Homemade granola

My mind went kind of blank when I started thinking about an entry for this month’s breakfast themed Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten Free! My breakfast consists of a very boring type of porridge. It consists of a mixture of 7 different precooked grain flakes. You just add hot milk and voila: breakfast! My breakfast used to be slices of bread with some cheese or peanut butter but during my last pregnancy I started with the porridge and sort of never stopped. So my creativity on breakfast is not very big. At first the only thing that came to mind was making kruidkoek, a Dutch treat that you can eat for breakfast too but I didn’t feel like experimenting with gluten-free flour this time. I needed something a little more fool-proof, and that something was granola. I don’t eat it that much for breakfast but now that summer is around the corner it’s a nice change from my boring old porridge πŸ˜‰

I found a recipe that was very very easy and simple in Trish Deseine’s book I want CHOCOLATE! but it looked like it was a bit too easy so I consulted the big world of food blogs. I remembered Warda of 64 sq ft kitchen posting about it a while back. Turned out she used a recipe she found on The Traveler’s Lunchbox. I sort of followed that one. Instead of using water I used orange blossom water hoping that the taste would come through, unfortunately you couldn’t really taste it. Maybe you would notice if you left it out though. The recipe stated that it would take 1-1 1/4 hours to bake in total. It did mine the maximum amount of time but that was too much. Especially the hazelnuts started to taste a little too dark. The granola was still delicious but would have been even better without the ‘dark’ taste, maybe you would even have tasted the orange blossom water…

I’m sending this recipe over to Noami of Straight into Bed, Cakefree and Dried.

I halved the original recipe and used these amounts of ‘filling’:

50 g hazelnuts

50 g almonds

20 g sesame seeds

30 g dessicated coconut

50 g candied orange peel

Also I used orange blossom water instead of regular water.

For procedures check out the recipe here.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Homemade granola

  1. Farhan says:

    I feel like picking up that hazelnut and popping it into my mouth!

    This is such a delicious and nutritous breakfast. I didn’t know u had little ones, thats lovely, how old are they?

  2. MariannaF says:

    I think I would had used orange blossom water too πŸ™‚ (I love that stuff!) About Dutch breakfasts, isnt there something where they spread butter on a slice of bread and then add chocolate (or multi coloured) sprinkles? I remember when I was a kid some Dutch friends eating that often.

  3. Linda, I love it that you added all my favorite nuts in here – yum!

  4. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Granola with hazelnuts and orange blossom water! Yumm.

  5. jennifer says:

    I love granola. I eat it actually for breakfast every morning with some dried fruit and yogurt. I love the sound of having orange peel and orange water in it.

  6. naomi devlin says:

    YUM! I used to eat homemade granola every morning until I found that I really couldn’t tolerate oats either. The combination of hazels and orange is gorgeous – makes me salivate for a bowl of something sweet and crunchy with some creamy milk…… You might find that adding a sprinkle of orange flower water nearer the end of cooking would retain the scent – or sprinkle over when you eat it?

    Great entry Linda, thanks!

    x x x

  7. Rosa says:

    I love granola and yours looks particularly tasty! A great combination of ingredients!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  8. linda says:

    Farhan – it is sitting there yelling eat me πŸ™‚ The little ones are nearly 1 and nearly 3

    MariannaF – you’re right, we eat it like you would eat Nutella or jam.

    Patricia – without nuts no granola imo πŸ˜‰

    Courtney – would have been yummier if I could actually taste the orange blossom water πŸ˜‰

    Jennifer – I love it too but porridge is easier to swallow and therefor quicker πŸ˜‰

    Naomi – will try adding it later next time

    Rosa – they were delicious together

  9. This is beautiful Linda. I just made my first about a month ago and can’t keep the jar full now my husband & I are wild about it.

  10. Aran says:

    orange blossom water, candied orange peel, hazelnuts… that’s what I call a good breakfast! That sounds more like dessert to me. Delightful!

  11. Ginny says:

    I love this version of granola! I’ll have to try it next time!

  12. Linda

    I am visiting your blog for the first time and i am impressed by your posts. There is lot to learn, lot to practice and make and then ask! Good blog site, indeed !

Leave a Reply

