Ispahan ice cream

Ever since I tasted Pierre Herme wonderful Ispahan combination of rose, litchi and raspberry I was sure I wanted to make another dish with that combination. I have to add that I never actually ate PH’s own creations but I used the combination of flavours to make Daring Bakers March challenge.

I’m not much of an ice cream maker or eater for that matter but the idea of Ispahan ice cream was tempting. My initial idea was to make an ice cream sandwich and to make the sandwich part out of marzipan. I already had all the other components ready, the only thing I had to do was colour and roll out the marzipan but I really didn’t feel like it. The raspberries were started to go bad so I had to make the dessert but without the marzipan.

The ice cream has a base of sweetened condensed milk. I like custard based ice creams better but 1. they’re more work and 2. you’ll have egg whites left. I dislike both 😉

I pureed the litchi’s, added whipping cream, sweetened condensed milk and citric acid and voila: ice cream 🙂 I actually forgot to add the raspberry swirl but I realised the moment I put the litchi ice cream in the fridge so I was able to add it. But I forgot I had to add rose water to the raspberry sauce…sigh…

So I added a few drops of rose syrup (store bought). In retrospect I would have used this rose syrup to sweeten the the raspberry sauce instead of flavouring it with rose water. So even though it didn’t turn out the way I wanted it, I know how I will do it next time. I don’t usually repeat recipes but I’m sure I will repeat this one, easy to make and just delicious! Would be excellent for a dinner party 🙂

Sugared rose petals

1 ts meringue powder

1 tbs water

4 rose petals

pink sugar

Mix the meringue powder with the water until dissolved.

Lightly brush the rose petals with the mixture, making sure to brush it completely. Sprinkle with sugar until completely covered in sugar. Leave to dry overnight.

Ispahan ice cream

serves 4

½ a can of sweetened condensed milk

150 ml (â…”l cup) litchi puree (from canned litchi’s)

100 ml (3 ½ fl oz) whipping cream

1 ts of dissolved citric acid (½ ts citric acid, dissolved in ½ tbs of water)

a few tbs raspberry puree, sweetened to taste with rose syrup

4 sugared rose petals

4 raspberries

Combine the sweetened condensed milk, litchi puree, whipping cream and 1 ts of dissolved citric acid. Churn in an ice cream maker for 30 minutes. Transfer to a square tray of 18 x 18 cm (7 x 7 in). Drop small spoons of raspberry puree all over the surface of the ice cream. Stir it in somewhat. Smooth the top of the ice cream.

Freeze overnight.

Cut out 4 rounds out of the ice cream, transfer to 4 plates. Top with a rose petal and raspberry.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Ispahan ice cream

  1. So so beautiful! I love that combo also and I love the pinkiness that you got!

    Your sugared petals are perfect!

  2. Y says:

    Oh, if you had egg whites left over, you could’ve made pink macarons and sandwiched the ice cream in the middle, for Ispahan ice cream sandwiches!

    Regardless, it’s a great idea, and a lovely thing you’ve created there Linda!

  3. Dee says:

    I’ll take ice cream any which way, but this is stunning! I love the every single element you’ve included. Linda, is litchi the same as lychee?

  4. Good grief Linda you knock my socks off with this one. So delicate looking and sugared rose petals are way beyond me. Beautiful.

  5. Rosa says:

    That ice cream is extremely refined and must taste heavenly! What wonderful flavors!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. Linda, what a beautiful dessert. I love the delicate colors and the flavors… wow!

    I have tried Hermé’s Ispahan and this ice cream is making me curious!

  7. aran says:

    beautiful linda!

  8. grace says:

    it’s stunning! wow, and i’ll bet it’s absolutely delicious too–thanks for sharing! 🙂

  9. ovenhaven says:

    Oh, I’m wishing I could have just a spoonful of that right now. Or two. Or three. Hehe 😛

    Btw, I’ve an award for you at my blog 🙂

  10. Sounds amazing! I love the sugared rose petal you put on top!

  11. snookydoodle says:

    this looks really really pretty in pink 🙂 this is so so cute. and sound delicious too

  12. I’d feel guilty eating it since it’s so, so pretty. I could work out the guilt though, I guess.

  13. Hannah says:

    Really beautiful dessert, as always… And those flavors sound to-die for!

  14. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Linda that is a brilliant idea, and stunning presentation. I could see that a wedding dinner.

  15. Astrid says:

    Lovely! I ate an Ispahan once despite my almost aversion to lichi and rose-flavored anything and loved it. Your ice cream rendition looks fabulous.

    Egg whites: they freeze beautifully and can be used for things like dacquoise, meringue, or macarons…

  16. Mari says:

    I’ve still yet to partake of anything Ispahan, but this looks like a nice place to start!

  17. Mike says:

    Once again, this flavor sounds spectacular, but I am also amazed with how great this looks! Ice cream can definitely be a tricky thing to make look exciting, but this is really elegant!

  18. Christy says:

    I’ve never made a condensed milk-based ice cream before! Hooray for the improvisation to minimise waste and cooking time! Beautiful ice cream!

  19. linda says:

    Never made macarons before so that challenge would be major compared to colouring and rolling the marzipan 😉

  20. linda says:

    Yep, same thing…

  21. Tartelete says:

    I took me a while to warm up to the flavor of the Ispahan but now I am addicted! Very sophisticated!

  22. linda says:

    I’m honoured, thanks so much for the award!

  23. Jude says:

    Looks so elegant. and totally way over my current pastry skill level. Maybe some day 🙂

  24. Miri says:

    Dear Linda, this ice cream looks just perfect! I love that pink color, it’s adorable!

  25. Suzana says:

    Indeed a perfect combination from sugar daddy Pierre!! Linda, your ice cream sounds yummy! And looks beautiful too.

  26. Emilia says:

    That looks lovely and I love the flavour combination, makes me want to try this, just to taste it 🙂

    I’ve never had anything like this.

    The combination of pink, white and blue is really beautiful.

    I’m also not much of an ice-cream lover, but I do like liquorice ice-cream.

  27. Hillary says:

    Wow…thanks for teaching us all about this fruit and flavor of ice cream. It makes for a very pretty dessert!

  28. Vera says:

    What a beautiful dessert!

Leave a Reply

