One Perfect Ingredient – Hazelnut cookies

Maninas of Maninas: Food Matters is organising a competition that is focussed on our favourite ingredients. And 5 lucky winners can win a cookbook called One Perfect Ingredient by Marcus Wareing. And who doesn’t want to win a cookbook that is written by a Michelin star chef?

I have many favourite ingredients but decided on hazelnuts because that is one of my new favourite ingredients. I’ve only recently started really appreciating the wonderful taste of hazelnuts (though I have been eating Nutella for many years πŸ˜‰

To get the most out of the hazelnut taste I made the most basic cookie, no other flavorings than pure hazelnut. The cookies may look somewhat boring but let me tell you that they are delicious in their simplicity. I kept them plain for this competition but I’ve fantasized about dipping them in chocolate, and spreading them with ganache and dulce de leche πŸ™‚ I still have plenty left so I might just do that he, he!

Hazelnut cookies

makes about 50 small cookies

250 g (8 ¾ oz) flour, sifted

50 g (1 ¾ oz) hazelnut, toasted, skinned and ground

125 g (4 ½ oz) butter, room temperature

115 g (4 oz) caster sugar

1 egg

Mix the flour and ground hazelnuts.

Cream the butter with the sugar. Add the egg and mix until incorporated. Mix in the flour and hazelnut mixture.

Chill for about 30 minutes or until firm enough to roll out.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F).

Grease 2 baking sheets or line with baking paper

Roll out the dough between 2 sheets of baking paper until 4 mm (Ò…› in). Chill the dough between the baking paper for 30 minutes.

Cut out disks with a cookie cutter. Transfer to the baking sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges just start to colour.

Allow to cool on the baking sheets for 2 minutes. Transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to One Perfect Ingredient – Hazelnut cookies

  1. Beautiful entry! Thanks for taking part.

    And you’re right, hazelnuts are an amazing ingredient!

  2. Karolina says:

    These look absolutely wonderful!!! Hazelnuts are my favorite nuts, so I’m definitely going to give them a try πŸ™‚

  3. Deeba says:

    These are absolutely outstanding & not ‘boring’ at all…in their simlicity & eauty. Par excellence. Stunning pictures too.

  4. Holly says:

    Those cookies look great! I haven’t used hazelnuts much, but I am pretty sure that is going to have to change. I’ve sent an award your way. Go see it at http://artyoucaneat.blogspot.com/2008/04/thanks-joy-this-blog-is-excellent.html

  5. ovenhaven says:

    Beautiful cookies! While I adore the simplicity of it all, I can’t help but fantasise them sandwiching Nutella ganache of sorts…. *drools*

  6. Kate says:

    These are not boring at all. In fact, I think you’ve focused on the theme of “one perfect ingredient” perfectly. Spot on, beautiful cookies.

  7. Rosa says:

    Wonderful! Yes, hazelnuts is the perfect ingredients in order to make deliciously fragrant cookies! They are beautiful and very tempting!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  8. Aran says:

    Linda! These look sooo gorgeous. Beautiful photos.

    I passed an award to you at my blog. Read more at the end of this post. http://cannelle-vanille.blogspot.com/2008/04/matcha-lemon-and-chocolate-opera-cake.html

    You deserve it!

  9. Linda, these cookies are beautiful – I love anything with hazelnuts.

    I thought of sandwiching them together with Nutella, too… πŸ™‚

  10. Stella says:

    I love your shots Linda. These cookies look astounding, we could spread some Nutella on them to add more Hazulnuts & Hazelnuts!

  11. Deborah says:

    Sometimes simple is the best way to go! These sound wonderful.

  12. Sarah says:

    Ooooh, I’ve been seeing so many hazelnut recipes lately! I even bought a bag of them to get started, but have yet to begin! These look perfect. I hope to try them soon.

  13. jessy says:

    Pretty cookies! I love the flavor of hazelnuts, these cookies had to be great!

  14. Tartelette says:

    You are so right, hazelnuts are among those perfect ingredients! The cookies are too tempting….I am thinking about sandwiches then with Nutella!!

  15. linda says:

    Maninas – my pleasure πŸ™‚

    Karolina – try them some time

    Deeba – thanks πŸ™‚

    Holly – thanks so much!

    Ovenhaven – Nutella ganache, even better!

    Kate & Rosa – thanks πŸ™‚

    Aran – wow, thanks, the second in one day!

    Patricia & Stella – mmmmm, Nutella!

    Deborah – thanks πŸ™‚

    Sarah – you should try them, they are so delicious in baking

    Jessy – thanks πŸ™‚

    Tartelette – Nutella is best πŸ˜‰

  16. dhanggit says:

    oh i love this!! i’ll spread over nutella on it!! yummy

  17. I don’t know why I don’t bake with hazelnuts more often. Your photos are certainly enticing me though.

  18. Cabriola says:

    I’ve just discovered your blog and I think It’s grrrrreat !! thanks for this lovely recipes !!

    ( I also love archaeology πŸ˜‰ )

    Greetings from Spain

  19. Guess what? CONGRATULATIONS! You’ve won the cookbook! πŸ˜€ Check out my blog for the round up and more details!

  20. Farhan says:

    LInda these look so symmetrical they look too good to eat!

    I love my cookies sandwiched with NUTELLA. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

