Hazelnut cookies sandwiched with dulce de leche

Susan of Food Blogga is organizing a food blogging event to raise awareness for osteoporis, a disease in which bones become fragile and more likely to break. Eating food that contains enough calcium (and vitamine D), and doing regular exercise helps combat osteoporosis. To enter the Beautiful Bones food blogging event all you have to do is post a recipe with lots of calcium. I chose to make the hazelnut cookies again that I posted about a while back. Hazelnuts contain 200 mg of calcium per 100 g. Next thing I did was to make me some dulce de leche. Sweetened condensed milk has a whopping 300 mg per 100 g! So despite the fact that the cookies themselves aren’t all that healthy with all the sugar and butter, at least they have a large amount of calcium! And the more cookies you eat the more calcium you’re getting 😉 I ate a lot… (I’m starting to remember why I don’t make dulce de leche more often…I tend to eat it by the spoonful 😉

Hazelnut cookies

makes about 50 small cookies

250 g (8 ¾ oz) flour, sifted

50 g (1 ¾ oz) hazelnut, toasted, skinned and ground

125 g (4 ½ oz) butter, room temperature

115 g (4 oz) caster sugar

1 egg

Mix the flour and ground hazelnuts.

Cream the butter with the sugar. Add the egg and mix until incorporated. Mix in the flour and hazelnut mixture.

Chill for about 30 minutes or until firm enough to roll out.

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F).

Grease 2 baking sheets or line with baking paper

Roll out the dough between 2 sheets of baking paper until 4 mm (â…› in). Chill the dough between the baking paper for 30 minutes.

Cut out disks with a cookie cutter. Transfer to the baking sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges just start to colour.

Allow to cool on the baking sheets for 2 minutes. Transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

I made the dulce the leche the David Leibovitz way.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Hazelnut cookies sandwiched with dulce de leche

  1. Dorothy says:

    Omg these are so cute!! I love them!

  2. Hannah says:

    Love the little cut-out windows, they’re so elegant yet playful at the same time!

  3. Erika says:

    These look delicious! Going on my ‘things to try’ list!

  4. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    good justifiaction to indulge in this treat. Beautiful cookies. I like the cut out shapes.

  5. Love these! The flavors sound great!

  6. mari says:

    That is such a gorgeous photo! Cute calcium-rich cookies?! I’m on board!

  7. Yay! Cookies that are good for you! And the best part is that I can eat all of the left-over dulce de leche myself. 🙂

    Thanks for the gorgeous cookies, Linda.

  8. Astrid says:

    This photo is beautiful, very striking. You could enter it into one of these blog photo contests.

  9. jennifer says:

    gotta love that david leibovitz. those cookies look tastey!

  10. linda says:

    Dorothy – thanks 🙂

    Hannah – love your description, think you’re right 😉

    Erika – hope you will like them too

    Courtney – thanks 🙂

    My Sweet & Saucy – thanks, they were very good together

    Mari – thanks 🙂

    Susan – just finished the last of the dulce de leche

    Astrid – thanks 🙂

    Jennifer – David is the best

  11. Aran says:

    oh… lovely… almost like dulce de leche linzer… this must leave your kitchen smelling like heaven!

  12. Rosa says:

    So pretty! A great combo! Delicious!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  13. Antonia says:

    What scrumptious-looking treats! I love the fact that I could use the fact that ‘they are good for my bones’as an excuse to eat lots of them. Beautiful picture too.

  14. Emilia says:

    Those look delicious, there’s something about that photo which makes me just want to grab one of those cookies 🙂

    I saw this photo at tastespotting some days ago and it left a lasting impression – that’s how good those cookies look.

  15. Zita says:

    Oh…Lekkeeer,

    look so beautiful and cute…saw it on the roundup of BBFBE 🙂

  16. dhanggit says:

    oh what a delicious way to save our bones….dulche de leche in between hazelnut cookies..this is fantastic!

  17. Linda, I never buy dulce de leche for the same reason – I’m not balanced enough to have that around the house. 🙂

    Your cookies look so beautiful!

  18. Mom Quixote says:

    Okay, these look perfect. And dulce de leche is just so delish…

  19. Dwight says:

    They look so tasty. Thank you for the post. Now I want to put everything aside to go to the kitchen and cook them. Though I am not a professional cook I hope I will cope with them.

Leave a Reply

