A little something about me or: a meme marathon ;)

A few weeks ago Dorothy of Dessert Obsessed tagged me for the Six Random Things About Me meme. This reminded me of the other two meme’s I was tagged for earlier this year. Why haven’t I read any meme’s you might wonder…. well I’m not very good with the meme thing because it doesn’t involve any baking, only thinking 😉 But I do love the concept of meme’s because they give you a bit of insight in a blogger.

After getting this third meme I thought I’d indulge you (or not) and do all three meme’s in this one post and get it over with.

Yes, that’s is me in the picture (age 3 or 4 I think) and I think I’m holding a tin of Quality Street Chocolates. Not that there were any chocolates in there, my parents tried to raise my brother and myself without candy and sweets, no soda’s, only cake for birthdays, and only chocolate for Easter….I know poor us 😉 but we survived and I can tell you that I more than made up for the lack of sugar in my childhood ha ha!

Ok, ready for the meme marathon?

I’ll start with the one I was tagged for ages ago in March by Mari of Mevrouw Cupcake.

What were you cooking 5 years ago?

I was living in Tel Aviv at that time so my cooking was influenced by the Middle East. Lots of tomato and cucumber salad, pita bread, hummus, baba ganoush etc. Also I started baking more, from once or twice a year to a couple of times a month. I think I got inspired by the wonderful desserts you can order at Tel Aviv’s restaurant (much better than the desserts in the Netherlands).

What were you cooking 10 years ago?

Practically no sweet stuff, just savoury. I really was a savoury girl back then. Nearly no meat because I wanted it to be free range and that was not readily available close to my home at that time. My cooking was mostly Mediterranean influenced with some Asian (mostly Indonesian) dishes in between.

Five snacks you enjoy:

Potato chips/crips

Milk chocolate with whole hazelnuts and raisins

Good cheese and baguette

Dulce de Leche

Nutella

Five recipes you know by heart:

(I rarely use recipes when I’m cooking, only when I make sweet stuff I use them.)

2 different recipes for zandkoekjes (basic Dutch cookie recipe)

Griesmeelpudding (Dutch semolina pudding)

Jam

Pound cake

Ganache

Five foods you love to cook:

Cookies

Cakes

Tarts

Puddings

Jam

Five things you cannot/will not eat:

Offal

Raw egg straight up or a soft boiled egg

Black pudding

Bell pepers

Belgian endive (I dislike bitter a lot, grapefruit juice is about as much as I can handle)

Five favourite culinary toys:

Baking pans

Rolling pin

Food processor

Parmezan grater (mostly because it looks so good 😉

Digital thermometer

Ok, onto the meme of six random things that Dorothy of Dessert Obsessed tagged me for:

1. I’m a very messy cook/baker. My kitchen always looks like a bomb exploded when the meal or cake or whatever is ready or in the oven. I’m always amazed that anybody can have their kitchen in order WHILE they’re cooking or baking. Every once in a while I will try but I think it just isn’t in my genes 😉

2. I’m a very bad egg separator, the other day I needed 6 separated eggs and I had to crack 10 to get 6! Probably a case of Murphy’s law 😉

3. long time readers may know this but I studied to be a dietician. Never worked as one though, and never intended too 😉 I liked food so much that I wanted to study something that I actually liked and Food & Dietetics was the least scientific of food oriented studies in my area of the Netherlands at that time.

4. I don’t like milk, the thought of drinking milk…yuk! Maybe for a 1000 euro’s I would take a sip but I scares me to do it though. I do love milk based dessert though.

5. I’m not married to the father of my sons though we’ve been together for 9 years. In the Netherlands this is something very regular, but when I read eg US blogs, everybody seems to be married when they have children. Cultural differences…

6. For years I pretty much only wore black clothes, but not to fit in with a certain group though. None of my friends wore black. I think it was what I was used to because my mum wore and still wears mostly black. It’s still one of my favourite colours in clothing but I wear different colours too.

And finally the most difficult meme (imo) that Susan of Foodblogga tagged me for in April: the Six Words Memoir (sum your life up in 6 words)….yeah I know, how on earth can one do that? I kept thinking about it but nothing really good came out of it, the best I could do was: ‘enjoying my life as it happens’.

So there they are, the three meme’s I was tagged for. Finally that burden is gone and I can enjoy life again 😉

btw I’m a obsessive-compulsive chain letter breaker. And meme’s I feel are closely related to them so I hope you’ll excuse me that I don’t tag anybody else for these meme’s 😉 But feel free to do any of them anyway!

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A little something about me or: a meme marathon ;)

  1. this is our dauther…beauty…pusu mama i tata…

  2. Rosa says:

    Great to learn more about you! I love those pictures! You look very sweet/cute on them!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  3. Nice to know a bit more about yourself Linda! Such cute pictures by the way!

  4. Y says:

    Great to read a little bit about you. I can relate to some things you mentioned. I also love those pictures of mini you. Especially that first one 🙂

  5. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    You were a cutie. I feel the same way about milk. Cant drink it but milk based desserts are wonderful. I know what you mean about cultural diffrences. CS is reeling from the pressure my family is sending and dont understand that these type of partnerships are very common. Nice insights into you!I dont care for Memes but love reading them!

  6. jennifer says:

    wow! that was really interesting. it’s neat to note the cultural differences re: marriage. i wonder what else is different. also, i love milk, so it’s fascinating that you don’t like milk but use it in your baking. i really enjoyed this meme. i’d totally do it if you tagged me 😉

  7. Dee says:

    Aww, cute pics!

    Love the meme, Linda. What a fascinating life you’ve had – Tel Aviv, cultural differences and all 🙂

    That bit about separating eggs cracked me up… heh heh!

    Thanks for the info about Claudia Roden, by the way.

  8. dhanggit says:

    your photos are all adorable!! i like potato chips and nutella too!! thanks for sharing this random things about you!

  9. Tartelette says:

    I can’t drink milk straight either…makes me shiver!! According to my in laws we lived in sin for over a year before e got married, for my parents it was quite normal…you’re right, cultural differences! Lovely read Linda and the pictures are too adorable!!

  10. Vera says:

    Linda, it’s great to know you better. And what a cute little girl you were!

  11. Deeba says:

    What a heart-warming meme Linda. I know I’ve been here before & that was when I began blogging just under a year ago. Everything is so familiar & beautiful…am glad I rediscovered you at Dhhangit’s!

  12. Dorit says:

    Yeah!! You lived in Israel!! We were almost neighbours…:-)

  13. Lien says:

    Wow three meme’s in one go, you’re brave! So nice to learn about you a bit more. What lovely pictures! I feel the same way about breaking chain letters, but still love to read all those meme’s.

  14. Susan says:

    What a little doll face! Thanks for the nice comment you left on my Turkish delight post. I have Claudia Roden’s recipe, too, but found it a little scary. The version I used was not w/out its problems, but I was happy with the final result.

  15. Awesome meme Linda!

    I can’t drink milk either except in coffee. BUT I love drinking fresh buttermilk!

    Really terrific kid photos!

  16. Miri says:

    Dear Linda, it was great getting to know you a little better through these cute memes, thanks for posting this wonderful post!

  17. What’s wrong with that 6-word meme? I think it’s great. And those pictures! Oh, Linda, you were absolutely precious. I hope your children resemble you. 🙂

  18. Dorothy says:

    OMG your pictures are sooooooo cute! you were such a darling little girl!

Leave a Reply

