Nectarine muffins with hazelnut topping

My parents were visiting yesterday morning, usually I make something a little more elaborate than muffins but we had a busy weekend so I had to make something quick. Nectarine muffins seemed like the perfect thing to make, there were a few very ripe nectarines sitting in the fruit bowl begging to be used. Didn’t really have time to make streusel so I just sprinkled them with storebought hazelnut crunch (which btw is very good). While I was getting the ingredients ready to start baking I remembered that AFAM was featuring coconut as it’s monthly fruit. So I changed milk into coconut milk and I even strayed from my butter obsession/addiction and decided to use coconut butter (coconut oil) instead of butter. So behold one of the few dairy-free recipes on my blog 😉

The muffins rose beautifully in the oven and I was very curious how they would taste. I’m such a big fan of butter that I very very rarely use another type of fat. Not because that other type is not good, but just because it would have been even better with butter 🙂 I was a bit afraid the coconut taste would be a bit too much, I mean, I added a cup of coconut milk and 6 tablespoons of coconut butter. The crazy thing was, I didn’t taste coconut…AT ALL! And I’m a very good taster! I was really disappointed because I didn’t add any other flavour because I was afraid it would be too many flavours. Ok, there was the nectarine but that wasn’t enough. Cinnamon, ginger or cardamom would have been a delicious addition I think, or hazelnuts added to the batter.

As for the texture of the muffin, that was very, very good. Airy, fluffy, moist, everything you would want in a muffin. Will try this recipe again but with butter 🙂 and some spice.

This is my entry to AFAM hosted by Suganya of Tasty Palettes.

Nectarine muffins with hazelnut topping (adapted from Essentials of baking by Williams-Sonoma)

makes 10-12 depending on how big your cups are (I filled 11 1 dl (3 ½ fl oz) cups)

280 g (1 ¾ cup / 9 oz) flour

2 tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

155 g (â…” cup / 4 oz) firmly packed dark brown sugar

2 large eggs

250 ml (1 cup / 8 fl oz) coconut milk

90 g (6 tbs / 3 oz) coconut butter (coconut oil), melted

150 g (1 ¼ cup / 5 oz) chopped nectarine

hazelnut crunch or chopped hazelnuts

12 muffin cups (I used 1 dl cups)

Preheat the oven to 220°C (425°F). Stir the flour, baking powder, baking soda and brown sugar in a bowl.

Whisk the eggs until blended in another bowl. Add the coconut milk and coconut butter and stir until smooth. Pour over the dry ingredients and stir until just moistened. Add the nectarine and fold in on making sure not to overmix.

Divide the batter between the muffin cups, filling it about ¾ full. Sprinkle generously with hazelnuts. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Best eaten warm.

This entry was posted in Muffins and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Nectarine muffins with hazelnut topping

  1. Leslie Green says:

    Now those are some serious looking muffins. I would have never in a million years come up with those flavor combinations! How divine!

  2. Rosa says:

    Your muffins look very good and beautifully shaped! I bet they even taste better…$

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. dhanggit says:

    this is definitely a recipe worth remembering!! i cant wait to cook some nectarines are starting to appear in our market..i just dont know where i can find some decent muffin papers like the ones you have

  4. Ashley says:

    Those muffins look really good! I need to find coconut oil and try it in baking.

  5. celine says:

    hazelnut topping? you are a goddess!

  6. Linda, these can make anyone’s morning a lot better. I have never baked with nectarines, and these are tempting me!

  7. linda says:

    Thanks everyone 🙂

    Dhanggit – I have difficulties finding them here in the Netherlands too. I bought these whilst on vacation in Denmark (of all places)

  8. Aran says:

    these look delicious and so season appropriate. i happen to love muffins and I think they are just as elaborate as any other dessert. Especially with coffee!

  9. ovenhaven says:

    These look really inviting, Linda! What a pity about the lack of coconut taste, though. But nothing that nectarines and hazelnuts can’t remedy!

  10. Dorothy says:

    hazelnut and nectarines? sounds deliciously creative!!

  11. Emilia says:

    Those look really delicious and they do look fluffy 🙂 I love the use of dark sugar, it’s so good.

    Coconut does rarely taste through if you´re not using virgin oil. Virgin coconut oil has sometimes a very heavy sweet coconut taste, which can be too much in some foods, but maybe it would have worked here? Some of the virgin oils I have tasted have had a milder taste, but others have a very strong taste.

  12. Oh sahme you couldn’t taste the coconut! But they still look divine, love that you added nectarine!

  13. Miri says:

    Linda, your muffins are gorgeous! I’ve been wanting to try baking with coconut milk for a while now, but haven’t had the chance yet. Hope to do it soon, bookmarked your post for future use 🙂

  14. Maninas says:

    how about almond in the topping? as for the spice, I vote for cardamom! 🙂

  15. No coconut. Things can surprise us. I’d think the cardamon would make these delightful just as they are. Have to do some muffins in the little paper cups I got.

  16. Mansi says:

    these are absolutely gorgeous Linda! I made some apricot and ginger muffins recently, so I know these would be great!:)

Leave a Reply

