Redcurrant & blackcurrant mini cake

One of my readers contacted me a little while ago to ask if I would be interested in participating in a fundraiser he was organising for the Make A Wish Foundation (Doe Een Wens Stichting in the Netherlands). He was making goodies to sell to collegues at work in order to raise money for the foundation. Other collegues also joined in on it and so did I πŸ™‚ One of the goodies I made were these mini redcurrant and blackcurrant cakes. The currants were from my best friend’s garden (the same garden I shot the cheesecake pops) and hand picked by me.

I made simple cakes but by sprinkling them with the currants they suddenly looked a little less simple and a little more sophisticated πŸ™‚ To finish them off I glazed them with a little heated cherry preserves. I don’t know how they tasted but I do know they were sold quickly πŸ™‚

I’m entering this cake to Waiter there’s something in my….berries, this month hosted by Jeanne of Cook Sister!

Redcurrant & blackcurrant mini cakes (adapted from Het Nieuwe Haagse Kookboek by F.M. Stoll and W.H. de Groot)

makes 3 small cakes of about 12 cm (5 in)

150 g (5 ¼ oz) butter

175 g (6 ¼ oz) caster sugar

2 eggs

½ ts almond extract

200 g (7 oz) self-raising flour

a few handfulls of redcurrants and blackcurrants

1-2 tbs cherry preserves (or another red preserves) + a little bit of water

Preheat the oven to 160°C (325°F).

Cream the butter and the sugar. Add the eggs one at a time, mixing until well incorporated. Add the almond extract. Mix for another few minutes. Add the self-raising flour and mix on low until incorporated. Divide the batter between the three cake pans. Sprinkle with the currants. Bake for about 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Heat the preserves and the water until hot and liquid. Brush over the hot cake. Allow the cake to cool.

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Redcurrant & blackcurrant mini cake

  1. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Great looking mini cakes. No wonder they sold quickly. I am sure they enkoyed them. To bad you didnt get a tate.

  2. Rosa says:

    That cake looks terribly tempting! I love those fruits! Yummy!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. arfi says:

    that looks sweet, linda. mouthwatering!

  4. dhanggit says:

    this is what i want to have for my birthday!! gorgeously delicious!! i love the idea of red and black!!

  5. Flick says:

    I was one of the lucky ones who got to taste these mini cakes and I can tell you they were simply delicious! You could taste the freshness and the combination with the almond base was perfect. These cakes sold (and tasted) way better then ones from the Bijenkorf!

  6. Dorothy says:

    those look amazing! as usual!

  7. That’s such a beautiful idea and a beautiful little cake!

  8. A very wonderful combo. I am surprised at how simple they look to put together!

  9. linda says:

    Courtney, Rosa & Arfi – thanks πŸ™‚

    Dhanggit – it’s very easy to make so go for it πŸ˜‰

    Flick – thanks so much for letting me know, I’m so glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

    Dorothy & ClumbsyCookie – thanks πŸ™‚

    Tanna – it’s very simple!

  10. Y says:

    How cool. I would certainly buy one of those!

  11. Emilia says:

    That cake looks like it’s oozing deliciousness πŸ™‚

    It looks somewhat like a Christmas cake – you got me thinking about Christmas with this post even though it’s half an year away. Some almond taste and berries would be a good dessert for Christmas. I made some mont blancs last year, but they were a bit too heavy.

  12. Ivonne says:

    Linda,

    It is always such a pleasure to come here. You make the “sweetest” things!

  13. Jeanne says:

    Oh no – you never got to taste them? Tha’s a tragedy 😦 They look wonderful – and I am a sucker for mini desserts. Thanks so much for contributing to WTSIM this month πŸ™‚

  14. Dragon says:

    This cake looks wonderful and sounds delicious. No wonder it sold out.

  15. Sanela says:

    Torta je stvarno lijepa, a sigurno je i ukusna:D

Leave a Reply

