Baklava with pistachio’s

Dhanggit of Dhanggit’s Kitchen is looking for Perfect Party Dishes to make for her daughters first birthday. I have the perfect dish for her. It’s the baklava that I made for my own birthday party. The good thing about is that you can keep the prepared unbaked dish in the fridge for a couple of days before you baked it. And once baked you can keep it for several days as well. Imo it’s even better after a couple of days because the sugar syrup softens the filo dough. It’s very easy to make but it is a bit time consuming to brush every layer of filo dough with melted butter.

I’m not sure filo dough has the same measurements everywhere, I think mine were rather on the small side. I had to use 1 ½ sheet to cover my baking tray of 27 x 35 cm (11 x 14 in). It’s easiest to use a dish that will work with your filo dough measurements.

I liked this baklava a lot but I have to admit that I like the store bought ones maybe even better even though (in the Netherlands at least) it’s usually made with inferior ingredients (meaning no butter and no pistachio’s). I loved the taste of mine better but I prefer the sweet, sticky and softness from the store bought ones 🙂

Syrup (from the Dutch version of Claudia Roden’s The New Book of Middle Eastern Food)

500 g (1 lb) sugar

300 ml (1 ¼ cup) water

2 tbs lemon juice

2 tbs orange flower water

Put the sugar, water and lemon juice in a sauce pan on low heat until the sugar dissolves. Increase the temperature and allow to cook until thick enough to cover the back of a spoon. Add the orange flower water and allow to cook for another minute or so. Allow to cool down to room temperature and chill until use. You can keep the syrup in the fridge for at least a week.

Baklava with pistachio’s (from the Dutch version of Claudia Roden’s The New Book of Middle Eastern Food)

24 leafs of filo dough (about 500 g / 2 lb)

200 g (7 oz) butter, melted

375 g (13 oz) pistachio’s, finely chopped

Preheat a oven to 160°C (325°F). Make sure you have a damp kitchen towel handy to cover the filo dough once you’ve opened the package, this will prevent it from drying out. Butter a large baking tray. Put in the first leaf of filo dough. Butter the layer of filo. Add the second layer and butter. Repeat this until you have 12 layers in total. Spread out the pistachio’s. Started layering with filo and buttering again until you have another 12 layers. Make sure to butter the top layer as well. Pre-cut the baklava with a sharp knife, diamonds are more traditional but squares, rectangles or triangles work too.

Bake for 45 minutes. Increase the temperature to 220°C (425°F) and bake for another 10-15 minutes or until lightly golden brown. Take the baking tray out of the oven and immediately pour the cold syrup over the hot baklava.

Allow to cool. Cut the baklava along the pre-cut lines and serve.

This entry was posted in Pastries and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Baklava with pistachio’s

  1. Dhanggit says:

    Baklava is an all time favorite at home, but we just normally buy on oriental pastry shop. I have never dared making one. I am sure nothing beats a home-made one! This is a great entry for my event! Our guests will surely love this!

  2. Linda I love baklava and can you believe I’ve never made?! I allways thought there was honey in them, maybe that was what you were missing from the store bought ones! Either way, your looks great and I wish I could have a piece!

  3. Y says:

    I love baklava and always eat too much of it whenever I make a batch 🙂

  4. Rosa says:

    I love that! This version looks terribly scrumptious! Different…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  5. Mari says:

    I’m so impressed that you made your own baklava! Do you think if you let it set for a couple of days it would become more the texture that you’re used to?

  6. aran says:

    this is definitely a perfect party dish. everyone loves baklava and more so with pistachios, I think… just perfectly sticky!

  7. grace says:

    i’m pretty sure baklava is my favorite dessert, but i’ve never been brave enough to attempt making it myself. yours looks perfect and unbelievably tempting, and now i’m forced to go find some. 🙂

  8. ovenhaven says:

    I’ve heard so many baklava love tales (people falling head over heels with baklava), but I’ve never even tried my hands on one! I’m beginning to think I’m losing out. 😛 I hope you saved some for me!

  9. Hannah says:

    Baklava is just so wonderful, I have yet to meet anyone who didn’t like it. Yours looks delicious as well!

  10. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Of course you knew what would be perfect for Dhagnits daughter birthday. I havent had a good Baklave in years!

  11. Dee says:

    I love Baklava! It just seems so intimidating – all that layering… Yours looks so lovely, Linda. I spy some mint tea on the side too 🙂

    Is the Claudia Roden Middle Eastern book any good? I have her Jewish book and it’s a fascinating read but I haven’t cooked from it yet.

  12. Mike says:

    I love baklava…and that every version out there is different! I wish I could eat this on a daily basis

  13. Christy says:

    Baklava was one of the first things I made when I started developing an interest in baking and all things culinary a couple of years back…I think I’ll have a go at it again soon!! Yours look so perfect!

  14. You re always a winner. These look delicious.

  15. jennifer says:

    looks great! i love a good flakey baklava.

  16. Katie says:

    Mmmm I love baklava but I have never tried to make it before. This looks heavenly!

  17. Vera says:

    Linda, this is certainly a perfect party dish – delicious and feeds a crowd.

  18. Farhan says:

    I think your baklava will be great with milk! Congrats on ur successful milk event, I wished I was quick enough to have participated.. I enjoyed reading all the entries though!

  19. Emilia says:

    Oh, baklava is so fatty with all the butter and totally delicious; yours looks great.

    I love almost all greasy foods, that is if they have olive oil, or butter, and these are one of the best desserts.

Leave a Reply

