Strawberry mousse puffs with white chocolate glaze

I’m keeping this post short otherwise I won’t be able to make the deadline for Meeta’s Monthly Mingle. This months theme is chocolate and fruit.

I made some medium sized puffs from the choux dough that was left over from last month’s Daring Baking challenge. The boys and I visited A’s grandmother today and I wanted to bring something sweet to eat. The puffs were in the freezer so all I needed was a filling and a glaze. With the Monthly Mingle theme in mind I settled for strawberry mousse puffs with white chocolate glaze. Ingredients I had on hand.

The mousse I made the same way I made the mango mousse, and raspberry mousse. Just whipped cream, strawberry puree, icing sugar and gelatin.

The puffs were delicious, the filling was not so sweet so that was great to compensate for the sweet glaze. If you like sweet than I’d suggest you use more icing sugar in the mousse.

Unfortunately I didn’t have much time making pictures as A’s grandmother, her neighbour, my MIL and my two boys were eagerly waiting for a puff. I did make a few but those were out of focus. This was the only one that was ok, doesn’t actually show much of the puff itself though.

Strawberry mousse (adapted from Mango Mousse Mirror cake)

enough to fill 11 medium sized puffs

250 ml (1 cups) whipping cream, chilled

5 g (1/6 oz) gelatin

50 ml (¼ cup) cold water

250 ml (1 cups) strawberry puree

30 g (1 oz) icing sugar (or to taste)

Whip the whipping cream until soft peaks. Cover and put it in the fridge.

Soak the gelatine in the water for a few minutes. Meanwhile mix the strawberry puree with the icing sugar. Heat the gelatine/water mixture in the microwave until dissolved. I popped it in for 30 seconds.

Add the gelatine mixture to the strawberry puree and mix well. Add the strawberry mixture to the whipped cream until well combined. Chill for at least 4 hours.

Choux dough

I used half the recipe wich makes at least 12 medium puffs

½ cup (125g) whole milk

½ cup (125g) water

1 stick (4 ounces; 115g) unsalted butter, cut into 8 pieces

¼ teaspoon sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

1 cup (140g) all-purpose flour

5 large eggs, at room temperature

Preheat your oven to 220°C (425°F). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a heavy bottomed medium saucepan, bring the milk, water, butter, sugar and salt to the

boil.

Once the mixture is at a rolling boil, add all of the flour at once, reduce the heat to medium

and start to stir the mixture vigorously with a wooden spoon. The dough comes together very

quickly. Do not worry if a slight crust forms at the bottom of the pan, it’s supposed to. You

need to carry on stirring for a further 2-3 minutes to dry the dough. After this time the dough

will be very soft and smooth.

Transfer the dough into a bowl of a mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, or using your

handmixer or if you still have the energy, continue by hand. Add the eggs one at a time,

beating after each egg has been added to incorporate it into the dough.

You will notice that after you have added the first egg, the dough will separate, once again do

not worry. As you keep working the dough, it will come back all together again by the time you

have added the third egg. In the end the dough should be thick and shiny and when lifted it

should fall back into the bowl in a ribbon. (I chilled my dough and baked the puffs a few days later).

Using a small ice cream (or cookie dough) scoop, scoop 11-12 medium sized half spheres.

Bake the puffs for 15 minutes and rotate them. Reduce the heat to 190°C (375°F) and continue baking until golden brown (5-10 minutes). Allow to cool on the baking sheets.

Fill the puffs with the strawberry mousse.

White chocolate glaze

50 g (1 ¾ oz) heavy cream

100 g (3 ½ oz) white chocolate, chopped

Bring the cream to a boil and pour over the chocolate. Allow to stand for a few minutes. Stir until smooth and combined. Dip the puffs in the still warm ganache.

This entry was posted in Pastries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Strawberry mousse puffs with white chocolate glaze

  1. hm, lipo za vidit a tek za poist…pusu mama i tata

  2. Linda I can imagine how good they taste! Strawberry and white chocolate is allways a winner combo in my game! I’m so happy I could still find strawberries last weekend! They must be the last ones of the year… 😦

  3. courtney says:

    They look delightful. I love how your take the frozen choux from the freezer and bake away.

  4. Sarah says:

    Wow. I usually don’t go for white chocolate but it’s making me drool in this recipe! And the strawberry mousse sounds more than amazing.

  5. Rosa says:

    They look so cute! Your puffs are wonderful and must taste heavenly!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  6. Dee says:

    Linda, I like how you take simple enough components and turn out something stunning. I’m not a big fan of white chocolate but I do love strawberries and dark chocolate. I also love that your mousse doesn’t have uncooked eggs in them.

  7. Y says:

    They look great! Very creative 😀

  8. grace says:

    what a stellar dessert–beautiful and surely delicious! bravo! 🙂

  9. It may be short, but it’s definitely *sweet*. 🙂

  10. maria says:

    I have white chocolate I need to use! These will be perfect! They look yummy!

  11. ovenhaven says:

    I’ve never been more taken in by white chocolate than these beauties!

  12. Miri says:

    Oh Linda, these look divine! I’m crazy about white chocolate and strawberries – they go so great together.

  13. Linda, I really don’t know how you whip this kind of thing out of the kitchen even with the leftover frozen puffs!

    Beautiful.

  14. Emilia says:

    That photo looks incredibly delicious, even though it was taken in a hurry 🙂

    White chocolate and strawberries are the perfect combination in my opinion.

  15. Mari says:

    Wowsa! Choux pastry never looked so good! Great use of leftovers!

  16. Vera says:

    Linda, these puffs must taste fantastic! And they look great!

  17. Hannah says:

    Gorgeous! And those strawberries are so perfect, I wasn’t entirely sure if they were real at first. I sure can’t find such nice produce around here…!

  18. Linda, what a delightful entry!

    I love how delicate they look, and the filling and glaze sound amazing together.

  19. meeta says:

    these look simply gorgeous! thank you so much for the entry!

  20. Christy says:

    They look so delectable!! Haven’t been baking for a while due to the mad end-of-term rush at college…but your posts make me want to rush back into the kitchen so bad!!

Leave a Reply

