Underwater cookies

We’re home for a week and a half but unfortunately I still have no inspiration for baking 😦 Lucky me (and you) that I still have a few recipes in the archives that I can post about. I’m starting today with the easiest to post about because it doesn’t require a specific recipe other than a roll out cookie recipe and royal icing πŸ™‚

I made these cookies for the Summer Party at the daycare centre my boys go to twice a week. It had an underwater theme so this design seemed appropriate πŸ˜‰ Timewise the party was not very convenient because it was on the day before we left for Croatia but I didn’t want to make something boring looking like ‘ordinary’ cookies πŸ˜‰

I’m still struggling to get the right consistency for royal icing, always being afraid to make it too runny. The few times I used it, it turned out a bit too stiff. Next time I try it runnier (that’s what I always think πŸ˜‰

I was happy with the design but it would have looked better with less stiff royal icing.

For a roll out cookie recipe check out this recipe.

For a royal icing recipe check out this recipe.

This entry was posted in Cookies (sweet) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Underwater cookies

  1. Rosa says:

    Soooo cute! You are very patient…

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  2. Astrid says:

    Very pretty design! I’m sure the children wolfed them down faster than you could decorate a single one…

  3. These are so cute and creative! I’m sure the kids loved them.

  4. I shouldn’t worry about thick royal icing, these look kids and big kids would have a blast with these.

  5. snookydoodle says:

    these look cute, πŸ™‚

  6. Mike says:

    A quicky or not, they look great! Mine would have a sad looking mush of colors, lol.

  7. Y says:

    Very cute. How many of them did you have to make?

  8. Hannah says:

    Simply adorable!

  9. Linda these are so cute! When I first read under water cookies I thought maybe you did cookies with sea weeds or something, lol! I think the icing is fine like that!

  10. Dee says:

    The inspiration will come – with you, sooner rather than later πŸ™‚ Your cookies are gorgeous. Your creativity never ceases to amaze me.

  11. Emilia says:

    The cookies look cute πŸ™‚

    I usually make icing with just water, but it is almost always very runny, although very tasty.

    I’m sure you’ll get your inspiration back soon; creative inspiration always goes in phases, and baking is highly creative.

  12. linda says:

    Rosa – thanks πŸ™‚

    Astrid – the table with all the goodies that the parents brought was a bit too high for the toddlers to see all the food so they couldn’t grab them themselves. I heard some parents say that the cookies were too pretty to eat so no, they were not wolfed down πŸ˜‰

    Thecoffeesnob & Patricia – thanks πŸ™‚

    Tanna – you’re totally right πŸ™‚

    Snookydoodle & Mike – thanks πŸ™‚

    Y – not that many, about 35 (I knew there was going to be a lot of other food)

    Hannah & Clumbsycookie – thanks πŸ™‚

    Dee – I hope so!

    Emilia – I’ll just have to wait for the next phase πŸ˜‰

  13. arfi says:

    seems that you had had a great time decorating the biscuit, Linda πŸ™‚ fun time with your kids as well, i am sure. looks gorgeous!

  14. ovenhaven says:

    Oh that’s so cute, Linda! I love the little bubbles πŸ˜›

  15. Jude says:

    Looks so cute! I’d think twice about biting into this.

  16. Christy says:

    I know how you feel. I’ve been back for one and a half weeks and still haven’t stepped a foot into the kitchen. I’m hoping I will soon though.

    Such cute biscuits! I’m sure the kids loved them!!

  17. Aimee says:

    Such darling cookies! That a very creative idea. Hope you get your grove back soon.

  18. Miri says:

    I can totally relate with having trouble to step into the kitchen after a nice and long holiday. But I’m sure the need for baking will hit you soon enough πŸ™‚

    These cookies are just too cute!

  19. courtney(aka glamah16) says:

    Adorable. I need to make more cookies. they are works of art.

Leave a Reply

