Red grape and fennel seed clafoutis

I started out making a clafoutis with raspberries and pistachio nuts that I flavoured with rosewater. I used the recipe from my Larousse and divided it by three. The dish I used was a little too big so the clafoutis was rather thin. Also the raspberries made it go soggy, but maybe that was because I used frozen (defrosted) ones. Despite the soggy-ness the clafoutis tasted good. There wasn’t really any rosewater taste, being afraid to add too much I added too little. The pistachio’s didn’t really add that much either. And did I mention it looked ugly? Well it looked ugly. And who want’s to put an ugly clafoutis on his blog 😉 So the next day I tried a clafoutis with different flavours. This time my inspiration was the schiacciata all’uva that I made last summer. I so loved the combination of grapes and fennel seeds (and I’m not even a big fennel seed fan), somehow these two tastes really belong together. I thought it would be excellent for this clafoutis. This time I used Donna’s recipe (also divided by three) and baked the clafoutis in a slightly smaller dish. The addition of grapes and fennel seeds were indeed excellent. The baked grapes even tastes a bit like cherries (the traditional fruit used in clafoutis). The great thing is that it’s such a quick and easy recipe too. An excellent dessert for a dinner party. Definitely a keeper!

This is my entry to Hay Hay it’s Donna Day that is hosted by Bron Marshall this month.

We’re off to Denmark today for a week to relax and visit friends. Can’t wait to go to the local bakery 🙂

Red grape and fennel seed clafoutis

makes 2 big or 4 small portions

150 g red grapes

45 g (â…“ cup) flour

75 g (â…“ cup) sugar

¼ ts fennel seeds, lightly bruised

â…“ cup whipping cream

1 egg

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F). Grease a ½ l (2 cup) capacity dish (I filled my dish to the top to measure).

Put the grapes in the dish.

Put the flour, sugar and fennel seeds in a mixing bowl. Add the whipping cream whilst stirring. Stir until smooth and combined. Add the egg and stir until combined. Pour the mixture into the dish.

Bake for 35-40 minutes or until golden.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Red grape and fennel seed clafoutis

  1. Sheltie Girl says:

    I had never been a big fan of fennel either until last year. It’s interesting how the first taste seems a little strong, but every bite after that seems to compliment and highlight other flavors. This is a beautiful and delicious looking clafoutis.

    Sheltie Girl @ Gluten A Go Go

  2. MariannaF says:

    Very nice!! You don’t see grapes that often in these kind of desserts, so this makes a very interesting recipe. Plus with fennel, it must be even more unique!

  3. What a luscious dessert, Linda. I would have never thought of using fennel seeds in a clafoutis!

  4. courtney says:

    Just wonderful as always. I ned to experiment with grapes. I saw someone use them on a Foccacia once. Safe travels.

  5. Felicia says:

    Looks delicious 🙂

  6. arfi says:

    nicely done, Linda!!

  7. Stella says:

    I love your Clafoutis, it’s so pretty with the red grapes! They perfectly replace cherries:)

  8. Bron says:

    Linda I’ve never made anything sweet with fennel seeds before, so your recipe has me very intrigued! It looks irresistible!!

    Thanks so much for your lovely entry!

  9. barbara says:

    What an interesting combination. I think I’ll have to try it.

  10. What a gorgeous clafoutis. All of your food photos are really beautiful!

  11. Emilia says:

    Oh, clafoutis, that looks so lovely and delicious. I’ve been dreaming of some cherry clafoutis almost non-stop for a while now.

    The use of fennel seeds is interesting.

  12. Sunshinemom says:

    Your cloufatis looks lovley! I tried a veganised version which did not work for me. I will try this one as it has less eggs to substitute:)

Leave a Reply

