Pre-birthday orange mousse cakelet with apricot puree and physalis fruit

Today is my birthday but I won’t be celebrating much today because I have to prepare for my birthday party tomorrow. I thought is was time to celebrate my birthday because it had been about 10 years! since I last did it. In case you’re wondering, it’s my 36th birthday today πŸ™‚

Anyway, I made this little (7 cm / 3 in) cakelet a few days ago to test a mousse made with agar-agar instead of gelatin because I need a mousse for my birthday cake. Unfortunately I wasn’t completely pleased with using agar-agar (this way). What I did was I boiled some agar-agar in orange juice (plus a little sugar and lemon juice, also added a few drops of orange essential oil after boiling) and waited till it had cooled enough to fold it into whipped cream whipped to soft peaks. Agar-agar already starts to set at 32-40°C (90-105°F) so the orange juice mixture already started to set. Adding it to the cold whipped cream made it set even more. It didn’t cause a problem with filling the ring mould because I could use a spatula to make it smooth but I couldn’t pour the left-overs in a glass because it was already too stiff. Piping would have been ok though but I was in a hurry so didn’t have time to pipe it. I let it set in the fridge till the next day.

The verdict: I liked the consistency of the mousse, it wasn’t too stiff and stiff enough to hold it’s shape. But I didn’t like the way the fat of the cream somehow stuck to my palate, it reminded me of the one time I ate brains 😦 or when you eat something that is cold and has lots of saturated fats. Also the mousse couldn’t retain all of the liquids, it sort of whept. I’m not sure what caused all this (the long time between making and eating? the agar-agar? the use of a tart fruit mixture?) tips are welcome…

So I decided to stick with gelatine for the birthday cake. Agar-agar will still remain on my list of ingredients to experiment with though πŸ™‚

No recipe today but I used the mousse of the mango mousse mirror cake. I used 200 ml of cream and 200 ml of orange juice/lemon juice and 1/4 ts agar-agar powder. The physalis were left over from that cake too, the dried apricot puree was left over from Middle Eastern sweets I made a few days ago, and the cake base was from a pound cake from A’s grandmother that we still had a bit of left in the freezer.

I’m not sure when I’ll post my birthday cake because I’m pretty busy the coming days but hopefully soon….hope it turns out something to brag about πŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pre-birthday orange mousse cakelet with apricot puree and physalis fruit

  1. Rosa says:

    Happy Birthday!

    That cake looks gorgeous! I love everything about it!

    Cheers and have a great day,

    Rosa

  2. Happy happy birthday! You little cake is gorgeous and so elegant! I personaly don’y enjoy the consistency that agar-agar gives to mousses, but some people love it, it’s a question of taste I think… Have fun at your party tomorrow and let us see the “real” cake.

  3. Y says:

    Happy Birthday Linda! Looking forward to seeing all the delicious treats you’ll be whipping up to celebrate πŸ™‚

  4. Hey, beautiful, happy birthday! I hope you enjoy yourself very much!

  5. Meddi says:

    Happy Birthday Linda!Cake is gorgeous and so elegant!

  6. Dee says:

    Happy birthday, Linda! I hope you have a fantastic time at your party πŸ™‚

    Your cake looks stunning. I wish I could help with the weeping but I’m not much of a baker 😦

  7. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    I am not a fan of agar agar so Im not surprised. But like you I will revist. Happy Birthday my friend!

  8. Hannah says:

    Happy birthday! Despite the difficulties you had, your cake looks flawless and delicious

  9. Happy Happy Birthday! Hope you enjoyed your party!

  10. linda says:

    Thanks everyone πŸ™‚

  11. maninas says:

    Happy birthday!!! πŸ˜€

    btw, we really enjoyed cornwall. fabulous holiday! also, i saw some very steep hills there.. may may… you said you cycled there? πŸ™‚ well done!

Leave a Reply

