Cupcake with white chocolate ganache and marzipan flowers

When I think spring, I think flowers so it wasn’t difficult coming up with this cupcake to enter Spring Funny Cuppy that is hosted by La casserole carrée and Les gourmandises d’Isa.

Also today is my sister-in-law’s birthday so Happy Birthday S! She will be getting this little cupcake 🙂

I used a basic recipe for pound cake (creaming butter and sugar, adding eggs and finally flour) instead of using regular sugar I used palm sugar and instead of using regular flour I used spelt flour. I flavoured the cakes with ground ginger. Will be posting this particular recipe in the coming week. Decoration is – as usual – made of marzipan. The frosting is made of white chocolate ganache. The ratio was supposed to be 1 part whipping cream and 2 parts white chocolate but I sort of missed a chunk of chocolate so I ended up with a ratio of more like 1:1. I had to thoroughly chill the ganache to stick the marzipan in it. Hope I will be able to transport the cupcake to S. without the flowers falling…

This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Cupcake with white chocolate ganache and marzipan flowers

  1. Rosa says:

    OMG, they look fantastic! You are an artist!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. isabelle says:

    merci beaucoup de ta participation 🙂

  3. Emilia says:

    That’s lovely! You make such beautiful decorations, simple and beautiful, those flowers look like something from the 60s.

  4. Aran says:

    So, so adorable Linda!

  5. Linda, these are so beautiful! Delicate and pretty, just like you. 😉

  6. Sheltie Girl says:

    You did a wonderful job on your Springy Cuppy Event entry. The cupcakes are beautiful and they sound delicious.

    Natalie @ Gluten A Go Go

  7. Tarzile says:

    Very nice. It recalls me the Playmobil Victorian doll house flowers I gave to my daughter a few years ago. Very nice, again

  8. Just stopped by to let you know your precious cupcake photo made me smile :-).

  9. Hillary says:

    Those are adorable! Love the spring design – nice job.

  10. Katie B. says:

    Adorable!! I wish I had such skill!

  11. Madeline says:

    Well that’s about the prettiest cupcake I’ve ever seen!

  12. Stacy says:

    Oh my goodness that is almost unbearably cute.

  13. jd says:

    That cupcake is so amazingly adorable that I don’t even know what to say!

    Seriously – I don’t think I’ve ever seen a more beautiful treat! Thanks for giving me something to strive for re: my upcoming first attempt at using marzipan!

    How lovely 🙂

  14. Deborah says:

    What a gorgeous cupcake!

  15. Simply stunning! That is one of the prettiest cupcakes I have ever seen!

  16. Ginny says:

    Beautiful! What a gorgeous (and I’m sure delicious!) cupcake! 🙂

  17. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Outstanding. You need your own shop.

  18. linda says:

    Thanks everyone 🙂

    Tarzile – you’re right about the Playmobil. I remember the small flowers and they do resemble the marzipan ones.

    Lifeinrecipes – your comment made me smile 🙂

    Katie B. – I’m sure you can make this too, it’s just like playing with playdoh but better because you can eat it 😉

    JD – hope you try working with marzipan, it’s easy to work with

  19. Sarah says:

    This looks so pretty! I’m always amazed by your ability to decorate your baked goods. Mine are always so boring in comparison! 🙂

  20. I always thought that I knew what palm sugar was. Somehow I thought that Indonesian gula djawa is palm sugar but it turns out that it is actually a mixture of palm sugar and cane sugar. This new found knowledge made me curious about real palm sugar. I

  21. jasmine says:

    So very, very pretty…

    j

  22. (and it tasted great too I can tell you 🙂

  23. Saron says:

    It was very pretty, cute and lovely. And it was also very tastefull. I shared it with Nicky and Zoran supported by bubbly wine. Hehehe.

    Tenks for this great birthdaycake!

  24. Ida says:

    Oh my! What a lovely cupcake, I envy you. I never have the perseverance to make something that cute, it is always just plain looking stuff.

    You have a great blog!

  25. Dylon says:

    What a nice photo! It looks beautiful. I hope it is as delicious as it looks like in the picture. I see that you have found a new way for the decoration. I like that you use palm sugar and spelt flour, it is a good experience. Thank’s for recipe.

Leave a Reply

