition of Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten Free! An event created by the lovely Naomi of Straight into Bed Cakefree and Dried. This month’s theme was birthday baking for kids…gluten-free b

  28. I made my first time ever savoury cookies for the finger food theme of this month’s Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten Free! hosted by Sheltie Girl of Gluten A Go Go. I had quite a lot of gluten-free flour left over from last month when I made chocolate octo

  29. Y says:

    Those are so gorgeous. I can really see kids going for cookies like that.

  30. Heather says:

    These are really cute. I love octopus theme. That is really creative 🙂

Leave a Reply

