Daring Bakers – Cheesecake pops

This month’s Daring Baker challenge is hosted by Deborah of Taste and Tell and Elle of Feeding My Enthusiasms. It wasn’t a difficult challenge this time but it was a fun one to make. I wanted to take the pops with me when I visited my best friend and her two daughters. Thought they would enjoy eating these pops (and this turned out to be the case ๐Ÿ™‚ Only I had been busy baking a lot of other stuff that I didn’t have them ready. I did make and chill the cheesecake part before I left though and just took everything that I thought I might need and finished them at her house. I kept the decoration simple and just sprinkled the pops with silver and pearl/golden non pareils. Good thing my friend has a garden so I could take outside pictures for a change.

Things I did differently:

– I halved the recipe

– I used orange oil instead of vanilla to flavour the cheesecake

– in addition to scooping cheesecake balls I also rolled them between my hands to make them rounder and smoother.

– instead of adding shortening to the melted chocolate I added sunflower oil

And now for the verdict: as much as I love cheesecake, I didn’t love these pops that much. I missed the crust. Also I don’t like chocolate with my cheesecake. My eldest son liked the chocolate but not the cheesecake but the two little girls loved the pops as did my friend and husband. The smallest one (nearly 2) even choose it over an ice cream cone ๐Ÿ™‚

Even though I didn’t like eating them that much I think it’s a cute and fun way to present cheesecake.

If you want to see how the hosts did, check them out here and here. You can find the recipe there too.

To see how creative all the other DB-ers are checked out the Daring Bakers blogroll.

Looking forward to checking out how the other DB-ers did when I come home from Denmark.

This entry was posted in Chocolates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Daring Bakers – Cheesecake pops

  1. Anzj says:

    Jij bent altijd zo creatief met je baksels! En wederom mooie fotoร‚ยดs!!

  2. Rosa says:

    They look really pretty and dainty! Very well done, as usual!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Dolores says:

    Ooh… I love the way you’ve chosen to photograph your pops. I’m concerned about the lack of crust too, so I’m thinking of rolling mine in graham crackers either before or after the chocolate…

  4. Hannah says:

    How cute, I particularly like the presentation. They just look so cheerful and sunny!

  5. Aran says:

    Gorgeous Linda!

  6. Deborah says:

    I’m sorry you didn’t love them, but they look wonderful! Thanks for participating!

  7. jasmine says:

    What creative photography–planting them in the garden is so perfect.

    j

  8. nek0 says:

    wow! stunning picture!!!

    It’s a different way of eating cheesecake, but I must confess that the crust is always my favourite part ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Greetings!

    nek0

  9. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    I love how you staged the pops. It has been a busy month for you with all sorts of great creations.

  10. Kim says:

    Cutest presentation I have seen. Just adorable.

  11. Sheltie Girl says:

    Your pops look fabulous. I love your picture with all the pops lined up with the dandelions. Simply beautiful.

    Natalie @ Gluten A Go Go

  12. Paula Hennig says:

    I love that you put them in the garden! I thought they looked like little flowers too! great job on your pops they are beautiful!!

  13. Tartelette says:

    A field of cheesecake pops! Precious! They look gorgeous!

  14. Christine says:

    Your pops are so pretty! I love the pics

  15. Love the picts and the pops.

  16. Katie B. says:

    Such sunny photos – cheesecake pops off-roading! Love it!

  17. JMom says:

    I love that way you photographed them among the dandelion flowers. Very pretty ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Lindsay says:

    Love, love, love the dandelions! Beautiful!

  19. ovenhaven says:

    I love your presentation of them amidst the dandelions. Really lovely ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Jerry says:

    Lovely! I halved the recipe too! Kinda regret it though!

  21. Stella says:

    These are the cutest, I love ’em all! And I love your presentation!

  22. Barbara says:

    Lovely pop garden you have there.

  23. JennyBakes says:

    Now, this is a garden I could probably do – if it involved baking!

  24. dhanggit says:

    this is soo pretty linda! im jealous of your DB challenge..i didnt had time to make mine;;

  25. What a whimsical presentation, Linda! I love the freshness and vibrancy of the colors!

    If you feel like playing along, I tagged you over on my blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

  26. jennifer says:

    These look great! I love the outdoor pictures too. I’ll have to try that!

  27. CheeseCake Pops in a field of dandelions! That is perfect and genius. I do think this is a most excellent way to serve cheese cake. I wanted to try some graham cracker crumbs for crust effect but didn’t get to it.

  28. Y says:

    That’s so cute. I like your how ‘planted’ your pops.

Leave a Reply

