Gluten-free goat cheese and sesame seed cookies

I made my first time ever savoury cookies for the finger food theme of this month’s Go Ahead Honey, it’s Gluten Free! hosted by Sheltie Girl of Gluten A Go Go. I had quite a lot of gluten-free flour left over from last month when I made chocolate octopus cookies so I wanted to use some of that. I paged through my baking books and found a savoury cookie recipe – wheat based – that I liked. I thought I’d just use gluten-free flour instead, worked last time. Unfortunately this time it didn’t. Instead of holding their shape, the cookies spread out a lot. They tasted wonderful but they were too delicate. When you picked one up, it would crumble between your fingers. Probably a lot of you gluten-free bakers experienced this at some point during experimenting with recipes. The problem probably was that the recipe didn’t contain any eggs to hold it together as there was no gluten to do that.

I couldn’t fit all the cut cookies on my two baking sheets so I still had some left in the fridge to experiment with. There were no more eggs in my fridge but there was a left over egg white. I added it to the dough and rekneaded it. As I expected a bit too wet but after adding 30 g (1 oz) of gluten-free flour (to the 240 g (8 ½) of dough that was left over) it felt like a good dough again. I chilled it, cut it into slices and baked it for 20 minutes. This time they held their shape beautifully. They tasted a bit less cheese-y which was to be expected and were not really crunchy. I baked them for another 25 minutes at 100°C (210°F), they were sort of crunchy on the outside and sort of soft on the inside. The end result were a good cookie but I think it could be better after some more experimenting. Unfortunately I didn’t have time to do that so if anybody does some more experimenting, let me know how it worked out. My next step would have been to use the basic recipe and just add an egg to it and if necessary a little flour.

The recipe below is my first adaptation of the original recipe that didn’t work with gluten-free flour. I had 240 g (8 ½ oz) dough left over to which I added 1 egg white, this did work.

Gluten-free goat cheese and sesame seed cookies (adapted from The Ultimate Cookie Book by Catherine Atkinson)

(this recipe didn’t work gluten-free, read above for explanation)

175 g (6 oz) gluten-free flour

150 g (5 oz / 10 tbs) butter, chilled and diced

150 g (5 oz) matured goat cheese, grated

½ ts coarsely ground black pepper

1-2 tbs cold water

50 g (2 oz) sesame seeds

Process the flour, butter, cheese and pepper in a food processor until it resembles fine crumbs. Add enough water to make a soft dough. Shape into a log. Spread out the sesame seeds over a sheet of baking paper. Roll the log in the seeds until it is covered with sesame seeds. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for at least 2 hours.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F). Cut the log into 5 mm (¼ in) slices and place them on a baking sheet lined with baking paper. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Transfer the cookies to a wire rack to cool.

This entry was posted in Cookies (savoury) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gluten-free goat cheese and sesame seed cookies

  1. abbas says:

    hi..interesting cookie name.. would u like to exchange links with me? i heard its very good for traffic.. also ive added ur link && i wouild appreciate the return of favor 🙂

    so if you have time and can add my link..i would realli appreciate. nice blog…i wan those cookies. they look not bad and i like trying new stuff

  2. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Oh these sound yummy for snacks at a party. Hope you are feeling better.

  3. Sheltie Girl says:

    Beautiful and so delicious looking…just the type of cracker to keep you nibbling.

    Thanks for participating in the April edition of Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free.

    Natalie @ Gluten a Go Go

  4. Nina says:

    This is a wonderfully new recipe for me. Love goat’s cheese and I adore cheese biscuits…..

  5. Rosa says:

    Interesting cookies! They look delicious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. arfi says:

    I’d love baking some gluten-free goodies for this event if my oven is working! Those biscuits look delicious!

  7. Aran says:

    LInda, these look so good!! Let me ask you, when you say gluten free flour is it rice flour or a blend you find in your market? Thank you for sharing!

  8. Your gluten free recipes are always so delicious, Linda. And I love savory cookies! YUM!

  9. Emilia says:

    Those sound delicious, great use of simple and flavorful ingredients.

    I’ll try these soon.

  10. Y says:

    I love goats cheese. Those biscuits look really good, but I think I would prefer my cheese biscuits to have a bit of crunch too.

Leave a Reply

