Cantucci revisited

We survived our little vacation to Denmark πŸ˜‰ but not without fevers and toothaches though. But despite that we had a wonderful time. We pretty much stayed within a circle of 25 km from our rented holiday house. I visited a baker once and my conclusion was that Danes know how to bake πŸ˜‰ They use a lot of marzipan in their baking…yum! Sorry, no pictures, we ate them before I got the camera out πŸ˜‰

The picture above is me trying to be creative with cantucci πŸ˜‰ I blogged about these cantucci when I just started blogging. It’s actually the only biscotti recipe I’ve ever made. I like the combination of almonds and anise seeds so much that I’ve never dared change it. No fancy chocolate and hazelnut biscotti for me! The only two things I could maybe use instead of anise seeds would be candied orange peel or lemon zest.

These cantucci are more or less like cantuccini di Prato except that I make mine long and thin instead of short and thick. I’ve made this recipe on numerous occasions and they are always a big hit. Even got me a compliment from an Italian πŸ™‚

Cantucci

makes plenty

200 g (7 oz) flour

125 g (4 ½ oz) sugar

100 g (3 ½ oz) almonds

1 ts baking powder

2 ts anise seeds

2 eggs

Preheat the oven at 160ºC (325º F) Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl. Add the eggs and mix. Knead it through (if it is very sticky, add a little flour). Put the dough on a floured surface and shape into a log that is about 1 ½ -2 cm high and 12 cm broad.

Put on a buttered baking sheet or a baking sheet lined with baking paper. Bake for 35 minutes. Allow to cool completely.

Cut the log into ½ cm slices and place them on the baking sheet. Bake for another 15-20 minutes.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cantucci revisited

  1. courtney says:

    Is Star Anise similar to anise seed. I see the tiny seeds in the pods.I have a big bag and need ideas.This would be perfect to make.I want to go to Denmark.CS is about to close on his summer home in Sweden, so hoepefully one day I can branch out to other parts of Scandanavia. BTW I love nything made with Marzipan.

  2. Rosa says:

    I love Cantucci! With anise seeds they must taste wonderful! Very pretty…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. YUM, Linda! I love cookies of any kind.

    These look delicious, sweetie!

  4. linda says:

    Courtney – I think there are similarities but they are different though. You could try using them, but I’d ground the seeds up a bit because they are bigger than anise seeds.

    Sounds good the Swedish summer house!

    Rosa – if you like anise you should try them one time.

    Patricia – thanks πŸ™‚

  5. ovenhaven says:

    You sound like you had a great time in Denmark! Beautiful biscottis; a perfect photo as always πŸ™‚

  6. Aran says:

    I need a shot os espresso to go with that!

  7. Maninas says:

    bok linda! javili su mi iz dk da je marcusova knjiga poslana prosli tjedan. aj pliz javi mi kad ju dobijes.

    Lijep pozdrav,

    Maninas

  8. Emilia says:

    They have some lovely food in Denmark, I spent many vacations there as a child; they are not that into fat-free etc. foods there and that makes everything much more tastier, that’s how I remember it anyway.

    I wish I could make some cantucci as a gluten-free version, I just love all kinds of biscotti πŸ™‚

    The ones I’ve tried (which were bought) have been disgusting, unfortunately.

  9. Miri says:

    Dear Linda, your cantucci look absolutely perrrfect!

  10. farhan says:

    Hi LInda, how have you been? You wouldn’t believe it but your cantucci is in my oven right now and its 11.30pm! Had a huge biscotti craving and stumbled upon your recipe on tastespotting, what a coincidence it belonged to you! I knew I had to make it, midnight or not..

    I’m guessing you’re drawing closer to the big day.. take care and I would love to hear your birth story!

Leave a Reply

