Lemon and coconut rice pudding layered with pineapple and banana

Barbara of winosandfoodies is supporting LIVESTRONG Day 2008 by hosting A Taste of Yellow. LIVESTRONG Day is the Lance Armstrong Foundation’s one-day initiative to raise awareness and funds for the cancer fight. And this year it will occur on Tuesday, May 13.

To enter Barbara’s A Taste of Yellow recipes must contain an element of yellow food.

This dessert was mainly made with ingredients that I had to use up and as one of them was pineapple it was eligible for A Taste of Yellow. I rarely make rice pudding but sometimes I come across a tasty version on a blog I keep thinking to myself that I have to make it more often. I even bought some short-grain rice for that purpose. It had been sitting in my pantry for quite a while before I finally made this lemon and coconut rice pudding. I only had 150 ml (Ò…” cup) of coconut milk which turn out not being enough to give it a coconut-y taste, so after cooking the pudding I added some creamed coconut. You don’t have to use both though. I would think that doubling the amount of coconut milk and leaving out the creamed coconut would get you the same result more or less. Or vice versa: doubling the creamed coconut and leaving out the coconut milk but than you’d have to use more milk.

I used fresh pineapple but was silly enough not to remember that (uncooked) fresh pineapple and diary do not combine well. There is this enzyme that makes it taste bitter. Totally forgot about that. It wasn’t that bitter luckily but I would recommend either cooking fresh pineapple or simply using canned pineapple.

The pudding by itself is delicious as well and even better with some chopped banana. But I didn’t think rice pudding with chopped banana was photogenic enough so I layered it with some pineapple puree πŸ™‚

Lemon and coconut rice pudding layered with pineapple and banana

serves 6

1 lemon, slice off yellow part of the peel

850 ml (3 Ò…” cup) milk

150 ml (Ò…” cup) coconut milk

100 g (3 ½) round rice

60 g (2 oz) sugar

25 g (1 oz) creamed coconut

375 ml (1 ½ cup) pineapple puree (when using fresh pineapple make sure to cook it before layering otherwise the combination with diary will create a bitter taste, alternatively you could use canned pineapple)

3-4 banana’s, sliced

Bring the lemon together with the milk and coconut milk to a simmer. Allow the lemon to steep in the milk mixture for 20 minutes. Take out the pieces of lemon rind.

Add the rice while stirring. Allow to simmer for about 30 minutes, stir the mixture once in a while. Add the sugar and creamed coconut and stir until combined. Allow to cool down. Stir once in a while to prevent the forming of a skin.

Spoon a layer of rice pudding into a glass. Spoon about 2 tbs of pineapple puree onto the rice pudding. Add a layer of banana slices. Repeat with another series of layers.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Lemon and coconut rice pudding layered with pineapple and banana

  1. Aran says:

    Rice pudding is probably my old time favorite desserts (along with ice cream), so if you add bananas and pineapple to it for extra sweetness, I don’t think I could control myself… those little glasses wouldn’t cut it. I’d have to dive right into the bowl!

  2. Rosa says:

    A wonderful contribution! That layered rice pudding looks absolutely delicious! A great idea…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. WOW. I am very impressed with your creativity! This sounds amazing! I bet it would also be great with lime, instead of lemon!

  4. That looks delicious! I love coconut rice pudding. It looks so creamy. Makes me want to have mango and sticky rice for dessert tonight. Pineapple, coconut and banana – all the yummy flavors of tropical desserts.

  5. Sarah says:

    Ooooooh! I’ve been trying to make rice pudding all weekend! And by that I mean I have 1 batch that tastes weird, and one bowl of just rice that’s waiting for me to find the right recipe! Too bad I don’t have any coconut milk (or creamed coconut)! Looks lovely, and for a good cause.

  6. Chuck says:

    I haven’t had rice pudding in so long, thank you for posting this recipe. I think I will have to make it. Delicious!

  7. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    You scare me in that we used similar ingrediants this week. Same as with the last DB challenge.I love a good rice pudding, and all the more so with coconut, pineapple, and banana.Like a Pina Colada.

  8. Marichelle says:

    Yummm, that looks delicious!

  9. Yummm this sounds awesome. I like what you did with for the centerpiece.

  10. barbara says:

    I love rice pudding. This looks delicious wtih the pineapple and banana. Clever decoration with the banana.

    Thanks for supporting LiveSTRONG With A Taste Of Yellow.

  11. ovenhaven says:

    Beautiful presentation. I’m a fan of rice puddings, and like barbara, I must say that the banana slices add a brilliant touch!

  12. linda says:

    Aran – your rice pudding was one of the delicious ones I came across.

    Rosa – thanks πŸ™‚

    Maninas – maybe even better with lime!

    ShopLittleGifts – thanks πŸ™‚

    Sarah – good luck on getting ‘it right’

    Chuck – hope you try it.

    Courtney – great minds think alike πŸ˜‰

    Marichelle – thanks πŸ™‚

    Marc – thanks, wanted to give it some ‘volume’

    Barbara = thanks and you’re welcome πŸ™‚

    Ovenhaven – thanks πŸ™‚

  13. MariannaF says:

    wow, that must be a very tropical & fruity tasting rice pudding! I love the layered colours, it looks so appetizing!

  14. Stella says:

    This is great, I was looking for a dessert to make tomorrow! One of my friend’s fav is banana & his wife’s milky desserts. I think you’ve given me what I needed!

    Thanks!!!!!!

  15. Nina says:

    What a interesting twist on rice pudding…looks delicious.

  16. Deborah says:

    I didn’t know that uncooked fresh pineapple and dairy don’t go well together – I just learned something new! This is gorgeous – and I bet it tastes great!

  17. Linda, talk about putting my favorite flavors all together in one recipe! This is luscious!

  18. What a coincidence! I just made risotto pudding with coconut milk and griddled bananas this past wkend, but haven’t posted on it. It was delicious, but I’d love to add pineapple like you did. And your presentation is splendid!

  19. Ivonne says:

    Linda,

    I adore your banana garnish! I’m a huge fan of any type of rice pudding … well done!

  20. Linda that is so perfectly beautiful. Didn’t know the uncooked gave it bitterness, glad it didn’t overwhelm.

    Really I love the layering and rice pudding.

  21. Andrea says:

    It’s been a long time since I had rice pudding, but yours makes me want some right now! Beautiful photo.

  22. Reuben says:

    When I was reading your recipe, I was not able to wait for the time when I cook it, your delicious lemon and coconut rice pudding layered with pineapple and banana. Thank you very much. You are expected with your new things to cook.

  23. Dwight says:

    Lemon and coconut rice pudding layered with pineapple and banana is very tasty. I have cooked it several times and I will continue doing it again and again. Thanks for the recipe.

  24. Reuben says:

    Very nice recipe and very nice photos. I think it is a good desert for all the members of the family. You are right that the things which are made with rice are very soft and delicious.

Leave a Reply

