Fennel tea soaked raisin bread

Well pretty much the moment I posted my last entry the weather turned 😦 The temperatures have dropped about 10°C and it’s cold and windy. Luckily there is still some sun here and there so I’m not complaining. Both sons have been under the weather for the last week so I haven’t been in my kitchen as much as I wanted too yet. But I’ll have to because I have a lot to do: baking for my friend who just had a baby girl, my youngest son’s 1st birthday, SHF, this month’s Daring Bakers challenge to name just a few. So much to do and so little time…sigh…

Today’s recipe is one that has been sitting in my archives for a pretty long time. I made this raisin bread when I had a high tea with some of my dearest friends. Besides all the fat and sweet treats I wanted to serve something that was a bit more plain to even things out. So this tea brack was perfect for that. It was good loaf but I’m not too fond of raisins so I’m sure I won’t make this exact recipe again. Also I expected to taste some of the fennel tea in which I steeped the raisins but despite being a super taster I could only barely taste it. Good thing about this loaf is that it’s low-fat, the only tiny bit of fat comes from the egg yolk.

It improves with keeping (not indefinitely of course but it’s better after a couple of days).

I’m submitting this raisin bread to Waiter There’s Something In My…Dried Fruits and Nuts. This month it’s hosted by Andrew of Spittoon Extra.

Fennel tea soaked raisin bread (adapted from Traditional Farmhouse Teas by Janice Murfitt)

makes 1 loaf

300 ml (1 ¼ cups) warm herbal tea (I used fennel)

500 g (1 lb / 3 cups) raisins

250 g (8 oz / 1 â…“ cups) light soft brown sugar

3 tbs orange marmalade

1 egg, beaten

500 g (1 lb /4 cups) self-raising flour (or regular flour mixed with 3% of its weight in baking powder)

1 tsp apple spices

Mix the tea, raisins, sugar and marmalade. Stir until well blended. Cover and allow to soak overnight.

Preheat the oven to 170°C (325°F). Grease a 1 kg (2 lb) loaf pan. Line the base and sides with baking paper.

Add the egg to the fruit mixture and sift in the flour and spices. Mix together with a wooden spoon until well blended. Place the mixture in the baking pan.

Bake for about 1 ¼ hours. The fruit bread should spring back and feel firm when pressed with your fingers.

Allow to cool for 5 minutes in the pan before turning it out. Remove the baking paper and allow to cool on a wire rack.

This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Fennel tea soaked raisin bread

  1. Andrew says:

    Interesting. I wonder if a different tea would make a difference? What do you class as apple spices – cinnamon??

  2. Rosa says:

    A delicious and rich bread! Yummy!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. courtney says:

    That looks great.Would be nice to have a slice here atmy desk with some coffee. Cant wait to see your other challenges coming up:-)

  4. Ginny says:

    What a great bread! I would never think of something like this! delicious!

  5. DaviMack says:

    Sounds yummy! We frequently use spiced teas in our cooking – usually Bengal Spice tea. It works out quite wonderfully! Thanks for the recipe!

  6. Evelin says:

    maybe using strong black tea would give enough taste? I believe I can almost taste that variation in my mouth:D

  7. DaviMack says:

    Oooh – if you used Earl Grey tea? That would be really fun. Or a nice fruit-infused black tea, like a black-currant? Yum!

  8. Aran says:

    What a temperature drop! But yes, I can see how this would be perfect for a chilly day. Hmm… delicious sounding, looking and I bet tasting!

  9. linda says:

    Andrew – maybe, but I thought fennel had enough taste. I think another word for apple spices is mixed spices so that’s usually cinnamon, cloves, ginger, cardamom, etc.

    Rosa – it was very rich indeed but in a light way 😉

    Courtney – I finally decided what to do with the DB challenge…

    Ginny – thanks 🙂

    DaviMack – Bengal spice and Earl Grey sound very good!

    Evelin – would probably work better than the fennel

    Aran – thanks 🙂

  10. Emilia says:

    It’s so cold here too, which sucks since I got used to the weather getting all warm.I hope your boys will feel better soon.

    This bread sounds great, reminds me of the christmas breads we make in Finland with raisins and dark sugar syrup, the taste is complex when it’s served with some salty and sour butter, but still very good. I would imagine this bread having something of the same taste.

  11. Fennel tea. . . not seen that. Looks like really beautiful bread.

  12. Sheltie Girl says:

    This bread looks simply delightful. It probably tasted fabulous to all of us raisin lovers out there.

    I’ve noticed that when I try to bake with tea, it take more than I think to get the flavor I want.

    Natalie @ Gluten a Go Go

  13. dhanggit says:

    oh you are a heaven sent..i’ve been thinking of something to bring today in my friend’s house afternoon chitchat..this raisin bread sounds perfect! have a nice day linda!!

  14. I’m just crazy about the flavor of fennel with orange. So this bread sings to me. I’ve gotta try it. Thanks, Linda!

  15. Y says:

    What a simple sounding bread and it looks so good. I love the flavours you often choose to use in your baking.

Leave a Reply

